Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another excellent Mozart opera bargain
One of the very best performances and recording of Cosi Fan Tutte with Bohm conductng the Vienna Philharmonic and a superb set of soloists. A fantastic bargain. I first encountered Cosi on DVD (Gardiner) but found the plot to be rather unpleasant in spite of a very good performance. On CD (without subtitles!) I can just enjoy the wonderful music.
Published 22 months ago by John HOLLAS

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Wasted my money.
I was told that the Amazon music app wasn't compatible with my (Hudl) device, even though I had paid for the music.
Published 6 months ago by Dilys


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another excellent Mozart opera bargain, 17 Jun. 2013
By 
John HOLLAS (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mozart: Così Fan Tutte (MP3 Download)
One of the very best performances and recording of Cosi Fan Tutte with Bohm conductng the Vienna Philharmonic and a superb set of soloists. A fantastic bargain. I first encountered Cosi on DVD (Gardiner) but found the plot to be rather unpleasant in spite of a very good performance. On CD (without subtitles!) I can just enjoy the wonderful music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic value for a superb performance, 28 April 2006
By 
This is one of the best performances of Cosi I have heard, and it's absolutely complete without any of the usual cuts. From a live perfomance recorded in 1992, it has a cast of young gifted singers who bring real acting skill as well as beautiful voices to bear on one of Mozart's greatest scores.

Buy it - you won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mozart, 27 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mozart: Così Fan Tutte (MP3 Download)
very good performance, reproduction quality good. recently been to see live performance, brought it all back for me, recommend this to any one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent value!, 2 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mozart: Così Fan Tutte (MP3 Download)
Great cd,, ok....mp3 download, with the added bonus of a great price!
If you are an opera lover, like my wife, you should get this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars mozart never misses, 28 Sept. 2013
By 
Timothy Wakefield "countryman" (Nottinghamshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mozart: Così Fan Tutte (MP3 Download)
Mozart the name alone makes you expect quality and with this recording thats what you get relaxing and easily accessible
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mozart: Così Fan Tutte (MP3 Download)
Very pleased with purchase. As described. Many thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars My favourite Cosi in English despite elderly mono sound, 3 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Of the three Cosis available in English this is my favourite despite the rather blunt mono sound. But it's satisfactory enough and most of the words are sufficiently clear as to be understood.
Why do I prefer it? Well, it's live, it has by far the best translation, and it has the true Mozartian atmosphere with very appealing live performances especially from the three ladies. Gibson's conducting is sensitive and perfectly paced and despite the shortcomings of this recording everything that matters is captured.

The Met recording from 1952 has much better clearer sound but it's a very clinical mono studio recording (there is a live set of the same production but the sound is very poor indeed and can be dismissed) with poor orchestral sound appearing to be piped in from another room, or simply canned. Moreover some of the American accents are very difficult to take in Mozart who I suspect can be anything but American (no disrespect intended, it's just one of those things unless the accent is inaudible to the listener if he happens to possess it him/herself).
I have reviewed the other two versions at greater length. The better of the two is easily the Chandos studio recording under Mackerras.

I've found it very important to have a well balanced hi-fi to get acceptable sound quality. This mainly seems to depend as usual on having an amplifier of sufficient power to drive the speakers properly but in the case of these earlier mono Ponto recordings I've found that getting the speaker-amplifier combination right is even more critical than usual with opera. Opera recordings in general are often the best test for a system because it's so important that the voices don't produce ear fatigue or simply sound distorted in the peaks, but also for many other reasons such as poor detail, separation and clarity it's even more of an issue with these Ponto recordings which appear to have been made privately by the same person on a particular reel to reel recorder.
On the positive side, I have found relatively good results on an old and modestly priced system as well as (far better results) on a system fronted by some £10,000 Sonos Faber on £2,000 stands where a surprising amount of extra detail is revealed which I didn't expect had been captured. The problems I have found lie with many expensive systems in between these extremes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Wasted my money., 30 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mozart: Così Fan Tutte (MP3 Download)
I was told that the Amazon music app wasn't compatible with my (Hudl) device, even though I had paid for the music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mozart: Così Fan Tutte
Mozart: Così Fan Tutte by Karl Böhm, Erich Kunz, Lisa Della Casa, Christa Ludwig, Anton Dermota Vienna Philharmonic Opera Chorus and Orchestra
Buy MP3 Album£2.97
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews