Customer Reviews


1,211 Reviews
5 star:
 (893)
4 star:
 (230)
3 star:
 (62)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (15)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


163 of 169 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A harrowing though ultimately uplifting account.
This account of the author's experiences as a Japanese prisoner of war is, as you'd expect, a fairly harrowing one. But what lifts this remarkable tale is the book's humanity and compassion, and the tenderness of its narrative.
Whether Eric Lomax is re-living his childhood fascination with steam locomotives and trams, or describing the horrendous, inhuman acts of...
Published on 21 April 2004 by A. B. Pearl

versus
24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Gripping Story
Very well written account of the SE Asia theatre of WW2.
'Into the Valley of Death rode the 600' has not much on the 50,000 into the Jungle railroad of Burma.
For me historically informative as indeed a Signals Officer is well placed to be.
Puts a completely different perspective on 'The Bridge over the River Kwai'. Authors comment on the film,...
Published 13 months ago by Declan Gray


‹ Previous | 174 75 76122 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Raw and gripping, 2 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Railway Man (Kindle Edition)
This is a must read. A tale of true courage and bravery. Very moving. It will be a book I recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good and involving read, 2 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Railway Man (Kindle Edition)
The author's early life is an interesting read if you are a railway history buff. The main story of WWII torture by the Japanese is related factually and the interests of self-preservation see him through. However, the emotions experienced are so intense that on returning to civilian life they are suppressed and psychological damage is diagnosed. His hatred of all Japanese is later released through forgiveness of the Japanese interpreter's involvement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read from start to finish, 2 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Railway Man (Kindle Edition)
This is one of the best books I have read regarding the Japanese work camps in World War 2. Not a piece of Hollywood fiction of Bridge over the River Kwai but the true story of an individual who survived the atrocities, wanted revenge but found salvation.
True story told so well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 1 Jan. 2014
By 
Simon J. Howells (Sandiway, Cheshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Railway Man (Kindle Edition)
A powerful and moving book. I found Eric Lomax's ability to move from hatred to compassion incredibly heartwarming. There but for the grace of God.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful insight to our history, 31 Dec. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Railway Man (Kindle Edition)
everyone should read this to enable understanding of the suffering endured by so many, and the forgiveness offered subsequently.
Jo
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANT, 29 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Railway Man (Kindle Edition)
Moving ,brutal account of a soldiers desire and determination to survive against all the odds. Truly inspiring grit against evil acts and conditions imposed on heroic men.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Heartwarming, 29 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Railway Man (Kindle Edition)
its a! lesson to us all that forgiveness, though difficult, is achievable. no good can come of hatred. well written & interesting. Not a book i'd usually read but glad I did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Moving, 28 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Railway Man (Kindle Edition)
I wanted to read this book before I saw the film version so that I could read Mr Lomax' s own words. Great courage which no one could imagine with sincere forgiveness. My Daughter has studied Japanese history and interviewed Alistair Urqhart another prisoner of war. She promised him she would never let people forget what was done to these brave men and after reading this book I will never let people forget either. Thank you Mr Lomax for being brave enough to relive your nightmare.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A story of intense suffering and final forgiveness, 28 Dec. 2013
By 
Mr. R. Walker "Wellierick" (Abingdon Oxon) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Railway Man (Kindle Edition)
This is a book which should be compulsory reading for young people.Lest we forget.
it's also a book about forgiveness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars astonishing!, 27 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Railway Man (Kindle Edition)
This is an amazing account of hate and forgiveness. The human emotion is so clearly evident in this astonishing read. Its power of forgiveness can not be underestimated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 174 75 76122 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Railway Man
The Railway Man by Eric Lomax
£5.39
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews