Customer Reviews


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


54 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heartbreaking but strangely beautiful
I was very impressed with Jon McGregor's first two novels and this one was no exception.

The story begins with the body of a man (Robert) being discovered in his run-down flat. He has been dead for some time, and due to his shambolic lifestyle the police have difficulty piecing together the last moments of his life. Robert was an alcoholic, and the friends he...
Published on 10 Feb 2010 by Denise4891

versus
27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A noble idea, but it doesn't work...
A strange combination, this. In essence, it's a formless freewheel that follows the death of an alcoholic in an East Midlands estate. At various junctures, his friends, acquaintances and family fill in some of the gaps of a life surrounded by drugs, squalor and struggle.

For much of the book it would seem to be carefully researched, and as `authentic' as you...
Published on 11 Oct 2010 by bloodsimple


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

54 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heartbreaking but strangely beautiful, 10 Feb 2010
By 
Denise4891 (Cheshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Even the Dogs (Hardcover)
I was very impressed with Jon McGregor's first two novels and this one was no exception.

The story begins with the body of a man (Robert) being discovered in his run-down flat. He has been dead for some time, and due to his shambolic lifestyle the police have difficulty piecing together the last moments of his life. Robert was an alcoholic, and the friends he allowed to doss in his flat were drug addicts, all living on the margins of society. This short but very descriptive book looks at the reasons behind each character's descent into this squalid existence, ranging from loss of their family or a childhood in care, to harrowing experiences serving Queen and Country in the Army.

McGregor uses a similar device to the one he used in If Nobody Speaks of Remarkable Things - that of the unnamed narrator/observer moving from one scene to the next as the characters' stories unfold. Again I think it worked very well, particularly when combined with his poetic writing style and wonderful ear for dialogue.

Yes it's bleak and uncomfortable to read at times, but it's also a very moving and poignant story and I found I really came to care about the people whose desperate lives were laid bare on the page before me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A noble idea, but it doesn't work..., 11 Oct 2010
By 
bloodsimple (nottingham, uk) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Even the Dogs (Hardcover)
A strange combination, this. In essence, it's a formless freewheel that follows the death of an alcoholic in an East Midlands estate. At various junctures, his friends, acquaintances and family fill in some of the gaps of a life surrounded by drugs, squalor and struggle.

For much of the book it would seem to be carefully researched, and as `authentic' as you would wish. The gritty detail is there, and little is spared. The language, too, is essentially the thoughts and words of the individuals written down, including the pauses and unfinished sentences. However, it often seems false or stilted - the addicts appear unduly co-operative, and reluctant to resort to crime or violence for their next fix. My understanding of this kind of addict is that they would happily sell their granny to score, but in the novel this desperation is rarely present. In addition, some of the characters seem to blend together into the same person, and the constant tailing off of sentences passes from realistic, to just plain annoying.

The structure is a further problem - the book is deliberately shapeless, but this robs it of any immediacy. Instead, the reader floats around and occasionally drops in, but out of temporal sequence. It is a stylistic decision, but it detracts from what the author is trying to convey - it is too bitty to allow the reader to build up any lasting emotions. Less would be more, here.

Ultimately, I want to like this book because it attempts something brave, it is often unflinching, and it shines a light that needs to be shone. However, the shapeless and messy style, the lack of distinction between characters, and hints of punch-pulling by the author, count against it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another very good novel from a new major writer, 23 Feb 2010
By 
Herman Norford "Keen Reader" (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Even the Dogs (Hardcover)
As one character, Steve, explains a charity trip, to another character, Ant, an almost throw away remark is made. Steve recalls that during the trip, a so called police man said to him, as he tried to deliver aid to Bosnia, "There is nothing for you there. There, even the dogs are dead." It is out of this sentence that Jon McGregor's third novel, Even the Dogs, gains its title. For me in what follows, in the novel, the title functions as a relative statement if only to briefly remind us that even though we might think we have sunk far down into the mire there is possibly someone or group of people worst off than us. For all its bleakness, as one reads the novel it is soon realised that the title also portrays a sense of hope.

The setting of Even the Dogs is the harsh, bleak world of drugs and alcohol abuse. We are not told in which town or city McGregor's characters function but it could be any large town or city. Christmas has not long expired and Robert is discovered dead in his flat. During the time of his death so called friends who visit the flat, and might have discovered Robert's body, panic and flitter away. The police subsequently arrive on the scene and Robert's body is eventually taken to a mortuary. The body is accompanied by a plural we narrator. McGregor then structures his novel on the basis of 5 long chapters that focuses on how the state deals with such an event and on another level allows the narration to flow, as if recalled from memory, in an impressionistic manner. In short what we get is a delineation of the lives of a group of characters set in a social milieu of substance abuse.

The story although straight forward commands close attention as McGregor allows his narrator to slip from the present to the past and back to the present without any sign post. Indeed, it seems as if that whilst focusing on the present situation of Robert's death, the narrator imagines the action and behaviour of a host of characters.

There is a subtle emotional tug in this otherwise bleak story. It derives from a feeling that the novel reads like a eulogy of Robert's life. What McGregor seems keen to depict is the way a given life is lived. In doing so he strikes a masterful stroke in what is a short novel. His narration is compressed like a zip file but within the lines there is much to unpack and contemplate. In one passage McGregor uses an extended metaphor to indicate the progression of time - believe it or not, namely the wall papering of Robert's flat and how it deteriorated over time.

I detected a subtle bit of politics in this novel. McGregor's characters are down and out working class so their position is one, in the main, where the state imposes things upon them even in the case of dealing with Robert's death. At the start of chapter 3, as the we narrator gather in the mortuary the reader is told how they expect to wait for something to happen. We are told: "Waiting is one thing we're good at, as it happens. We've had a lot of practice. We've got the time. We've got all the time in the world."

Furthermore, another major political issue that emerges from this novel is that for these down and outs, in life and in death, the state takes more control of their lives than is normally the case. From one perspective, Robert's story is an anatomy of state involvement in his life. Folks like Robert would experience living in council flats on sink estates that compound their problems, attempted control by the criminal justice system, a dependency on government benefits and finally in death the dissection of the body by a branch of the NHS partly as an exercise in the training of pathologists.

As in his first to novels, it is clear that McGregor is a novelist who is prepared to experiment with his writing. The writing style in this novel mimics the character's life and social milieu. In one section paragraphs end with out full stops, sentences are littered with double negatives, and sometimes end with the conjunction "but", and question marks are sometimes quite simply dropped.

McGregor is one of the few British contemporary literary novelists writing with a commitment. Yet he manages to maintain a respectable distance from his story and characters. He also renders his story in a unique attractive style that is fast becoming a trade mark. One reviewer has raised the question: if Even the Dogs is this year's Man Booker winner. Well, I don't know but years on from now I could imagine the Nobel citation: He gives voice to the ordinary man and woman depicting them faithfully and with pathos in their social milieu thereby reminding the masses of the different social strata in society. I recommend this short but very good novel to readers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unusual And Rewarding - A Great Reading Experience, 17 July 2010
By 
This review is from: Even the Dogs (Hardcover)
I ordered this book have read about John McGregor, and read some of the reviews on Amazon. This was the first John McGregor book that I read. The style of writing is descriptive and poetic, and at first I was unsure whether I would complete or even enjoy reading the book. Having quickly got used to the style of writing, I read the book quickly and found it a thoroughly enjoyable experience. The story is tragic, and the way in which John McGregor develops the characters, provides detail and your quickly build a picture of the characters and their lives they live. This book really does make you think, and I found myself looking forward to reading the book.

I have since gone onto read John McGregor's other books. Another reviewer has referred to the author as being a "big bang" within literature, this is something I really agree with. It is not often that you come across an author who writes that is so descriptive, emotive and poetic in style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, hard-going, 19 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Even the Dogs (Kindle Edition)
This is a slim novel which nevertheless makes a "full meal" as a reading experience, and takes a lot of time to read - you can't skim, due to the emotional and stylistic density of the prose.

It's very beautiful and, I thought, written with real emotional/psychological acuity. This makes it a difficult read in places, as we spend most of our time down in the real rough edges of life, with people who live "outside the remit" of everything. It's not a bleeding-heart book, though; it's unwavering in its commitment to be true to the characters and to the difficulties in questions of victimhood, "life choices", and addiction.

There are no easy answers (much as we would like to think there are) and this book stares the difficulties of Life full in the face.

I couldn't help but admire the depth of research the author must have done, and yet it never comes across as "look at all my research".

Really brilliant & different.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worthy but not enjoyable, 5 Aug 2012
By 
Janie U (Kings Cliffe, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Even the Dogs (Hardcover)
This book relates an aspect of society that we all ought to be more aware of than we are - addicts whose priority is where the next fix is going to come from. They worry about many other things but that feeling is the most important is the world.
There are many areas which could be explored further but I think that the author has deliberately pared down the story (to just over 200 pages) so that the focus is on the addiction itself
Nothing is spared and the descriptions are very visual. I suspect that most people reading this book will never have been to anywhere like the places included in this book but you will get an idea of the feeling of the underworld.
Why only three stars? Because I did not enjoy reading the book. It is good and worthy but not a great experience to read. Only for the dedicated......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unusual, literally 'novel', a book version of the big bang!, 12 Mar 2010
By 
Mr. Timothy West (wirral uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Even the Dogs (Hardcover)
This novel is written in a very unusual style, narrated in the first person plural, by an ethereal group and follows the death of Robert, who through his sheer physical bulk and agoraphobic possession of his flat provided a centre for their lives.

This almost spiritual tone starkly contrasts with the abused, addicted and despairing lives which the group of friends lead on the streets of an unnamed Midlands city.

After the first couple of pages one rapidly adapts to the style and it proves very easy to read.

The narrative at the heart of the book is a journey of this massed consciousness following and watching Robert's body every step of the way, from being discovered to his funeral.

It's an extremely ambitious novel as it opens outwards through space and time from the confines of the flat to the conflict in the Falklands, Bosnia, and Afghanistan and in a memorable passage then travels back to the grim estates where the book is mostly set.

Although it would be difficult for anyone who is actually likely to read this book to judge how realistic the depiction is of addiction and hopelessness which leads to homelessness the tone of the book seems right. It captures perfectly the strange, symbiotic relationship in our society between the `professionals', doctors, policemen, social workers, key workers, benefit agency people, who look after these people and the damaged addicts who have to learn to play the system to survive.

Even the dogs is relatively short and easy to read, yet manages to encompass the most profound themes of humanity and is one of the best books I have read for a long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars As I Lay Dying, 12 Oct 2010
By 
Keris Nine - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Even the Dogs (Hardcover)
Jon McGregor's books are never an easy read, but they are worth the effort. If the reader is willing to go with the flow of the stream of consciousness, not need to know exactly where they are or who is narrating, their persistence will eventually pay off, everything will fall into place and the sheer scope of what the book has achieved is likely to have an impact that is profound and unforgettable. That at least was the case with the author's first two books - If Nobody Speaks of Remarkable Things and So Many Ways to Begin. Even the Dogs however is a different case altogether.

Another reason why Jon McGregor's books can be difficult to read is their choice of subject matter. It's often about ordinary people, living hard, grim lives, caught up in their own problems, that the author is able to redeem through some exquisite poetic observations, enlightening the subject through a few fleeting moments of remarkable insight into the connections between people and their pasts. The subject matter of Even the Dogs is perhaps even more grim than previous books, dealing with the lives of down-and-outs, sleeping rough and doing drugs to temporarily lift them out of their miserable existence, forging connections and friendships that are somewhat different from ones we would be familiar with. And then, in the bleak period between Christmas and New Year, there's a death that has an impact on a small group of them.

McGregor's deeply involving writing does nonetheless manage to find some beauty and poetry in this subject. A junkie preparing the vein on a companion for injection is compared to a soldier tenderly giving water from a flask to a dying companion, and there is a fine connection established between Ant, a former soldier in Afghanistan with a morphine addiction on account of injuries sustained in the war there now hooked on heroin, and the harvesting and transportation of heroin from the same part of the world. The writing is such that it also draws the reader fully into the limited horizons of such an existence, while at the same time expanding it out into the nature of the world that it takes place in.

McGregor is certainly one of the best writers in the UK, and the writing in Even the Dogs remains strong, with some superb observations, but this time around it all feels too much like a literary exercise, reminiscent of William Faulkner, the tone and treatment not that far removed from As I Lay Dying. Many would say McGregor's previous works have been literary exercises, but in this case it feels less original, uninspired and fails to touch on the human aspects of his characters - or perhaps the humanity in his subjects is just too deeply buried this time around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Uncomfortable!, 22 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Even the Dogs (Kindle Edition)
If one wants to feel uncomfortable, challenged, annoyed or even frustrated this is the book for you.
Not an easy read, but well worth the effort. The language is clever and an unusual use of syntax makes the need to focus
very important.
A story of people who are lost, those we would sooner forget as they are not deserving of our pity. Those who appear to choose
paths of selfish indulgence,leading to their own destruction. McGregor brings compassion and understanding and at the end of the book one is left feeling ashamed of having judged those, who but for the grace of God could go you or I!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars unremittingly grim, 4 May 2012
By 
markr - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Even the Dogs (Paperback)
How much you would enjoy this really depends on what you want from a novel. If you enjoy literary fiction, constructed almost as much as an art form as a story then this could appeal. The story, about the life and death of an alcoholic and his drug addicted,homeless associates, is delivered in a disjointed, stream of consciousness style, with unfinished sentences, unidentified narrators, verbal tics, and frequent swearing, all of which serve to capture and create the atmosphere of broken lives.

The writing is excellent, and does bring into focus the tragic lives and broken dreams which can lead to decline and life on the street and the consequences of such a life. This is done with empathy, and indeed respect for people as people, even on the very margins of society. It is this empathy for the marginalised and ruined lives of too many who have fallen out of society and cannot find a way back, which is the real strength of this book.

However, it is unremittingly grim throughout - there is not the slightest hint of a happy ending - and many of the scenes are graphic and horrible. I guess that is the point - as a reflection of destroyed lives, only lightened by the drugs which pull the characters down and down, it is excellent,but never enjoyable, reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Even the Dogs
Even the Dogs by Jon McGregor
£4.80
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews