Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A VICTORIAN THRILLER
Calix Imperium, Roma Victrix Pewter wine beaker
An excellent Victorian thriller with an all star cast and high production values, somewhat dark and brooding, however an ingenious plot keeps you there. Recommended
Published 9 months ago by Trajan

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Vile Victorian secrets and claustrophobia
Actually purchased this one because I really wanted to see it but a few flaws make me give it only 3 stars. Judy Parfitt is wonderful as the straight-laced matriarch of the stiflingy claustrophobic household at Albert Villa although you wonder why it was completely necessary for all the different members of the family to be forced to live under one roof even if it was...
Published 19 months ago by Berengaria


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A VICTORIAN THRILLER, 10 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Blackheath Poisonings - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Calix Imperium, Roma Victrix Pewter wine beaker
An excellent Victorian thriller with an all star cast and high production values, somewhat dark and brooding, however an ingenious plot keeps you there. Recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blackheath Poisonings Great Viewing, 25 Aug 2013
By 
Jacquelene Murphy (Morayfield, Queensland, AU) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Blackheath Poisonings - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Blackheath Poisonings was a great mystery movie. I work late afternoon shifts and when I got home completed all things most of us need to do when returning. I put this movie on not really checking how long it went. Could not stop watching, it ended up finishing abour 1am the next morning. I really did thoroughly enjoy this movie. It kept me guessing on the next scene approach and who the culprit for the poisoning really was. The very last scene was a surprise, one I did not see coming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars deadly, 3 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Blackheath Poisonings - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
this was a good series couldn't wait to own on dvd I love this sort of thing I cant now watch it when I want too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Blackheath poisonings, 25 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Blackheath Poisonings - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Thoroughly enjoyed this story, very strange tale really. The acting was superb and the house was amazing and very atmospheric.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unparalled, perfect, timeless drama, 16 July 2011
By 
This review is from: The Blackheath Poisonings - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
I watched this at the time and thought it the best thing I had ever seen, as an avid TV buff of many hundreds of programmes from 1950+. I was surprised at how long it took to arrive on DVD in this country (available in US for a while).

I acquired and watched it on DVD recently and I still think, almost 20 years later that it is the best programme I have seen even though television has moved on considerably in that time.

It is a short period drama (3x ITV hours) and probably benefits from being so concise. In no way does this drama look dated like so many 90s drama.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Vile Victorian secrets and claustrophobia, 10 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Blackheath Poisonings - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Actually purchased this one because I really wanted to see it but a few flaws make me give it only 3 stars. Judy Parfitt is wonderful as the straight-laced matriarch of the stiflingy claustrophobic household at Albert Villa although you wonder why it was completely necessary for all the different members of the family to be forced to live under one roof even if it was considered "respectable" at the time. The restrictions inevitably produce lots of illicit passion and secret emotions, and lots of lovely red-herrings are thrown in along the route to the surprising conclusion, although I felt that the steps to revealing it through the lad were somewhat muddled (perhaps some essential explanatory scene was cut?) because I had to watch the last part twice before I fully understood what had happened. Zoe W. however provides a pure breath of comedy as she gets what she wants, turning the tables on Patrick Malahide whose arrival in the household immediately seems suspicious. The police Inspector also provided the one jarring note to the whole scenario, as he seemed a bit too pompous and unnaturally comedic in his approach to the first murder - this was an accomplished actor but it came across like a stiff amateurish debut. However, on the whole this movie is good enough to re-view time and time again for the scenes and costumes even if by then you do know who the murderer is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cracking Victorian mystery, 28 Dec 2012
By 
downkiddie "downkiddie" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Blackheath Poisonings - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
This is a highly enjoyable Victorian murder mystery. In a rather dysfunctional household the unhappy residents start to die off. The police catch the killer, but have they got the right one? In many twists and turns we finally arrive at justice. There's humour thanks to the policemen, a hearty dash of scandal and a nail biting wait to find out the identity of the murderer - not apparent from the start and enormous fun as we realise. This is a rather dark story but these little glimmers really lift it and make it a very enjoyable piece of TV.

This early 90s production from Central TV was made on film and on location, so has a rather sumptuous look. The settings and costumes add greatly to the atmosphere, with the dark streets and stuffy household bringing out the feeling of the story.

Another superb release from the ITV archives from Network DVD, here presented as broadcast in three parts with the original ad captions still in place like most other Network releases (removing them would remove some of the action).

Highly recommended to fans of murder mysteries and gothic tales. Excellent stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Competent, 18 Nov 2012
By 
R. Davies (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Blackheath Poisonings - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Concise, compelling drama performed by a stellar cast. A creepy Victorian atmosphere pervades, and the viewer is left in doubt as to the identity of the murderer until the final scene.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Prompt arrival, 23 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Blackheath Poisonings - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Thank you for the prompt arrival of the dvd I shall look forward to watching it sometime soon as I missed it recently on TV.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Blackheath Poisonings, 1 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Blackheath Poisonings - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Something very different & out of the ordinary. The plot twist & turns to keep you thinking, right to the very finale
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Blackheath Poisonings - The Complete Series [DVD]
8.26
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews