Customer Reviews


172 Reviews
5 star:
 (119)
4 star:
 (40)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


58 of 62 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unputdownable!
Like the previous reviewer I read this long-awaited book in a single sitting, stopping only for a snack in-between. What a book! Every time I read a new instalment in the Ben Hope series and think they couldn't get any better, I have to eat my words when the next one comes out. The Shadow Project is just awesome. All the great Mariani elements are here, with twists and...
Published on 25 Jan. 2010 by Avid Reader

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars An OK Staple adventure from Hope
Ben Hope fills in on bodyguard protection duty and gets involved in Neo-Nazi's where he believes he has spotted his long lost Sister. His search for his Sister brings him into a plot where scientists are being killed as some factions are searching for experiments and technologies developed and hidden by the Nazi's during WWII. The Shadow Project is a staple adventure...
Published 15 months ago by Clive


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

58 of 62 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unputdownable!, 25 Jan. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Like the previous reviewer I read this long-awaited book in a single sitting, stopping only for a snack in-between. What a book! Every time I read a new instalment in the Ben Hope series and think they couldn't get any better, I have to eat my words when the next one comes out. The Shadow Project is just awesome. All the great Mariani elements are here, with twists and turns all over the place, heart stopping action and suspense and in the middle of it all the brilliant Ben Hope who just seems to get deeper and more complex with each story. Not many thrillers manage to combine characters you really care about with a storyline that doesn't let you go. A five-star book if there ever was one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another great book by Mariani, 7 Sept. 2011
By 
Parm (A bookshop near you) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Shadow Project (Ben Hope, Book 5) (Kindle Edition)
Another great Ben Hope book from Scott Mariani, each one i read seems to improve on the last, the plots become more complex, the characters grow and take on more life, the pace of the books is such that the reader is sucked into the book and you literaly lose time, i have been late back from lunch and suprised to find its 2am and had to put the book down as i have work in the morning.
As far as thrillers go, these are a great read, and well reccomended.

(Parm)

Product Description
Only one man can foil a plot set to change the course of history...The latest heart-stopping novel from the rising star of the conspiracy thriller genre.Ex-SAS soldier Ben Hope is enjoying life at Le Val, the facility in Northern France where he trains others in the dangerous art of hostage rescue, until a chance incident forces him to take on the role of bodyguard to the Swiss billionaire Maximilian Steiner.The victim of a recent abduction attempt, Steiner believes that a neo-Nazi terror group are bent on seizing a prized document from his personal collection - one that could support claims that the Holocaust never happened.But what initially seemed like a straightforward VIP protection job is turned upside-down by the appearance of a mystery woman from Ben's past. Could he be right about her, or is he losing his edge?On a quest across Europe, Ben finds himself embroiled in a deadly kidnap intrigue and a sinister project that has lain dormant since 1944. The stakes are global - and this time Ben is also fighting to protect the people closest to him...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another gripping thriller by this popular author., 23 Feb. 2010
By 
E. Heckingbottom "elaineheck143" (U.K.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another book in the series that follows the adventures of ex-SAS soldier Ben Hope, this is a gripping and exciting adventure. It opens with the murders of two scientists and follows rapidly on from there with a range of twists and turns and the action flows at an absorbing pace.

Ben is forced into providing protection for Swiss billionaire, Maximilian Schneider, against whom there has already been one kidnapping attempt. Before long, another attempt is made, and Ben sees something that shocks him to the core - something that takes him back into his past. One of the would-be kidnappers appears to be someone he knows well - someone who was kidnapped many years earlier and thought dead! But what is this person doing in this gang, and why are they trying to kidnap Maximilian Schneider?

Dogged as ever, Ben is determined to get to the bottom of it all and to find out exactly what is going on; however the danger follows him and Ben must fight to protect not just strangers, but those closest to him!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A thriller written purely to entertain, and it does, 8 Dec. 2010
By 
Julia Flyte - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Ben Hope is an ex-SAS hero who now runs courses in personal security. He takes a short assignment to provide protection for Maximilian Steiner, a Swiss billionaire who has been the subject of kidnap attempts. Hope realizes that the kidnappers are trying to get hold of some secret Nazi documents that Steiner possesses. As he starts to investigate, he discovers that there is a plot to resurrect a mysterious technology that was first developed under the Nazis. The group have been targeting and eliminating a select number of scientists who are experts in this technology. Hope also realizes that the stakes are intensely personal for him.

This is an enjoyable, fast moving thriller. It has no literary pretensions: it's just written to entertain, and entertain it does. Yes, the plot is silly, yes the characters are one dimensional, the villains remain shadowy and the storyline is highly derivative. None of these things detracted from my enjoyment of it. It's relentlessly paced, with short chapters designed to keep you reading and it's very hard to put down. I probably won't remember much about it in a month's time, but I thoroughly enjoyed it.

This is the first Scott Mariani book that I have read. I gather that there are others featuring the hero, Ben Hope, but it didn't seem necessary to have read them. It reminded me in several ways of The Day After Tomorrow, which I think is one of the best thrillers in the genre. A perfect airplane read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't start this book unless you have 24 hours to spare, 7 Feb. 2010
This is a terific novel, and based so much on fact and a lot on accumulated knowledge, without giving away the plot suffice it to say the story is fast moving and you will find you just will not be able to put it down. I read it in 3 days - and for a person who takes 2 weeks to read a book, that is some going.

If you wonder about the ozone layer and climate change, then there is so much scope for a follow on book, even though this book is complete in itself.

Chris Barrable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Number 5 down, on to number 6, 9 Feb. 2012
By 
Roger Cave - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Shadow Project (Ben Hope, Book 5) (Kindle Edition)
I've been reading all the Ben Hope novels recently, and although I have enjoyed them, this one stands out.

What's not to love when Hope becomes involved in a Nazi plot.

As usual there are sections of action, twists, turns and some real surprises. Unfotunately, I can't say too much, as those Mariani fans not up to this book are in for a real surprise.

Of course, Hope gets out of more scrapes than any ten men could survive, but that's part of the fun, and keeps the pace rolling along.

I can't recommend this series highly enough, they are real page turners, go and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, 26 Jun. 2011
By 
Mole "Mole" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Shadow Project (Ben Hope, Book 5) (Kindle Edition)
Having read a previous book by Mariani, I thought that this was going to be linked into the same theme of vampires; especially when I read the opening section. However, it is completely different and not in any way related; but it is still a great read.

The plot involves the concept of former Nazi investigation into new technologies which they hoped would give them the edge during the second World War. One particular secret has lain dormant for a long time, but is now the focus of interest for a number of people. The plot deals with these as they slowly come together; and the twists in the plot keeps you guessing.

All in all, a great story, full of pace and action, but also with some intelligent writing. Certainly well worth downloading and the kind of thing that would be useful for reading whilst on holiday.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The past meets the present meets the future, 27 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Shadow Project (Ben Hope, Book 5) (Kindle Edition)
Ben Hope, an ex S.F. officer has a close protection company and during his B.G. work thwarts a kidnap attempt on his billionaire client only to recognise one of the assailants as his long lost sister. Unknown to him, his boss, and his sister are linked in more ways than one to him, and later discovered to be entwined with the secret, and very futuristic, engineering project of an S.S. General from World War 2.

The story has fantastic twists and turns and places an actual General, Obergruppenfuhrer Kammler, from Hitler's regime as a main character throughout. Another can't-put-it-down book....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Action packed as ever, 14 Nov. 2011
I'm hopeing that Scott will write a few more of these, as I've almost finished reading them all. An in depth knowledge of modern arms and fighting skills of SAS type situations. This author has access to some inside knowledge which adds to the authenticity of the story. That being said, I don't really know what an M16 carbine machine gun is...I can sort of picture what it might look like.

Not the type of book where you have to wonder if it's a good investment. You know before the end of the first page that you'll be reading through to the end. Enough said.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not to be missed, 25 Nov. 2011
By 
D. Thomson (Herts, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Shadow Project (Ben Hope, Book 5) (Kindle Edition)
Another gripping story in this magnificent series. The author's creative talent seems to be never ending, introducing aspects of his hero's life and past that the reader would never have imagined. It all makes for a fast moving and enthralling story and further establishes Ben Hope as an action hero alongside Reacher and Rapp. Don't miss it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Shadow Project (Ben Hope, Book 5)
£3.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews