Customer Reviews


702 Reviews
5 star:
 (286)
4 star:
 (148)
3 star:
 (102)
2 star:
 (68)
1 star:
 (98)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


115 of 132 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not perfect, but still great!
After having completed the game and played all aspects, i can happily say the game is great and i'm glad i bought it, but it comes not without penalty. It has good & bad points like most games. For me the good points are:

- The amazing gameplay and solid storyline that you'd expect from call of duty now days, the moments where you do more than just shoot...
Published on 9 Nov 2010 by B. white

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars While Black Ops is a minor improvement on the previous outing, it still does little to expand on the COD franchise.
Wow, so Treyarch has done the impossible. Did anyone predict that they would seriously outdo Infinity Ward this time round, if ever? Always seeming to create the inferior games, they didn't have a very hefty reputation amongst COD fanboys now did they? Well being one of the non believers, I take my words back. I apologise for ever going on a rant everytime it was...
Published on 20 Jan 2012 by MaximumHeat


‹ Previous | 1 271 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

115 of 132 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not perfect, but still great!, 9 Nov 2010
By 
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call of Duty: Black Ops (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
After having completed the game and played all aspects, i can happily say the game is great and i'm glad i bought it, but it comes not without penalty. It has good & bad points like most games. For me the good points are:

- The amazing gameplay and solid storyline that you'd expect from call of duty now days, the moments where you do more than just shoot everything in sight and are left thinking "woahh!". This game retains plenty of those moments and executes them very well. The storyline itself in this game is a great conspiracy thriller that will surprise you, maybe one of the best COD storylines to date.

- The customizations and extra features that are now here, killstreaks, limited character customization, equipment, emblem and playercard, lens and sight, neat new weapons and attachments (some old) the list continues. [You'll love the remote controlled RC bomb] And another new item that is great is the camera spike, it's amazing how helpful they can be.

The level design is wonderful and never gets old due the the diversity of the game (time periods and locations) Kowloon was brilliant and i hope it makes it as multiplayer DLC. Most of the multiplayer maps are great fun to play on, from a jungle to a snowy mountain top. (launch & nuketown also spring to mind, on launch i've seen people standing there staring at the rocket take off while bullets fly past them, and on nuketown at the end of the match, boooooom. The multiplayer levels are now more interactive than before, in small or big ways.)

- There are more vehicle moments in the game like a motorbike for instance or the chopper gunner you've no doubt seen, there's alot more i'm sure you'll enjoy, it all adds variety.

- Peoples limbs fly off which adds to the realism as it did in WaW, but not on multiplayer for some reason.

- Little details like paper scattering when piles of the stuff are shot, blood patches on people, wet patches on characters knees if they are kneeling in the rain, chunks of zombies missing when shot. "He's half the zombie he used to be"

- The voice acting is once again superb as is the character modeling.

- The AI is even smarter (rolling behind cover, blind fire etc) especially on combat training, if played on veteran it's like facing a good team of human opponents!

- There's a zombie mode which hasn't been tampered with or ruined, but instead amplified, you won't be fighting just demon hounds and won't be playing as just the 4 soldiers. I look forward to new zombie maps next year, i'm sure there will be more.

- The multiplayer itself is great fun, building up your CoD points to unlock new things adds more depth to it than previous titles. There seems to be a couple of new modes, and then there is the wager matches. One in the chamber is very tense, and gun game is fun as you race from weapon tier 1 to 20. You can chose 3 types of wager matches, the cheap one i often do, the medium one, or big spender one. You can now buy contracts that last for a period of time, and if completed reward you with more CoD points and experience. They range from the easy - getting 5 M16 kills within a hour of gameplay. To the hard - 5 sniper rifle headshots in one match. Also something i noticed, if you have a good eye you can actually shoot down spy planes and such with a homing rocket! Even care package choppers can be shot down, i'm not sure if this is a new feature but it's neat.

- The theater mode is a real treat, you can take pictures or record up to 10 segments from any of your previous matches. Once stringed together showing all the best parts from your match. You can switch views, fast forward and rewind, etc, it's pretty cool.

- You can do a running dive by holding sprint & pressing B which is cool and quite helpful, imagine a napalm strike just flew overhead and you have a second to take cover, run dive in a doorway!.

- Finally the menu; I dig it, you'll dig it too ;]

But every game has it's bad side; now for the bad points:

- Sometimes the cutscenes and switching back and forth between masons memory and the present, it gets a little annoying at first and makes following the storyline not the easiest task, maybe due to it being a new approach as to previous titles. The switching back and forth at times also feels like the player is missing out on some good parts, because when it seems like a good part is about to happen, the player is pulled out the action and the character describes what happened. (this is uncommon thankfully)

- The graphics aren't as good as modern warfare 2 but they're close.

- One or two things look unpolished like grass in one part not actually touching the ground, and characters feet going through the floor of the car slightly.

- In some multiplayer levels spawning seems to be a little problem, on hardcore mode after waiting 10 seconds to come back you can get killed instantly if a helicopter shoots you. And nuketown everyone will know about that in terms of getting shot in the back because an apposing player just spawned at your end of the map. There needs to be a spawn shield or something as campers can have a field day.

- Maybe there should be afew more weapons? I would love for DLC to be new weapons aswell as maps! But i know that'd be difficult.

- I'd love to also see more game modes that can be played as hardcore, ground war on hardcore would be the best.

- If played splitscreen or 'Locally' you immediately have access to everything which until you unlock everything can spoil it, as you have to unlock it all online with hard earned CoD points. I warn you don't look at the stuff straight away! as it'll make getting it all feel like a drag, you can even see things which online are blanked out with "Classified".

- The real big annoyance for me was...get ready for it..NO BOT MODE IF YOU DON'T HAVE XBOX LIVE. 'Combat Training' can only be played online with a gold membership. It almost seems pointless having a bot mode and separate progression if it's only online, it should be playable both online and offline. As someone rightfully mentioned it would help with learning the maps or blowing off steam, but i'm sure there's many out there who bought the game because they thought they could play it offline aswell.

No more bad points come to mind. The game was a good buy; the good points more than overshadow the bad ones in my opinion. The zombie mode is there, the action packed and breathtaking gameplay is there, the addictive online multiplayer is there. It feels abit like the others but who cares. I like the periods the game is set in, it's new to previous titles and that alone should pique your interest. So get it and enjoy it!

It's sad however that nearly 50 or so people gave the game 1* either because they are a hater or they didn't receive the game quick enough. Blame royal mail not the game. And for the haters blame your upbringing not treyarch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars While Black Ops is a minor improvement on the previous outing, it still does little to expand on the COD franchise., 20 Jan 2012
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call of Duty: Black Ops (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Wow, so Treyarch has done the impossible. Did anyone predict that they would seriously outdo Infinity Ward this time round, if ever? Always seeming to create the inferior games, they didn't have a very hefty reputation amongst COD fanboys now did they? Well being one of the non believers, I take my words back. I apologise for ever going on a rant everytime it was confirmed Treyarch was to do the next installment and thinking to myself: "Activision are still paying these guys?". Well done guys, and its about freaking time.

But it seems that every COD seems to be consistently average with only a slight notch of improvement or disimprovement. COD4 came along and took the online community by storm, and arguarbly changed the face of first person shooters forever. I mean seriously, look at all the clones that one game spawned. And from there, both companies must have got some sort of big headed syndrome and milked the series constantly for four damned sequels. It's alright adding some new destructive weapons, kick-ass perks, indefeasable killstreaks, but if you ain't changing the course of the gameplay even the slightest, it's that "been there, done that" scenario. This isn't a sports game where you can get away with that every single year of every single decade. If you're going to plan a sequel annually, you better deliver. Instead, as expected with every COD game, we get a few new features.

Firstly, if you've read my review of MW2, you knew how much the fast paced combat online pissed me off. This may sound contradictory, but for players like myself who liked to play using tactics, I was so open to guys who sprayed from 10 km away and it would hit me in the face (that's what she said). The weapons where so unbalanced it was unreal. I think the term we are looking for is that MW2 was very "noob friendly". Treyarch has improved in this sector, delivering a much more even weapon format where certain guns are used for certain situations. You can't expect kills if you don't play strategically anymore. However, whilst they highly improved on this feat, the sniping on the game has completely downgraded. Using the most powerful sniper will require a headshot or no kill, which is somewhat rare, and the fact that the majority of the areas in the maps are closed, it's pretty useless in even attempting to (whos ever idea it was to not have sniping as one shot one kill, go die please).

There is a new playercard system where you are provided with a limited amount of icons to create your own emblem. Seeing as though you can't designe the icons yourself, you can't expect to make Solid Snake pixel by pixel like you could in Forza Motorsport, but it works suprising really well. I've seen Eric Cartman, Ezio, Dark Side of the Moon, Vito Corleone, explicity detailed women body parts. If you put your mind to it, you can create anything from pop art culture to... well woman genatilia. It works really well, and seeing as though we are hardly going to see improved gameplay, they should update this like bring some sort of voting system for emblems, and save your emblems so you can switch between them at any time.

You now have to buy your guns after unlocking them, thanks to this pointless little feature called COD points. XP's all we need, surely. It sort of takes away the thrill when you use to unlock the guns you wanted on previous CODs, and you equip them straight off the bat. Now you have to buy them, it doesn't give that similar feeling. But thats probably just me. It's only a minor complaint anyhoo, but at least they have put some use to it, by adding the excellent contracts, which are like challenges, but you select which ones you want to do with a time limit to do it in. They become very addictive and definitley gives the multiplayer mode a little bit more value. There's also wager matches where you gamble your COD points into small amounts if you just want to play the exclusive games without risking losing money, or high amounts, if you're feeling lucky. The four match types on this mode are very original, and work superbly well.

Treyarch have unfortunately decided to kill off the addictive Special Ops, but no need to threat, because WAW's Zombies make a return and it's bigger and better than ever. It's the only thing I still go on when I decide to stick Blacks Ops in. Even with the same three maps, it never seems to get repetitive. There's not much else to say about Zombies, but it's probably the most original and the best thing to come out of Treyarch's Call of Duty games. Oh, and you also get Dead Ops Arcade which although you won't play half as much as Zombies, it's still a welcome addition to the pack.

Now the campaigns to COD I haven't liked since the second one, so I've never finished any next gen CODs (apart from MW2, which was meh). I have always tried to get through them, but they have always seemed a chore to me, and I just want to get back online. Black Ops unfortunately is the same, I made it to level 3 and I couldn't go on. So I'm afraid I can't really comment, or ever comment on future COD campaigns.

I'd like to think of this as a less consistent The Orange Box. It is easily the most complete COD package yet, and with so much replay value, no matter what you think of the overall game, there's got to be something here for you. Just don't go in expecting something much more expansive because it's essentially the same old, with a few tweaks along the way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It kept me busy., 28 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Call of Duty: Black Ops (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I have to admit, I really enjoyed this game.

When it was released, I was skeptical as I'd never really enjoyed a Call of Duty game before. With this, it's probably more about the people you play with than the game itself. If you've got a really good group of mates (online or split screen) you can have a really good laugh and spend a disturbing amount of time on here. The DLC helps to keep it fresh and stop it getting a little too repetitive, as each DLC adds new multiplayer maps and a new zombies map!

This was the main game I played for about 9 months. There were many sleepless nights with friends but I seriously don't think I would have enjoyed it half as much on my own. If you've never played a CoD game before, start here because all the horrible online players will be on BO2 or Ghosts!

Pro-tip: Don't play zombies late at with the lights off and your headphones on... Someone will creep up on you and scare you half to death!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best game ever., 22 Aug 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Call of Duty: Black Ops (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Out of all of the call of duty's, this is the best one and also the best game. Nothing is wrong with it, the campaign is amazing, there are a lot of fun levels, there is an amazing amount of guns, the graphics are amazing, the multiplier is amazing, the Xbox live is amazing and the maps are amazing. Forget about the new one, that's a lot worse and its worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars CoD BlOps (what a silly name), 27 July 2011
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call of Duty: Black Ops (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
It's hard not to recommend a new Call of Duty game, what with the continually high standard of gameplay, the ever addictive multiplayer, now with a revamped upgrade system, and new modes and the fan favourite zombies mode which is a frustrating endeavour alone but becomes a fun divulgence with friends.

If you wanna be where the multiplayer community is at you'll want this game, new maps, more customisation, perks and a theatre mode sweeten the deal as do more absurd zombie scenarios, but if you don't have an internet connection or just don't like that scene it may be harder to stomach.

In addition to the campaign two player local zombies, four player multiplayer, with bots through a free update, the text adventure Zork and a new arcade top down shooter called dead ops arcade all come on one disk, the last of these could easily be a XBLA, PSN or steam download alone.

The campaign has you as Alex Mason, a mentally unstable CIA black op operative that wakes to find himself being tortured for information regarding some numbers, information he all to readily divulges in my opinion. The ludicrous story then takes you through a series of flashback levels starting in Cuba, moving through Russia and Vietnam and ending in Blowfeld's latest bachelor pad. It's all very silly and takes more than just a little inspiration from general cold war conspiracies, the Deer Hunter and even Fight Club. World at War characters Reznov and Petrenko return for a cameo that is actually surprisingly effective as a narrative tool and the new characters feel distinct and appropriately cool.

The campaign will last somewhere in the region of 8 hours on a medium difficulty and is pretty entertaining all round it just suffers from its over cinematic-ness (if I can use that as a word). A couple of levels are nothing but cutscene, occasionally taking you out of the action into a third person perspective to show us a neat angle, an act that breaks flow a bit. The set pieces within levels that break gameplay are a bit too abundant and often though they attempt to include you will proceed eventually regardless of user input. My real issue with it all is the linearity. It's a series of tight straight paths with little exploration of individual's choice available. The waypoint system is irritating, guiding you by the hand even when not needed (appearing at the bottom of some stairs and then at the top ... where else was I gonna go?). the blackbird and helicopter sections are not as fun as they would appear to be but over all the games still pretty decent. It's silly and fun and has some stand out moments, some well delivered revelations and cool levels like fleeing across the rooftops of Kowloon or walking through poison in a gas suit that's non repairable damage acts as a health bar.

The Final Word: Strong but silly entry by Treyarch, fun and challenging but starting to show signs of the established model fatiguing. For variety without coherence modern warfare 2 still reigns supreme.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 21 Sep 2014
By 
Chris Smith "Chris" (Carmarthen, Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Call of Duty: Black Ops (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
The first in the black ops franchise. I find that Black Ops has a very clear story line to it as it allows you to see the cold war in a different way. Playing as Alex Mason you are part of the MAC-V SOG team. You also play as Reznov. Reznov is a russian hero who survived WW2 and you can play his part of the cold war. The main objective for this game is to kill 3 "Scientists" 2 of which are Russian generals whereas the last is a German doctor who specializes in Biological weapons. Nova 6 is a threat to the world and you have been tasked to neutralize that threat by any means necessary before it can launched. Because of this story line i find that it is a really good game if you are looking for a Cold War/WW2 action game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


84 of 107 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pro's and Con's, Not the greatest ever, 9 Nov 2010
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call of Duty: Black Ops (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Okay lets start off by saying Black Ops isn't the greatest game of all time it has it's flaws but it is good fun

It reminds me of Goldeneye on the N64 in that the graphics weren't there but the gameplay was

A better way to think of it is it's not an advancement on Modern Warfare 2 it's an advencement on World at War

As you probably know there are 2 game developers for the Call of Duty series and they seem to take turns in releasing a game each year this one is made by the same people as World at War

Whereas MW2 feels quick and polished BO feels a little slower

I am a big fan of the COD series and really enjoy BO but beware of building this game up too much as other reviewers have stated the hit area is a little off (Something that could be patched i guess) and the graphics are no way near MW2 but the gameplay is there

It also has huge customisation ability and the newly introduced COD points make getting the attachments required for the LIVE games much better

Overall a great game but don't get carried away with the praise :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 42 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Easily the worst high profile game I have ever played, 3 Feb 2011
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call of Duty: Black Ops (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
First up, this game doesnt seem to have been past beta testing, it lags, it locks up and in 2010 you would have thought that bodies and weapons falling and then freezing in mid air in front of you was a thing of the past. I tried to play this game at launch and instantly hated it, then left it a month or so and tried again. Finally in boredom I put it on again today and after 30 mins I couldnt take any more. Its been patched to death and still fails to meet launch requirements. Im not even a hardcore gamer, I just like to play for a couple of hours now and then.

Next its completely unrealistic. The first call of duty's at least tried to show some kind of respect to the subject matter and to make you realise war was not fun, but gritty and realistic. You played out the story because you cared. Now its a Jerry Bruckheimer movie with lots of bangs and loud noises and pretty effects to make you go "oooooooh". Life is cheap and its just a load of jerky camera movements, swearing by the bucket load and lots of blood for the under 18's who shouldnt even be playing it! Its just shallow for those of us who are actually grown ups. This is a tarantino movie by comparison to say Saving Private Ryan or Apocalypse Now where you actually respect the subject matter!

Lastly this is the first game in years where Ive wanted to throw up. Not because of the childish content but because of the OTT visually jarring effects in cut scenes and jerky movements. Its like the game was made for people with really short attention spans. The graphics also seem to be a mash between current gen and PS2 quality. This is supposed to be the definitive version but I have seen far better graphics and maps in other games. You have very little choice on which path you are herded down and Treyarch are using the old cheat of creating difficulty through respawning enemies. The AI is dire, with your colleagues running on ahead and then failing to acknowledge the respawned enemies that are between you and them. In the end the only way to play this game is to run and gun, dont try to employ military strategy, group tactics and flanking, its pointless. You only survive by running like a headless chicken to the next checkpoing, shooting as you go so as to avoid getting caught in the next lot of respawning enemies.

Basically COD is no longer a serious war franchise. Its paintball and thats all. If you like the sound of that then you will forgive the many shortcomings. Sadly for those who want realism you are better going for the upcoming operation flashpoint red river or to a lesser degree the Bad Companys and MOH's of this world (tho they are still aimed more at fun than realism).

Im going to get torn to shreds here by the fanboys for having an opinion. But ask yourself when you look back a year from now, was it really worth a full price game, all the money for all those map packs activision loves to drip feed you so they can make more millions? COD is on the ropes, MOH is in a rut, its down to BFBC and whatever Respawn (the members of Inifinty Ward who made COD1,2, MW amd MW2)can come up with to restore respect and integrity to the FPS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reviewing after all updates and map packs!!, 12 Feb 2012
By 
J. Faulkner "HMRM" (Norwich) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call of Duty: Black Ops (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Well it has been two years and finally doing a review, for what can be described as a great game, its good fun and thats whats important.
The campaign is a preety good one actually unbelievable ( having studied the cold war and vietnam war ) but wasn't expecting a real account otherwise it would be pretty boring, there wasn't that much spec ops work done, and what was done was in Russia.
Multiplayer, really good fun, alot of people hate that "quickscoping" was taken out but unfortunately it is not actually possible unless your about 3 feet away from the person. But it's quite fast paced and addictive, infruriating sometimes and great at other times, as always.
Zombies well what can i say treyarch out did themselves here, the most addictive thing of the game, and the map packs made it so much better, with some great easter eggs which are so hard to do, but make you want to keep trying to get it.
Its nice to see there not like Infinity ward and milking the cash cow that is Modern Warfare. Have reviewed them, not going into it here!
Only a few downsides, there is no multiplayer campaign (unlike Call Of Duty World At War) and connection can be annoying online, and i know it's not me as i have got really good Broadband.
But would definately recommend it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Awful single player, fun multiplayer., 4 Feb 2011
By 
Peanut "Peanut" (Newcastle Upon Tyne, Engand) - See all my reviews
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call of Duty: Black Ops (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
The title says it all really, I found the single player game very disappointing but have so far really enjoyed the multiplayer games I've played in. Graphics/sound are good but I can't really seen a big difference between these and previous titles'.

The single player campaign had a number of flaws in my opinion:

1) The enemy AI isn't great, I've had Russians barrel rolling into me and running around like headless chickens with no sense it seems of what a soldier would actually do, although they do seem to have improved the enemies use of cover compared to previous titles.

2) Glitches. The very first time I played the man I was supposed to be following would not move from a pillar he was hiding behind and since the game check pointed just before I had to restart the level. I'm aware these are usually one off things but there have been a few occasions where similar although not as annoying things have occurred.

3) I don't like how disgustingly linear the game is, your tactical options are usually deciding between whether to use the table on the right or the left for cover and that's about it.

4) Not being very fun. Obviously personal opinion but I just don't think this measures up to many other single player FPS campaigns out there and it certainly has no replay value.

But being honest, who really buys a COD for the single player nowadays? It's all about the multiplayer!

Multiplayer matches are very fun, lots of character customisation with weapons/perks/kill streaks etc. You now have to buy all of your new upgrades but this feature is almost redundant as everything is so cheap and you get a relatively large amount of money. You also upgrade perks through completing certain challenges which is a nice feature. The maps are pretty well thought out and generally one team doesn't have an obvious advantage when they spawn, a pet hate of mine.

I'm starting to get a bit sick of the amount of rage quitting that goes on during games with no penalty for the quitters, I think they should be docked experience/COD points to try and deter this behaviour. In a quite a few games now I've had the game freeze once the final scoreboard has come up and this requires you to turn the Xbox off and on again.

So in conclusion, don't expect to be blown away by this game despite all of hype, it's very much like the last few with little new to add to multiplayer and a much worse single player campaign. 3/5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 271 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Call of Duty: Black Ops (Xbox 360)
Call of Duty: Black Ops (Xbox 360) by Activision (Xbox 360)
£15.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews