Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to use entry level GOTO Telescope
I had the use of one of these telescopes for a week whilst on annual leave last December. I had previously owned a couple of GOTO rigs including the Skywatcher Synscan GOTO and my current IOptron MiniTower so was interested in how this low cost Celestron model would compare.

First off, this is the lowest end 60mm model in the LCM range. Apreture is king with...
Published 23 months ago by Son of Sam

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ) Telescope was very easy to put together
Sooo far, :)

Telescope was very easy to put together, box protected device well. Put together in a little under half an hour.

My Biggest Bug

Slightly annoying it requires 8 AA batteries, "there is no power supply with". The manual is suppose to cover multiple versions of this telescope and yet mentions one power supply rating required...
Published 4 months ago by Martin


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to use entry level GOTO Telescope, 18 Jun. 2013
This review is from: Celestron 22050 LCM 60 Computerised Refractor Telescope (Electronics)
I had the use of one of these telescopes for a week whilst on annual leave last December. I had previously owned a couple of GOTO rigs including the Skywatcher Synscan GOTO and my current IOptron MiniTower so was interested in how this low cost Celestron model would compare.

First off, this is the lowest end 60mm model in the LCM range. Apreture is king with telescopes and a 60mm aperture is only going to show you so much detail both in terms of planetary detail or in it's ability to view deep space objects. Having said that, this is a very well made 60mm scope which has good quality glass and comes with a couple of decent achromat eyepieces (a 25mm widefield and a 9mm high power). These aren't on par with more expensive plossl eyepieces but they are much better than the Huygens types that often come with cheaper telescopes. The views are nice and sharp with chromatic aberation reasonably well controlled. The 9mm gives approximately 80x magnification which is nearing the limit of this scope's comfort zone. The eyepieces are the standard 1.25" size which means that adding additional optical accessories is easy to do. The telescope tube has a focal ratio of f12 which means that it is better on the moon and planets. I was easily able to make out Jupiter's 4 largest moons and even a little surface detail. Very nice views of the lunar surface were also easy to spot plus some of the brighter deep space astronomical objects like the Andromeda Galaxy.

The real item of interest is the GOTO mount however. This has a lot of nice design features and has a couple of improvements over the Skywatcher and the older Celestron Mounts. The mount has a standard dovetail bar clamp and so could be used with a number of different telescope tubes. The clamp's position means that the scope tube is kept away from the mount base which prevents snagging. Another neat feature is the internal battery compartment which means that there is no additional battery pack hanging off of the mount. The tripod itself is very lightweight which is a mixed blessing since it makes the entire rig very portable but vulnerable to cross winds. I found that sticking a rock on the accessory tray cured this and made the whole thing much more stable. This isn't a particularly heavy duty mount though and I don't think that it would suitable for use with anything much bigger than an 80mm refractor scope.

The GOTO is very accurate once the scope is properly aligned. I found the alignment process was straighforward and easier than on the Skywatcher.

At this kind of money, it is very hard to beat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ) Telescope was very easy to put together, 30 Dec. 2014
This review is from: Celestron 22050 LCM 60 Computerised Refractor Telescope (Electronics)
Sooo far, :)

Telescope was very easy to put together, box protected device well. Put together in a little under half an hour.

My Biggest Bug

Slightly annoying it requires 8 AA batteries, "there is no power supply with". The manual is suppose to cover multiple versions of this telescope and yet mentions one power supply rating required. Having looks on the website for Celestron, the manual says 240v AC to 12v DC 7500mA, where as the site says either 5000mA or 2500mA little confusing for any novice. Too much current equals bad news.
There's also options for a cigarette lighter power supply, along with a £70 power battery. Lord knows how long these 8 AA batteries are going to last, you maybe wondering why I concentrate on this and why this would be an issue, well because I got this for its GOTO facility, but if on the move with no power, was hoping could switch to manual control of stand/telescope, with this unfortunately not, it always requires power regardless of location even to use normally. So would have to buy a power supply in order to use without risk of no batteries, £20 approx for one I hope won't fry my telescope.

Next Bug

No computer link up cable either, although there are cd's with, once you manage to buy the cables, you might then be able to utilise and see how useful the GOTO side of thinks could be. A further £20 off ebay if I decide to keep the telescope.

It has 2 lens as already stated, used only the 25mm one.

The alignment process from what I've seen soo far has 3 options, 3 Star Align, 2 Star Align, 1 Star Align.
It states in the manual align red dots up with any star, not very clear on where your suppose to position your head whilest doing this, once this done u then align telescope. You do this 3 times for 3 stars, and walla telescope suppose to be aligned.

Also says you don't need to know any Star when first aligning, because of the red dots and not knowing where to position head when aligning makes it difficult to align in first star let alone 3. So switched to 1 star align, a long list of Stars appears that your suppose to choose from. As it was freezing outside ended up binning off alignment all together and simply picked up telescope and moved round myself to face Moon.
Finally something good to write about, the Moon itself even with the 25mm Lens looked amazing, craters in all their glory.

I am however slightly worried by what I could see of the other stars, I could see stars I couldn't normally see, but whether I'll actually be able to see Jupiter's Rings is another matter.

Here's hoping with it being the first set up of this device, it is down to user error and things will became more apparent as time goes on.
Hope this is helpful to anyone making a choice on which to buy.

Further update,

Ac power supply for this telescope is 50 to 60Hz, 200 to 240v Ac to 12v Dc at 2.5 Amps for any ones information/requirements, eventually found this out.
Also bought USB to RS 232 adaptor for control of.
Will need to download following programs :-

USB Convertor software, this depends on make/model of, run this first, mine set itself to port 16, via the usb. Restart computer once installed.
CFM_1.9.4315 Celestron Firmware manager, this will update your telescope automatically, the other software is now out of date only need to run this one. May need to turn telescope off a few times for program to recognize and auto update.
NexRemote Telescope control software from Celestron website, this allows control on laptop.

Once all this done, speeds up motor allows complete control via laptop, another point you can even rig up a ps3 or equivalent gaming controller to laptop or even mobile phone to control.
in order to control, may need other software for given chosen route of control, app etc.

Will need separate camera if you wish to relay video or view of telescope to tv or laptop.

This telescope will allow all this, eventually realizing the potential
Lens with, do good enough job to begin with, lens can be added to improve later.
Hope this helps anyone, potential to be brilliant via above.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent item, packaging poor, 18 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Celestron 22050 LCM 60 Computerised Refractor Telescope (Electronics)
Very pleased with equipment, not finding red dot spotting scope easy to use and finding alignment process difficult. However first observations of the Moon and Jupiter (including 4 of its moons) were a "wow"! Looking forward to using the computerized alignment and more exploration. Great buy for the price. The packaging however was a bit loose.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Simply does not work., 28 Dec. 2014
This review is from: Celestron 22050 LCM 60 Computerised Refractor Telescope (Electronics)
Simply does not work.
I unboxed this, put it together and could see the moon! Huzzah!..then the problems started. For a start the motor wouldn't stop. It simply wouldn't stop turning left or right, or moving up down. Then the alignment computer wouldn't work. Then the motor packed up again! Then the computer completely packed up and stopped working. After less than TWO HOURS. It is criminal that this company sells this product when it is quite clearly defective. It is completely and utterly worthless. Money not well spent.
Other cons, there is only one city in the whole of yorkshire listed in the computer. It does not enter dates properly, nor latitude or longitude, do not waste your time or money on this worthless product
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars No problems! apart from one, 5 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Celestron 22050 LCM 60 Computerised Refractor Telescope (Electronics)
DELIVERY:
I bought this telescope on the 24 Nov 2013 and it arrived on the 2nd of December after the courier 'loosing' a 5ft telescope
It arrived in quite a large box, the box its self was a little too big for the product its self with very little protection for the item
Some of the Sellotape was not properly stuck onto the box one was even completely off but putting that all behind me, The product itself arrived in one piece
PRODUCT ITSELF:
So assembling the product was pretty easy (For a novice like me)
and was setup and ready to go in about 20 mins it is all working fine, I've managed to see the cloud lines on Jupiter and its moons
The moon and its craters and you can even see the surface detail on Mars.
It weighs about 2-3 Kilos Ish very lightweight for a telescope.
You do not need to align the telescope for you to maneuver it around, use the arrows to do so, alignment is so the telescope can
take you to planets/galaxys with a press of a button therefore not essential (For alignment you need to have at least 3 noticeably bight stars to point the telescope at)

SUMMARY:
Very nice telescope for the price Courier wasn't the best but got here eventually
(Would recommend getting a Barlow lens as this will increase the power of the telescope and the eyepieces that come with it
don't zoom a great deal)

Feel free to ask about the telescope before Spending £170 on it :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Telescope, 28 July 2013
This review is from: Celestron 22050 LCM 60 Computerised Refractor Telescope (Electronics)
Instructions are vague but its a great telescope once its finally on line. Good starter and second telescope . Shame all the batteries needed don't come with it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A gift, 10 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Celestron 22050 LCM 60 Computerised Refractor Telescope (Electronics)
This was a gift for my husband who is very pleased with it but I think it would be too complicated for me to understand so I can't comment on the technicalities! The delivery was made within the stated time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 23 Aug. 2011
This review is from: Celestron 22050 LCM 60 Computerised Refractor Telescope (Electronics)
I havent yet had a chance to use the telescope, however my first impression is very good. As usual the optics tube is of a very high quality. The mount allows me to change switch the tube with other Celestron telescopes (including my 114eq). It comes with a few eye peices.

There are three very small downsides. The tripod isnt great. It does the job, but its a bit cheapy and the locks on the legs arent good enough. HOwever, it does the job just fine. Next, the motors are fairly loud (which might cause a problem for neighbours). But, they are very smooth, and offer a very wide range of speeds (from practically not moving to steady). Finally, the clip that holds the control on, isnt tight enough and falls down the leg.

PLEASE DONT LET THIS AFFECT YOUR PURCHASE. Despite not using it yet, i can tell its a fantastic scope, and to a good quality. theres only a few niggles which if fixed would make it even better. if your quite new (ive been into astronomy for a year), i would recommend, and its very well priced.

I will put an update on when its used.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 13 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Celestron 22050 LCM 60 Computerised Refractor Telescope (Electronics)
had problems,but you sorted it out
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews