Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Game
I enjoy this style of game and was pleased to find it, plays in C&C style so i have hours of fun coming my way.
Published 16 months ago by Gibgills

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great but also disappointing
I bought this game because I loved the original Dawn Of War and expected more of the same. I should have read the review first because this game is nothing like the original.
First off I don't know how they can call it a RTS game. It isn't. It's far more like a RPG. In the campaign mode, there is no base or unit builing, no strategy or tactics. All you do is move...
Published on 12 April 2011 by NellymanUK


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great but also disappointing, 12 April 2011
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dawn of War II: Game of the Year (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
I bought this game because I loved the original Dawn Of War and expected more of the same. I should have read the review first because this game is nothing like the original.
First off I don't know how they can call it a RTS game. It isn't. It's far more like a RPG. In the campaign mode, there is no base or unit builing, no strategy or tactics. All you do is move across the map killing the enemy. Yes your units have different strengths and how you use them determines your success and you do control your units like a RTS game. But that is the only RTS element there is.
The rest of the game is RPG, you upgrade your units with weapons and armour, you gain point's from missions to enhance their abilities/statistics. You follow a linear mission based storyline than has no variation determined by your mission choices. There is a game for consoles called Space Marine coming out, DOW2 looks like the precursor to that game. They would have been better off giving DOW2 a different name.

Now for some positives. After I got over the dissappointment of the games format, I really enjoyed this game. It is great fun to play. Some missions are easy, some are very tough, the action is generally fast and furious. The graphics are great for the genre.
I was a little dissappointed that the Marines can only be levelled up to 100, which restricts what stat's you can upgrade. This becomes particularly important when you play the sequal 'Chaos Rising' as your marines stats and equipment carry over to Chaos Rising. So you need to think about your upgrades.
Another complaint is that you only play as Space Marines. Although there are Eldar, Orks and Tyranids in the game, there are no campaigns for them.
There is a Skirmish mode in the game, which is more like the original DOW. You build a base and units and capture resources and can play as any of the 4 races. But this mode is so small and limited (you only build a few structures and are limited to fielding only several units at a time) I've only played it a few times then didn't bother again. If I want to play the skirmish format then I get out the original DOW instead.

Finally there is the installation. This is a veritable nightmare. If you already have a Windows Live and a Steam account, then that helps as you'd have to create one during install (like I had to). Even if you do have these accounts it still takes ages to install. Took me well over an hour the first time, due to having to create accounts. Thankfully this Game of the Year edition has all the updates that have been released since the first edition and this shortens the install considerably (the first edition had huge amounts of updates at the time of release).

Overall there are good points and bad points (more bad points unfortunately), but the game itself is hugely fun and worthwhile and I do recommend it especially at this low price. It's a shame thoguh because the game could have been so much more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Game, 5 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dawn of War II: Game of the Year (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
I enjoy this style of game and was pleased to find it, plays in C&C style so i have hours of fun coming my way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great game with brilliant campaign, 11 Nov 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dawn of War II: Game of the Year (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
I was first drawn to this game after playing the original dawn of war series i loved the first dawn of war so Hoped for a similar experience.

the first thing to notice is that although this is a sequel to the first Dawn of war it is different in a few key ways .

firstly the campaign this has been a massive improvement with a much more character based game play, which focuses on leveling up individual teams who can be upgraded with newer weapons, Armour and special ability's. the campaign took me a couple of days on the normal difficulty but this was with skipping the optional bonus missions . each mission can take from about 10 minutes to just under a hour on some of the longer missions. the campaign follows a group of space marines from the blood raven chapter who try to secure a hold in there system against orks and elder and a newly emerging threat which will come to dominate the campaign.over all i loved this campaign and will be looking forward to playing it again on harder difficulty.

apart from having a well made campaign the game also features a multiplayer mode which allows you to play skirmishes with any of the four army's in the game against online or a computer controlled enemy. unlike the first dawn of war were you had to build up a base then pump out hordes of troops, you have one building which is your main and only base (other then a few turrets and special ability) this is where you purchase all your troops through a three stage process of different skill troops from basic to elites to tanks and monsters. troops are expensive and very balanced so making a over powering army unlikely.

one of the new fetures is the last stand game mode which allows you to play as a comander from the orks , spacemarine or elder against wave after wave of enemy forces. with the ability to pla with two friends online this is a fun and enjoyable feture which adds a fun new feture.

Dawn of war 2 also features the ability to build your own color schemes and names for a each of the 4 army's.

My overall review of this game is that it is a great game thought both those who enjoy the games work shop series of games and models but also those who are interested in a different sort of real time strategy game with a fun campaign and a enjoyably multiplayer system as well as the last stand game mode which is a great addition . i would recommend this game to anyone i have really enjoyed it so far and will play it long in to the future.

Just as a last note before buying this game make sure your pc can run the game by checking it meets up to the system Requirements.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good game., 19 April 2011
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dawn of War II: Game of the Year (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
i have really enjoyed this game its a breath of fresh air. in comparison to most real time strategies i really enjoyed the lack of base building. the last stand mode is very fun as well. i would recommend this game to everyone for the price it is. its very worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars War hammer fans will love this, 14 April 2011
By 
B. Jones - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dawn of War II: Game of the Year (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
If you like war hammer then you will adore this game. Everything about the game is like the tabletop minatures have been brought to life. The single player campaign is good and quite long. Multiplayer is very good and addictive. I recommend that you have at least a dual core processor and a relatively decent graphic card to avoid any slow down in the graphics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Game!, 7 Feb 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dawn of War II: Game of the Year (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Bought this game after a few old friends recently discovered 'The Last Stand' which we all still play occasionally. This lead to playing the normal multiplayer and then the singleplayer, all of which are enjoyable. The game suffers slightly from not being able to choose servers/server locations so you frequently arrive in games with players from all over the world, with all over the world pings (ie poor).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dawn of War II, 1 Jan 2011
By 
Barbara Eagle-lindsay (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dawn of War II: Game of the Year (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
purchased for my 15 year old Son for Christmas. He is very happy with the game and enjoys the graphics and finds the game challenging and interesting. He is a gaming kid and has high expectations of games. He has been playing it and has expressed his satisfaction with the game many times. He is also into Warhammer and has the other games connected with Warhammer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good old RTS fun, 3 Aug 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dawn of War II: Game of the Year (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
This game is really good fun, I got it a few day's ago and I'm really enjoying it. I just avenged the captains death last night and I'm really enjoying the story thus far. This game use's steam AND window live, so you can talk to your friend's on either at the same time. And I've have to say the graphic's are very pretty. The type of gamer's who will enjoy this game are RTS Fans in my opinion :D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars They took a great game and gave it breast reduction., 30 July 2010
By 
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dawn of War II: Game of the Year (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Loved the first dawn of war series? Like the challenge of managing an economy? Think just pointing and clicking the grenade icon is silly? Well your gonna hate this. There is little strategy element to it in the single player they give you units and you click on the bad guys, that is an excduration dont get me wrong there are unit abilities and you can upgrade your units on the menu screen with different armour, weapons ect. Similar to diablo II but without a depth. In this they've tried to create a game with the best of both worlds but in my opinion they've runined a series.
Oh and if you dont like Steam. Dont worry its not like thats the only way to play it....... (yes, yes it is.)

On the flip side it does have nice graphics... all I can say really.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars dawn of war 2, 11 Nov 2010
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dawn of War II: Game of the Year (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
The game was fun although to play the game you need to have internet accesses and a Microsoft live account, which was a pain to get started, a good tip is when you make an account make sure u pit in your right DOB I forgot to put in the year and it thinks your 0.1 years old and restrikes acsecs to the game any way good game grate multy play to
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dawn of War II: Game of the Year (PC DVD)
Dawn of War II: Game of the Year (PC DVD) by THQ (Windows Vista / XP)
9.80
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews