Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Jackie Chan's most brutal yet Compelling film to date..
The Shinjuku Incident follows Chan's character a Chinese illegal immigrant being washed ashore in japan.
Finding fellow friends who are also in the same boat as him struggling to find work in one of Japans big Cities.

The Film showcases authentic trials and errors of life as an illegal immigrant. Where you take what you can even if it is against what you...
Published on 6 Feb. 2011 by Joeycharmed

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars bitty story
i love Jackie Chan but don't expect any martial arts in this film i think the message is curb illegal immigration and power corrupts alright to while away couple of hours but could be a lot better it jumps to much between scenes no continuation of story
Published 23 months ago by James Redford


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Jackie Chan's most brutal yet Compelling film to date.., 6 Feb. 2011
By 
Joeycharmed "Joe" (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
The Shinjuku Incident follows Chan's character a Chinese illegal immigrant being washed ashore in japan.
Finding fellow friends who are also in the same boat as him struggling to find work in one of Japans big Cities.

The Film showcases authentic trials and errors of life as an illegal immigrant. Where you take what you can even if it is against what you may believe in or not what you was hoping for?

Jackie Chan plays a role that is outside of what he is familiar with - meaning the Humour and martial art stunts that we have all come to know and love about him is not present within this film.
This film shows Chan playing a role where he is not the Top Dog but is still respected, but always finds himself at the mercy of being involved with the wrong guys who are involved in a triad gang.

Despite the martial arts being absent within this film the Movie itself is hard hitting, and sometimes disturbing with its violence.

All in all this is still a top movie!! it has and is about the realism of survival, heart-break, drug abuse, power struggles, violence, betrayal, authenticity and heart-pounding action,

I have seen the movie both on blu-ray and standard dvd and to be 100% honest I dont see much difference in picture quality or sound. The soundtrack isn't very wide or diverse enough for it to be brilliant on blu-ray. You still see some grainess in dark scenes. So it's clear why there is only a small price difference between the standard dvd and blu-ray edition.
I played both the standard dvd and blu-ray on a blu-ray palyer - so maybe thats why I dont notice hardly any difference at all? But this is my honest review and opinion of both the dvd and blu-ray editions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars No More Mr. Nice Guy, 26 Feb. 2010
By 
Mitun (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
'Shinjuku Incident' is a Chinese crime-drama, which released in 2009 to critical acclaim and box-office success. The movie is produced by Jackie Chan who also stars in it.

The movie centres around Jackie Chan's character (nicknamed Steelhead in the movie) who enters Shinjuku city in Japan illegally in search of his fiancée, Xiu Xiu (Xu Jinglei). On arriving in Japan he meets up with fellow Chinese immigrants and becomes involved with traditional organized crime syndicates there.

Before I continue, all Chan fans, this is not your normal Chan feature. This movie does not contain Chan's trademark light-hearted comedy or martial arts and is not suitable for family veiwing. I've grown up watching Chan movies that have always been clean maintaining his 'CLEAN GUY' image, which he has publicly stated that he's conscious of. On this occassion Chan portrays shades of grey in a dark and gritty movie, indicating that he is changing his image by doing serious drama. Chan ventures into the dark side for this movie. How does he do it, well, watch the movie and prepare to be shocked as you will witness him partaking in some scenes that he hasn't done before.

'Shinjuku Incident' contains heavy emotional drama, betrayal, action (occassional), violence and competent performances from the lead actors. The movie starts well introducing the characters and the story. It then successfully concentrates on the drama and ends in an effective manner.

The movie is interesting, however drags when it becomes slow-paced at times resulting in the momentum being affected. The other flaw is the basic and predictable plot.

The movie works as a result of gripping emotional drama, good acting and a nail-biting tense final twenty minutes, which I thought was brilliant. The finale consists of high drama, exciting action, engrossing performances and important of all, it's unpredictable.

The performances of all the actors are excellent. The show-stealer is Jackie Chan who produces his finest performance and in the process manages to change his image, although I'd still like to see him making comedies.

The direction provided by Derek Yee is top-notch as he extracts fine performances from the actors, especially Chan and makes the drama work. He should be applauded for the way he executed the final twenty minutes, its just rivetting.

The background music score provided by Peter Kam is moving.

The picture and sound quality of the DVD is good. There is an English language option in the DVD, which some viewers will prefer as opposed to the original language. The quality of the English dubbing is average to above average.

To round it all off, it's a good quality movie with an anti-hero in the form of a different Jackie Chan.

'Shinjuku Incident' is gripping entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What an Icon this man is, 4 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Jackie Chan is my most favorite Asian Actor, all of his films are absolutely brilliant, all ways jam packed full of action from start to finish, the man is a hero always known for his comedy and action stunts , this film is set in Tokyo in the Shinjuku District, Chinese imigrants looking for work in Japan find it hard to make a living some dont make it some fall to the underworld and then there is the ruthless Yakuza to deal with .Jackie gives you just shear drama and edge of your seat action with a brilliant story and a few twists along the way , this film does not disappoint, get this added to your collection !! 5 star CHAN-TASTIC
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Atmospheric, menacing, yakuza drama, 5 May 2013
This isnt the typical Jackie Chan film as many have stated already and even though he's not that great of an actor, he does ok with this role. His presence alone is enough to carry a film.

The cinematography is very good and builds a fine atmosphere. The story is about immigrants battling it out with the vicious Japanese Yakuza underworld. Definitely worth watching. Jackie chan is one of my favourite action stars too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Chan the man can....act?, 22 Dec. 2010
By 
S. R. Slayford (Brighton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Amazingly after a recent years of chucking out poor stateside action/comedies our man Chan comes good and shows he can actually act. The plot covers immigrants and a rise through the criminal world is interesting, but its been done before. The real gem is watching Jackie in a role he's not done before and deliver a solid performance. I'd class this in his top 10 if not only as its different, refreshing and very captivating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Well Worth Watching, 10 April 2014
This is not hollywood Jackie Chan, gritty, violent, japenese gangster film, even though subtiteled a realy cool film not what I was expecting!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars bitty story, 18 May 2013
By 
James Redford - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
i love Jackie Chan but don't expect any martial arts in this film i think the message is curb illegal immigration and power corrupts alright to while away couple of hours but could be a lot better it jumps to much between scenes no continuation of story
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 23 Jan. 2011
This movie is just brilliant, jacky chan NOT goofing around, but actually doing a serious role. The movie itself kept me glued to the tv all the way through. the acting was brilliant and so was the blu-ray quality/sound. 10/10 all round.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars best yet, 7 July 2012
this is the sort of film Jackie Chan should now be making, instead of fight scenes that are not as good as they used to be just great story and acting. Fantastic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Unusal Storyline, but very good story, 23 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This film is about an illegal immigrant who eventually makes good against difficult odds. Chan plays a role that is different from his normal type of roles
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews