Customer Reviews


261 Reviews
5 star:
 (49)
4 star:
 (35)
3 star:
 (30)
2 star:
 (47)
1 star:
 (100)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More focus on fun than realism
I have been playing Call of Duty since the start of the Modern Warfare franchise, mainly for the multiplayer, which I will focus on for this review. Despite a slight disappointment with Modern Warfare 2, I believe Black Ops is a great improvement to the franchise and have clocked up almost 100 hours since release.
Black Ops, seems to cater more for casual gamers than...
Published on 5 Dec 2010 by A. Stringer

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Such a Disappointment
After being a fan of the "Call of Duty" game series, and after "Call of Duty 4:Modern Warfare" (i skipped MW2 and World At War) i decided to buy and try Black Ops, and sadly, it was i feel money wasted

The Single player of the game was "mediocre" at best, although the plot to the single player was good, i feel that i could have been a lot better, however, i do...
Published on 12 Sep 2011 by Mr. S. Penrose


‹ Previous | 1 2 327 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Worst COD ever !, 30 Jan 2011
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call of Duty: Black Ops (PC DVD) (CD-ROM)
This was a biggest mistake I ever did - buying PC games just because of advertising and good previous part COD-MW2.
Even COD-WaW was a great game compare to this cr4p.
Multiplayer Game is full of bugs, engine is hopeless, spawn system is OMG (spawning at front of the enemies - directly), server browser still not working properly, game is lagging even when you got a high-end specs rig, playing together with clan-mates on public server is random - sometimes with them sometimes against, only poor guns available-and most of them useless as the perk system, ... ...
Im playing it just because I spend 45 euro in the release day...so for some kind of satisfaction or so...
Anyway mostly playing COD-MW2 (just too many cheaters due to useless steam VAC system...) and waiting for COD-MW3 and Battlefield 3.
>>>Dear Treyarch-please STAY AWAY FROM Call Of Duty series for good ! ! ! THX
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not that impressed, 15 Nov 2010
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call of Duty: Black Ops (PC DVD) (CD-ROM)
OK I don't do this very often but had to this time.
Were do i begin the hype surrounding the release of Black ops excited me to the point that i stopped playing MW2 in anticipation of new arenas for multiplayer death and destruction. Have given this game about 5 days now and unfortunately the out come is not good at all. The lag is so frustrating you cant get a proper mach at any level that is not slow and jerky. The developers in stead of trying to get the game out for Christmas and making some money should of finished the programing and maid the bloody game work properly. And now on to the Solo game Story is OK the cinematics are good but the game keeps crashing and ounce again the thing is jerky and laggy even when you tern all the graphic options down. But why should I have to do this I run a top of the range Sony VAIO that has not had any problems before. Sort the thing out and to you the consumer don't bother save you money...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Waste of money,, 13 Nov 2010
By 
m.miah (manchester) - See all my reviews
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call of Duty: Black Ops (PC DVD) (CD-ROM)
This game is a disgrace to cod series, first of all I have got powerful gaming pc(alienware) I play crisis at ultra high setting it runs fine, this game I cant even max it out it is so laggy, even after the patch it is still the same, the graphic is sooo outdated, it look as if we playing counterstrike, I HATE THIS GAME
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Change the developer, 12 Nov 2010
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call of Duty: Black Ops (PC DVD) (CD-ROM)
I don't know if this comment will be useful or not, but if you pay attention the games which were developed by Infinity Ward are much more better than games developed by Treyarch, may be Activision needs one more again to think making games with Invinity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars What a shame, 9 Nov 2010
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call of Duty: Black Ops (PC DVD) (CD-ROM)
I was really looking forward to playing this after the last one, i had high hopes for it but what a shame. First i had problems installing it and it wanted to download the whole game from steam 16g! After a lot of searching on steam i found there's a command to run the installer ("C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\Steam.exe" -install E:) E: being the drive letter and im running a 64bit version of windows. After all that i went to run it and had another error (EXE_CANNOT_FIND_ZONE) bad install? or was it because i had more than one keyboard language installed i dont know but i remove the other language and after all this taking a total of an hour, it was all working finally.
The last game they released i couldn't stop playing, everything was like wow all through it. This i just played for 30 min and got bored. Haven't tried the mutiplayer yet.
Why couldn't they just keep the same format and change the missions?
Oh well you learn from your mistakes, i know now to wait a while before i buy any new game even though the last was amazing!

Update 14th November
Well i decided to keep playing the game to see how it goes and there are some good levels in there and the story is ok, dont like all the cut scenes though. I think the patch they released helped the gameplay although it still seems a little buggy. I for sure wont preorder a game release again, but after playing mod2 i felt sure that this would be of the same std or at least better. Blackops is really missing the wow factor mod2 bought
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 26 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What a dissapointment!, 10 Nov 2010
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call of Duty: Black Ops (PC DVD) (CD-ROM)
The only reason I bought this game was for multiplayer, having spent hours of fun playing MW2 online. After reading all the hype and being excited by some of the new multiplayer game options 'what a dissapointment this game is' , the graphics are 2 steps backwards as compared to MW2, having 18 players on a map is ridiculous as it makes kill streaks very hard, the reward system is nowhere near as good and progressive as MW2 which rewarded kill types etc etc, and the final insult 'THE LAG' which is awful which i understand is down to the game engine which sucks your CPU dry and doesn't us the graphics memory or normal ram. How could they not have encountered these issues during testing, well done Treyarch yet another COD title you've messed up. The COD franchise should be ashamed of themselves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars nothing wrong with it, Ignore the hate comments., 13 Mar 2014
This review is from: Call of Duty: Black Ops (PC DVD) (CD-ROM)
Played this on PS3 large sum of my time, First i thought Didn't like it..
Playing a while you'll get used to it and understand why people actually play this.

Its Fun, most games these days ain't fun.
Its not type of game yeah i can kill everyone first match (you can if you get lucky;) )
you put hours into it and you learn what guns/attachments work for you.

Its amazing when you get a high kill streak or a badass kill which you can watch a replay of all matches you had!

i haven't tried Blackops 2 yet, but this deffo worth the money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 25 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not yet the game we were waiting for, 11 Nov 2010
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call of Duty: Black Ops (PC DVD) (CD-ROM)
Like a lot of other people are finding, this game is currently a big disappointment. It is a pig to install - requiring a hefty install from steam, and the game in single player (for me) stutters and has sound issues. However a game like this is really bought for the multi-player so that the loss of the sp is not the be all and end all. Unfortunately the mp also suffers from lag (possibly due to a server config error). There are also frames per second issues for a lot of people (so many that it's more likely a code issue than people's systems not being up to the specs). Some people are finding issues with dx (possibly due to their hardware having issues with the code) which can stop you even running the game. All of these are faults that should have been picked up in the beta testing.

The other problem with the game is the dedicated servers. Now, I've been in a call of duty clan for about 6 years and we started playing with the first Call of Duty game and have been running our own servers since before then. The point of a dedicated server is control. You buy the game and then choose how to play it. You control the server, decide what maps to play, choose the order of game types, you can police the server to remove abusive or cheating public, you can lock the server and have private play for interclan matches and so on.
The Ranked servers that come with this game are a joke. You're basically paying for other people to play at your expense. You put up the money but then have almost no control. You can't even ensure that your own clan can play on it. I'd swear that this is a move to discredit the concept of dedicated servers.
I strongly suspect that there's going to be a dramatic drop in clan ranked servers within a month even when the game is patched.

Final point though is to suggest patience. All the call of duty games have had several patches to reach their final states. A really good game does tend to need fixing and tweaking, adjustments here and there (and in this case a ton of repairs). I suspect that this will eventually become a game on par with the World at War that many people really liked. In the meantime though I'm off back to Cod4.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Leave it for a few months, 23 Nov 2010
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call of Duty: Black Ops (PC DVD) (CD-ROM)
Well I was really looking forward to this, but I have to say. We PC users have been ripped off royally.

Quad Core Phenom 9500, 4GB 1066 RAM, ATI HD5770 and this game is unplayable. Stutters, Freezes, just unplayable.

None of my other games except FFOW play this bad. FFOW has know issues which they will not address. BO is the same. It is badly coded for the PC and simply porting the game from the console to PC is not acceptable. This should have been written for the PC rather than simply ported.

Way too many complaints on the net to make this an isolated incident. If I knew how, I would send this back to the Amazon Seller and request a refund.

Paul
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars disapointment, 26 Nov 2010
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call of Duty: Black Ops (PC DVD) (CD-ROM)
I think this game is much worse than medal of honor 2010, CoDMW2, etc... I dont know what the hell happen. it's like we are playing a game from 2000...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 327 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Call of Duty: Black Ops (PC DVD)
Call of Duty: Black Ops (PC DVD) by Activision (Windows 7 / Vista / XP)
£12.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews