Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great all round collection
Whilst there are a great deal of Hollies albums released I feel that this if you own no other Hollies album is a good one to own, with 44 tracks it is well worth every penny. It recaptures my youth, as a teenager in the sixties these and many others were the folk that shaped our musical influences and to realise that the group is still going today albeit with two newish...
Published on 24 Feb 2010 by Essex Earl

versus
34 of 42 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Here We Go Again
Every couple of years, EMI seem to release yet another Hollies compilation and this is... yet another Hollies compilation that appears to have no real rhyme nor reason to it. There are some truly wonderful tracks to be had on here... after all they were a wonderful band but there are far better collections to get which feature all the essential hits and best album...
Published on 7 Feb 2010 by Norman Prebble


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great all round collection, 24 Feb 2010
Whilst there are a great deal of Hollies albums released I feel that this if you own no other Hollies album is a good one to own, with 44 tracks it is well worth every penny. It recaptures my youth, as a teenager in the sixties these and many others were the folk that shaped our musical influences and to realise that the group is still going today albeit with two newish members just proves firstly how popular they were and still are and secondly that they are Graet Musicians. Apptly Titled 'The Midas Touch' does it for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another Hollies Hits Compilation, 19 Jan 2010
From 1963 to the mid-70's, the Hollies had more hits than even the Beatles. In that period alone, they had 17 Top ten hits, while "He Ain't Heavy, He's My Brother" gave them a second No 1 hit when re-released in 1988.

The Midas Touch is a new two-disc, 48 track compilation which focuses on the groups 60's and 70's recordings but brings their story to the present day with selections from their 2009 album Then, Now, Always plus two previously unissued live recordings from their 2009 tour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Hollies - well worth listening to., 22 April 2010
This CD is well worth listening to. There are songs on it that I've never heard them sing before but they are all good songs. Also some familiar ones that you don't associate with the Hollies ie Heartbeat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still going stong after nearly fifty years, 3 April 2010
By 
C. J. Walker (U K) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
I feel the Hollies are always underated,they made and still make wonderfull recordings and still touring.I was lucky to catch them in Nottingham a few weeks ago and admit was not sure how they would be as only Tony and Bobby are left from the original lineup,well they were BRILLIANT,I have not enjoyed a concert of this quality for a while.Once you get over the fact that the songs sound different because Allan Clarkes very distinctive voice is missing you soon forget and get carried away with these great songs,they sang all the hits and no medleys,all the hits in full,they were on stage for over two hours.it was a magical evening.I did not realize what a brilliant guiarist Tony Hicks is and for a guy of 65 he looks still youthfull.I purchased thier latest CD "THEN NOW ALWAYS"including all new material(and is excellent)and the title track is on this compilation.This set brings The Hollies right up to date with some of thier newer recordings and they are sounding as good today as they did back in the early sixties.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Midas Touch By the Hollies, 31 Mar 2010
By 
Paul Breakell (Ramsgate Kent United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was pleased with this Hollies compilation,
all their Big hits, and the lessor hits too,
by and large a great CD,
there was a few duff songs, but you get this
with any compilation,
if you like the Hollies buy this CD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The very best of the Hollies, 16 Mar 2010
By 
C. Wells (Swindon, wilts) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This CD is full to the brim of all the great Hollies music, great for young and old.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Memories, 31 Mar 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really good album. You forget how many good records the Hollies made, and some I have never heard before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Groups Group., 29 Mar 2010
By 
Mr. A. Howden - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Naturally very good and full of memories with a good taste of what they are still doing so well!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Hollies, 17 Mar 2010
By 
Mr. Ian Green (Leicestershire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Being of a more 'mature age', as a teenager through the groups era of the sixties, this is a terrific collection of all the past Hollies hits, and one or two of those recently made by this group, that sounds just as good today as it did all those years back. I was impressed with them when I saw them live on their 2009 tour, they do a great show and unlike so many of todays groups and acts, the music The Hollies do is always memorable. I can thoroughly recommend this c.d. collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 42 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Here We Go Again, 7 Feb 2010
Every couple of years, EMI seem to release yet another Hollies compilation and this is... yet another Hollies compilation that appears to have no real rhyme nor reason to it. There are some truly wonderful tracks to be had on here... after all they were a wonderful band but there are far better collections to get which feature all the essential hits and best album tracks.

Worse, the use of mono and stereo mixes here seem to be rather scatterbrained and random. Why they use two track mixes of some songs (vocals in one channel and everything else in the other) yet feature perfectly balanced stereo mixes like "Pay You Back With Interest" - one of their greatest songs - in mono is incomprehensible.

Much as I love Bobby Elliott and Tony Hicks, I am getting very tired of this gambit where they use the old hits to sell a couple of "new" recordings. Elliott and Hicks get very resentful if anyone accuses them or The Hollies of being a nostalgia band, but how can one avoid feeling that way when they keep using their past to flog a couple of new tracks?

The only real worthwhile track here for Hollies collectors (meaning we're being forced to buy a whole load of stuff we have several times over again) is the new stereo remix of "King Midas In Reverse." The new material is simply not in the same league because it's not the same band at all. The Hollies' output over the last 25 years has been a continual bland embarrassment.

I'm sad and sorry to have to be negative about this album. Despite it featuring a whole load of brilliant songs I can't even recommend it to newcomers because there are far better and more compact collections that show what The Hollies were really all about. The artwork is horrible too! A shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews