Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Musical Heaven, 9 Jun 2013
By 
ACB (swansea) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Harry Christophers and the Sixteen are the epitome of choral polyphonic artistry. Their output is prodigious but the consistency of excellence is astonishing. This compilation of works by Tallis, Byrd and Sheppard is a continuance of the production of their interpretation of the master composers. The focus is on Tudor times; times of great change and difficulties for the creators of such marvellous music delivered by the best interpreters of the classic style, the Sixteen, under Christophers's direction. If you have the chance to see them live, please do so, they are a delight. This recording is, as their others, outstanding. It is difficult to fault or pick the outstanding from their repertoire. 'Laudibus in sanctis' and the extended 'Media vita in morte sumus' reveal why. Spread the word and the sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply perfect!, 8 Jun 2011
Incredible! I saw the BBC episode that concentrated on Byrd and Tallis and thought it amazing but the CD is outstanding!! The purity of the singing is quite simply exquisite, nothing to say really. Harry Christophers reminds me of Paul McCreesh, so totally dedicated to excellence and so passionate about his art. Could and have, listened to it all day. Wish I could sing like that !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 30 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ceremony and Devotion - Music for the Tudors (MP3 Download)
This is really perfect meditation listening. Classic FM have rightly chosen the Sixteen. A perfect sound from a very talented group. Th range of music they cover is broad and sometimes novel or unusual. Keep it coming!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just the best, 6 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Sixteen stand head and shoulders above other acapella for quality of sound and expression. Their music is sublime and the recordings excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent sixteen, 28 Mar 2010
For the information of the previous reviewer, the fact that it is not recognized on his / her PC is not the fault of the CD or Mr Christophers and the Sixteen! Be objective! Truly great music wonderfully performed. More of the Golden Age of English Music please Harry Christophers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Sixteen -music for the Tudors, 1 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Sixteen are perfection itself in this CD of music by Tallis,Bird etc. For lovers of early polyphonic music this is a must-have!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good speedy service, 2 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A lovely CD of very special Tudor music by Tallis and Byrd and Sheppard. We are constantly listening to this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pilgrims, look no further, 4 Nov 2010
By 
A C Pate (Patrington, East Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
If you went to one of the concerts in the 16s 2010 Choral Pilgrimage, then you must have this CD as a memento of the time when you experienced a perfection of music and architecture none of us has a right to expect. If you didn't go, buy this to taste what you missed, and book tickets for the 2011 Pilgrimage. And on this CD what may well strike you as most memorable is not the elegantly elaborate polyphonic pieces, but the chant - multum in parvo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 26 May 2011
By 
S. J. MacDonald (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ceremony and Devotion - Music for the Tudors (MP3 Download)
This is just beautiful, calming music, great for listening to actively and for having on as background music when you need to be calm and focussed, as with marking books, writing school reports etc. I don't find it as engaging as the "Sounds Sublime" album but I wouldn't be without it on my itunes and mp3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heaven on a CD, 9 Sep 2010
By 
Isobel Birden (Bristol, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This CD is truly wonderful, every track a masterpiece of composition and execution. I will be attending the concert at Wells Cathedral.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa6675f54)

This product

Only search this product's reviews