Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent
Bought this for the grandchildren, after they showed a keen interest in board games. It is one of their favourite Christmas pressies, well worth the money, recommended!
Published 19 months ago by witch1452

versus
23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Stick With The Original
Ok, this isn't so much a review as a gripe. The game is a branded version of the original Junior Scrabble, and is pretty much exactly the same as the one I played with thirty odd years ago. There are two sides to the board, one for a free form, play words anywhere, game, akin to the full adult version. This is for older players. The other side has pre-printed words,...
Published on 26 May 2011 by Quicksilver


Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Stick With The Original, 26 May 2011
By 
Quicksilver (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Toy Story 3 Scrabble Junior (Toy)
Ok, this isn't so much a review as a gripe. The game is a branded version of the original Junior Scrabble, and is pretty much exactly the same as the one I played with thirty odd years ago. There are two sides to the board, one for a free form, play words anywhere, game, akin to the full adult version. This is for older players. The other side has pre-printed words, that younger players can fill in with letter tiles as they go. The scoring has been tinkered with but in essence there is nothing new here.

So why don't I like it? The problem for me is with the pre-printed words for younger children. They are pretty much all characters from the Toy Story films, in other words proper nouns. Aside from the fact that this is flagrant disregard for the rules of Scrabble (which Mattel are changing anyway), its educational value is seriously diminished. Words like 'Hamm' and 'Lotso' just don't help improve language skills. Perhaps I'm being a crusty purist, but I would much rather play the game as it was first created, with ordinary words. If the board had used words like 'cowboy', 'space' and 'ranger', the franchise tie-in would have been maintained without losing the integrity of the original game. Disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars abit of a con, 30 Dec 2010
= Durability:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Toy Story 3 Scrabble Junior (Toy)
this product was bought for my grandson because my children had so enjoyed the original many years ago and ours is rather worn. This 'game' is a complete travesty of the original it is frustrating and long drawn out.there are so few words and many letter counters that are not used and in my opinion will put children off playing board games at all, which is a shame.It certainly was not worth the money I paid and I am very disapointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not as educational as original version and harder for young children, 4 Jan 2014
By 
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Toy Story 3 Scrabble Junior (Toy)
As per another review, the board for younger children is poor, having names of Toy Story characters instead of basic words that will help build children's vocabulary. This also makes it harder for very young children, with names such as Hamm and Bullseye. Very disappointed.

Will be OK when our daughter (currently 5) can graduate to the older board but I would NOT say it is is suitable for 5-10 year olds, maybe 6/7 yr olds upwards (will see when our daughter reaches that age) and she lost interest in it very quickly. Why they felt the need to mess with the original words I don't know, but it could almost have done with a warning, or a least a picture of the younger board so you can see what you're getting. As per other review - stick to the original (although I understand there is a spanish/english version of Dora The Explorer Scrabble that might be useful for bi-lingual children)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars love it, 11 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Toy Story 3 Scrabble Junior (Toy)
bought for our 5 year old for Christmas and he absolutely loves it.... he is even playing on the opposite side which he calls the "grown up" side of the board!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 2 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Toy Story 3 Scrabble Junior (Toy)
Bought this for the grandchildren, after they showed a keen interest in board games. It is one of their favourite Christmas pressies, well worth the money, recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 5 stars, 4 Dec 2012
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Toy Story 3 Scrabble Junior (Toy)
I bought this for my 5 year old who has just started school, its a great family game that both fun and educational 😀
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Junior scrabble, 20 Oct 2010
By 
D. Sharman "Bookworm" (Wirral UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Toy Story 3 Scrabble Junior (Toy)
The game is enjoyed by both of my grandsons aged 2 and 5 I would recommend this product for children of 5 and under
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Educational Fun, 30 Dec 2010
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Toy Story 3 Scrabble Junior (Toy)
Bought this for my 5 year old nephew who loves it. He is already improving his spelling abilities through using the game. Money well spent and highly recommended. Fun for the whole family too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars scrabble for kids, 10 July 2011
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Toy Story 3 Scrabble Junior (Toy)
Bought this for my 6 year olds birthday and we have enjoyed playing it as a family game. My 4 year old - who is toy story mad- is also able to join in. One side of the board has pre-decided words and therefore, when it is your turn, you choose 2 of your tiles to place anywhere on the board-if you complete a word then you win the points. This makes it much fairer and easier way for kids to play and enjoy it. The other side of the board is normal scrabble. It is a shame that the game doesn't include the traditional tile racks meaning your tiles have to be laid on the table. As pointed out in other reviews the letters are all capitals not lower-case but in my opinion this does not matter - children may recognise lower-case easier but they still need to learn capitals letters!
We have enjoyed this game as a whole family and the toy story slant makes it more accessible for kids who might otherwise be more resistant to 'word games'. I would definately recomend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Toy Story 3 Scrabble Junior
19.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews