Customer Reviews


1,253 Reviews
5 star:
 (929)
4 star:
 (235)
3 star:
 (62)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (15)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


163 of 169 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A harrowing though ultimately uplifting account.
This account of the author's experiences as a Japanese prisoner of war is, as you'd expect, a fairly harrowing one. But what lifts this remarkable tale is the book's humanity and compassion, and the tenderness of its narrative.
Whether Eric Lomax is re-living his childhood fascination with steam locomotives and trams, or describing the horrendous, inhuman acts of...
Published on 21 April 2004 by A. B. Pearl

versus
25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Gripping Story
Very well written account of the SE Asia theatre of WW2.
'Into the Valley of Death rode the 600' has not much on the 50,000 into the Jungle railroad of Burma.
For me historically informative as indeed a Signals Officer is well placed to be.
Puts a completely different perspective on 'The Bridge over the River Kwai'. Authors comment on the film,...
Published 16 months ago by Declan Gray


‹ Previous | 174 75 76126 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars The railway man by Eric lomax, 21 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Railway Man (Kindle Edition)
Excellent book thought continually of my dad, made me more aware of the sufferings of all what POWs endured.thank you for a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Railway Man, 14 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Railway Man (Kindle Edition)
The Railway Man

I think that is a fair assessment of how I enjoyed reading
this story, which provided me with pleasue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An interesting read, 12 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Railway Man (Kindle Edition)
Enjoyed the story. Easy and interesting to read. The ending was quite emotional. I then watched the movie but much preferred the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars wish I had read the book before seeing the film, 28 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Railway Man (Kindle Edition)
As previously mentioned there's a big difference in the book and the film..artistic licence I guess. Film glamour end the meeting up .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the Railway Man - Kindle edition, 24 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Railway Man (Kindle Edition)
Brilliant read, very emotional at times, but so inspirational too. The human spirit never fails to amaze me. Can't wait for the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A personal and touching story, 18 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Railway Man (Kindle Edition)
A personal and detailed view of being a POW of Japan's imperial army and the brutality inflicted on them if suspected of being a spy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Railway man (Vintage War), 1 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Railway Man (Kindle Edition)
Excellent read mind probing though tearful at times,what pain and torture the human body and mind can endure and of a length of time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 10 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Railway Man (Paperback)
Fabulous book and hard to put down when started. What a man and how proud everyone must have been to have known him. Excellent read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the railway man, 18 Mar. 2014
By 
M. R. Walton (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Railway Man (Paperback)
fabulous story thoroughly enjoyed the read highly recommend. you can imagine it all happening best read in ages realloy was brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thought on the railway man, 11 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Railway Man (Kindle Edition)
the railway man is a well written book . a book that was difficult to put down.It is about time that we knew about the forgotten army
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 174 75 76126 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Railway Man
The Railway Man by Eric Lomax
£6.13
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews