Customer Reviews


778 Reviews
5 star:
 (254)
4 star:
 (166)
3 star:
 (116)
2 star:
 (106)
1 star:
 (136)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Love Is A Battlefield
Okay, everyone put down your guns for 5 seconds & take a breath!.. I fear that during the "Yes it's Great" & the "No it's terrible" conflict, the game isn't able to get a fair chance. I think this is because some people are comparing Black-Ops to the Modern Warfare series. That's probably not the best thing to do as this is made by Treyarch not Infinity Ward. Therefore...
Published on 5 Oct 2011 by W. Nash

versus
42 of 48 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Same old same old.
Call Of Duty is a series that has always been arguably the best shooter series out there but its only been since its debut to the next gen consoles that its really cemented its place in the history books. World At War was a fantastic game that really captured the highs and lows of World War 2 (which has been done to death in shooters) and the Modern Warfare games breathed...
Published on 7 Mar 2011 by G. Wheeler


‹ Previous | 1 278 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Love Is A Battlefield, 5 Oct 2011
By 
W. Nash "Orec12" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call of Duty: Black Ops (PS3) (Video Game)
Okay, everyone put down your guns for 5 seconds & take a breath!.. I fear that during the "Yes it's Great" & the "No it's terrible" conflict, the game isn't able to get a fair chance. I think this is because some people are comparing Black-Ops to the Modern Warfare series. That's probably not the best thing to do as this is made by Treyarch not Infinity Ward. Therefore it's going to be more like World At War than anything else: Seeing as this was Treyarch too. I actually love this game, but then I loved World At War, which is also in my collection. Unlike Infinity Ward, Treyarch games are quite brutal. They're dark & brooding, focusing heavilly on the death, real war produces. Grenades remove limbs & big guns splatter blood all over. Hell, even the way the chemical weapons kill people sees you almost feel sorry for enemies caught in it. I think they're like Modern Warfare's vampire goth, horror movie obsessed older sister or something!

Gameplay & Storyline:
It's been said that Black-Ops lacks originality. Okay, maybe in some ways yes, but in others I think they've added a few variations here & there. During the campaign missions it's not just full on warzone as one minute your in Cuba on an assasination mission, next your trying to escape a Russian gulag & then trying to take a hill in Vietnam. The Campaign is driven by a pretty good storyline - (if maybe a little convoluted here & there) - where your character Alex Mason is being forced to relive memories about top secret missions during an elaborate interogation, trying to uncover the truth about these mysterious numbers stuck in Mason's head. The guns and the environments are all unique to the time period & help create that: "Cuban Missile Crisis" era perfectly. Also, if you feel that there's a lack of Vietnam games on the PS3, Black-Op's can give you a smidgin of satisfaction here & there. I will say that during the campaign, sometimes it's not always made clear what your trying to achieve. Often I have failed after apparently abandoning my squad because I didn't know you had to follow them on a specific route. The Russian gulag while firing the harpoon at the helicopter is a prime example of this. It says wait for the perfect moment to fire, but nothing let's you know when that is. But then again maybe I'm just dense!

Graphics & Sound:
The graphics on Black-Ops are very good. The faces of the characters show wrinkles, stubble, glints of sweat & even go someway to express genuine emotion. Obviously not exactly, your brain still tells you it's not real, but then sometimes you find yourself wondering. The environments are excellent! I was knocked back by simple things, like churned up mud at a Marine camp in Vietnam; how the water gathered in the tire tracks & footprints, looked almost real. On one mission during the campaign your sprayed by a chemical weapon which sees your character put on a Hazmat suit. During this battle your suit takes damage instead of your body, so you really have to use cover as when your hit, it doesn't regenerate. As cracks in the glass appear you really begin to worry, seeing as your surrounded by this thick orange gas that kills instantly. All this really drags your senses into the game. Sound wise, the voice acting is stellar! Gary Oldman's back as Sgt Reznov (World At War) as well as actors like Ice Cube, Ed Harris & Sam Worthington delivering superb dialogue just as it should be. It's clear a lot of effort was put into creating realistic environments.

Zombies:
Yes, they're back & better than ever. The Zombie Nazi's games on World At War were great. So much so that even people who didn't like the main game, bought it for these extra games. I will simply say, if you loved Nazi Zombies you'll love these new versions just as much!

Online Multiplayer:
Hey, it's Call Of Duty! You know what it's all about. Just more of the same great online action. Would you really want them to change it too much? Currently the map packs are still quite pricey.

My Final Thought:
Black Ops to me is a beleaguered contender. Fighting the COD fight with all the rest but always being victimised for it. "Same Old Same Old!" they say. Well, good job! I love COD games & all that familiarity is what makes them great. If like me, your a big fan of World At War, then you'll love Black-Ops. If you prefer Modern Warfare then try before you buy. However, if your one of those people who wants something totally different?... Then go purchase from a different franchise altogether!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 48 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Same old same old., 7 Mar 2011
By 
G. Wheeler "Media Critic" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call of Duty: Black Ops (PS3) (Video Game)
Call Of Duty is a series that has always been arguably the best shooter series out there but its only been since its debut to the next gen consoles that its really cemented its place in the history books. World At War was a fantastic game that really captured the highs and lows of World War 2 (which has been done to death in shooters) and the Modern Warfare games breathed a different kind of life into the series.

After the success of the 2 Modern Warfare games and World At War, Treyarch announced that a new title focusing on Black Op missions in the Cold War would be released much to mixed opinions. Fortunately, Black Ops delivers.

The new setting is a welcome change from the same old same old and on the whole the game captures the setting perfectly with a wide range of story missions ranging from the Vietnam jungles to barren wastelands in the space race. Each setting is unique with different weapons and tactics ranging from stealth to all out attack which helps to make the different levels feel fresh and exciting.

The story follows Alex Mason, a special forces operative as he relives his memories whilst being interrogated by unknown men. Without ruining the story too much, anyone familiar with World At War will recognise Victor Reznov who makes a return in this game. The story isn't anything special and after the first play-through its very unlikely you will want to run through it again except to grab the trophies you missed first time around. This is a shame as with such a unique and different setting its frustrating that Treyarch didn't produce a more memorable story and a better plotline. Victor Reznov is the only real star here and that's due to the fact that fans will remember him from a previous instalment of Call Of Duty.

The graphics are stunning but to be completely honest there isn't much of a jump in detail from Modern Warfare 2 which is a bit of a let down as with all the hype, it would have been nice to see a prettier game. Although it is understandable as Treyarch didn't produce Modern Warfare 2, its understandable why some fans are disappointed with the graphics on show here which, if I'm honest, are still very very good but just not on par with expectations.

All the usual gameplay elements are on show here with the traditional controls from the series thrown in so fans can just jump straight into the action. The enemy AI is very good throughout the campaign with some truly tough parts on Veteran difficulty with the biggest problem with the gameplay is the infinite spawning enemies. For a game of this magnitude its shocking that unless you storm a room, the enemies just continue to pour into the room. This is especially frustrating during veteran difficulty where being given the option to snipe enemies from a safe distance is snubbed in place of firing blindly from cover and running into an area with the hope that your squad will move forwards.

Another area of criticism is the lack of intelligence from squad mates. It's all well and good having a "highly trained" force of operatives at your side but if they will only move forwards when you do, something is seriously wrong and with some of the tough levels later on, it would have been nice to see the computer AI slightly more intelligent and using some aggression by storming a room while you shoot from a safe distance.

The story also lacks a sense of pace with action, although spectacular, hitting you from every angle and within 3 levels you're involved in a motorcycle chase, gunning down enemies from a plane and escaping from a prison. At times it would have been nice to see a slightly more character driven area that didn't revolve around huge explosions but with the emphasis being solely on action and big set pieces, the plot and character progression takes a backseat.

The sound is brilliant though with explosions and the sound of guns really packing a punch and the atmospheric, ambient music adds to this brilliantly. The voice acting isn't anything special with the only highlight being Victor Reznov over the wooden cast.

The real meat of Call Of Duty is the online element and with tiny tweaks here and there from the previous instalments, the online game holds up as strong as ever with the, although gimmicky, brilliant wager matches which give off the illusion of a brand new game mode in which you bet in-game money. The zombie mode is also brilliant with the joy being in playing as a big team of four people and each frantically trying to help one another out. The rest of the online plays and feels exactly like the Modern Warfare games with the only disappointment being in the slightly long loading times and the constant disconnecting which has become more frequent recently.

Call Of Duty: Black Ops had a lot of promise and in some ways it doesn't live up to the massive hype and the lack of anything remotely new and exciting doesn't help its cause. This Call Of Duty is a mixed bag with on the one hand a brilliant new setting and a big emphasis on action pleasing fans and newcomers alike with something fresh and brand new. On the other hand, this just feels like an add-on to Modern Warfare with almost no difference to interface design, a slightly inferior online element and lack of imaginative flair.

There are more than 200 different shooters out there in the UK today but Black Ops will still continue to sell due to its name and the brand new setting. However, I'd recommend renting this game first to see what its like before making the plunge to buy this one. So to conclude, Black Ops is definately a huge game but the lack of imagination might put some people off which is a real shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why so much hatred???, 2 Nov 2011
By 
Mark Shaw "CreweRed" (Cheshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call of Duty: Black Ops (PS3) (Video Game)
I can't understand why so many hate this game so much, I've been playing it off and on for months now, really enjoyed the campaign and am having great fun playing online, especially in domination mode. Perhaps it's not as good as MW2 but let's face it, not many games are, but Black Ops is still a quality game!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why The Hate?, 1 Feb 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Call of Duty: Black Ops (PS3) (Video Game)
I dont understand why this game is 3 stars. It is a great game and implements some new never-before features in the CoD series, Exclusive to the BO Series. We got a currency, Known as CoD points, so instead of waiting to unlock your attachments, you can buy them straight away. You can also use this to buy perks, attachments, weapons and much, much more! If you think your good at the game but you lack CoD points, put what you have on the line, and gamble in the new Wager Match system. Its simple, Put some money in, If you come 1st 2nd or 3rd then you get up to triple what you put on the line. If you lose, its a small loss of money, Depending on how much you put in. A new feature is a second class of customization. You can now change your suit, facepaint, camo, RDS reticule and your sight lense. You can put your clan tag and emblem on your gun too, Speaking of emblems, You can now create your own! Rather than picking from some crappy ones. I personally love Zombies mode, but I get bored after playing for a couple hours. I dont play Campaign but its very good. Multiplayer is the king of Black Ops. And is the best part about it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A must buy, 7 Jan 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call of Duty: Black Ops (PS3) (Video Game)
having just finished the game, there are parts of it that are superb but overall its not quite 5*. the game consists of individual missions or 'black ops' and focuses on historic american military missions such as the bay of pigs in cuba or the war in vietnam. the historic accuracy of them adds value to the gaming experience but unfortunately they're all implausibly tied together by a far fetched story line which, along with some of the over the top in-game action, makes the game somewhat over sensationalized. for me, the best parts of the game contained the least action - these are meant to be highly secret operations afer all. when there become so many enemies on scene that the situation turns into a full on battlefield slugfest, the game loses the tension and momentum that come with covert operations. there are however also great moments in the game where stealth is required and despite the niggles the game is very well put together and almost instantly re-playable. moments that made me smile were boating up a river in vietnam listening to the rolling stones (pick a movie!) & escaping from a Russain prison. overall, an enjoyabe game thats difficult to put down and at the current price must be worth adding to the FPS collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Will be excellent...not for under 18's., 12 Dec 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call of Duty: Black Ops (PS3) (Video Game)
Call of Duty Black ops is a very good game for anyone 18+. If you loved modern warfare 2 you will love everything about this game. However don't throw out modern warfare 2 just yet! If it's the multiplayer function that you want to play then be warned that theres a huge problem with the servers at the moment thats been going on since the release date. There has been an update already, but personally this hasn't changed anything for me and I struggle to join parties and invite friends. To resolve this I have been phoning my friends and asking them to press 'join' at a certain time just to get into my game. But I do stress that this is only a problem if you like playing online with your friends. If you don't mind just playing with random people of the world then you'll be fine. Besides I am sure they will fix this at some point.

I cannot comment on the campaign mode much because I have only played it a little, but from the small amount of time I did spend on it I have to say I was very impressed with the graphics and the story line. And I wouldn't want to spoil it for you so I'll leave out a description of that.

The zombie mode is also something new. I have to be honest I don't like it that much, it seems kind of pointless. But it's good fun. It seems a bit repetitive but it's nice to have a break now and again and do something different.

Some things that are new and awsome:

Being able to edit your own playercard (For those of you who are thinking 'playercard?' thats just your emblem)
You earn cod money by completing challenges in the game (something else new) and this enables you to buy certain pictures or 'items' once unlocked at various levels. You can have up to 12 layers (also once unlocked and purchased) which means you can be really creative. Although this seems really cool be warned that there are some people out there who have been less creative and have just been plain vile by making X rated images. This is why I said earlier that this is a great game for over 18s. But you can report someone if your find their playercard to be offensive however this won't protect you from coming across something else. I have to say this because although the game is rated 18 - I have come across an endless amount of children playing the game. So if your a responsible parent- don't buy this game for your under 18 child.

If you ignore the above advice there is a way around this- The game features a 'practise' mode where you can adjust all of the game settings. This is good for practise and good if you do want your children to play the game as it is played against dummies (who are just made up enemies) Or you can choose to play against dummy members of your friends list. This just means that no one will be able to talk to you if all the oponents are dummies- but they will just be machines that have your friends name to them (so your friends won't actually be there). Also you can adjust the level of difficulty to improve your skills in the game and no matter what it doesnt affect your kill to death ratio of the 'main multiplayer game'. This is an entirely different feature.

You can still have titles- there are a few good ones but not as many as on modern warfare 2. (these also have to be purchased with cod money)

Generally, if you're a big fan of multiplayer gaming then black ops will excite you but also frustrate you at the same time. I've lost count of the amount of times when I've thrown down my controller, ejected the disk and stuck modern warfare 2 back in. But when its going well and the servers fine and you've managed to get into your friends party after 20 failed attemps and 5 games that you have been disconnected from it realy is an addictive and fun game.

The game will feel retro when you first play it. But that feeling goes. This is because it's not made by the same people who made the last one.

I do highly recommend this game but theres no rush to get it. I would go out and get Gran Turismo 5 enjoy the amazingness of that game and then go buy Black Ops when they've sorted out all the issues.

*I apologise for any thing I have missed out- like new weapons, perks equipment and theater ... just buy it. You'll be pleasantly suprised.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Black Ops - quality!!, 19 Feb 2011
By 
N. Gallacher "Nick" (Glasgow) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call of Duty: Black Ops (PS3) (Video Game)
At 36, I'm really new to the whole gaming thing, and primarily bought a PS3 for the blu-ray player. However, having seen the advert over xmas for Black Ops, I thought I would give it a bash as it looked good fun - and how glad am I that I did!!

It may well be old hat to hardcore gamers that have been doing this for years, and a few of the reviews would suggest that - but to me, I was absolutely blown away by the graphics, which are just outstanding. The game is magic fun, really realistic, and really immersive. All set in the 60's, so cold war/Nam theme. Playing a special ops soldier on deniable operations - brilliant!!

The thing that really stands out to me though, is the attention to detail - there are a lot of subtle nuances that really add to it. I'm an ex-soldier in real life, and was grinning like an idiot at diving into cover to change magazines, or covering your mates as they clear rooms etc, great fun!

If you are new to the whole PS3/Gaming thing as I am and are having any doubts, or think this is for kids - forget it, big time - buy this right away and you won't be dissapointed - it's the best laugh and most fun I have had for ages and worth every penny. Get rid of your bird for the night, buy a case of beers, and start wasting some ruski's or taking down charlie in Khe Sanh (which is like playing a part in the film Hamburger Hill)

Class, get it bought lads!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars VALUE, 2 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Call of Duty: Black Ops (PS3) (Video Game)
Still a great game and for 5 its A BARGAIN! so many of these games around id defo have this one in my collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars COD Black Ops, 13 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Call of Duty: Black Ops (PS3) (Video Game)
I dont think i need to type too many words on a description, youl know what it is, what its about, and what needs to be done if you dont have it in your game collection... unless its not your thing of course!
Multiplayer, online gaming, guns, grenades, tactics - i think that about covers it

enjoy!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 5 Aug 2013
By 
Joao Mascarenhas (Portugal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Call of Duty: Black Ops (PS3) (Video Game)
First missions not so good and then It's a blast. Very good campaign and multiplayer. Just hope COD Ghosts is more like this one less like Black Ops II
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 278 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Call of Duty: Black Ops (PS3)
Call of Duty: Black Ops (PS3) by Activision (PlayStation 3)
11.30
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews