Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars King of Comedy
For those who have seen 1 or 2 shows or parts of series, know they like CYE and haven't yet bought the dvds, this is a wonderful product. Luckily, for those who have the individual box sets, there are no extras here, such as the brilliant commentaries on Seinfeld dvds, which would force us to buy this box set. No doubt just a matter of time before the poor fan gets ripped...
Published on 9 Mar. 2010 by Graham Chapman

versus
26 of 34 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars prettay prettay prettay prettay horrible
My great excitement on finding this set of this terrific show for such a bargain quickly turned to great disappointment on finding that the episodes were edited extensively and left out important plot points that left me wondering what is occurring. Even if editing was necessary, cutting stand-alone whines that remained would have been better than leaving the viewer...
Published on 19 Sept. 2011 by Son of David


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars King of Comedy, 9 Mar. 2010
This review is from: Curb Your Enthusiasm Season 1-7 Complete (HBO) [DVD] (DVD)
For those who have seen 1 or 2 shows or parts of series, know they like CYE and haven't yet bought the dvds, this is a wonderful product. Luckily, for those who have the individual box sets, there are no extras here, such as the brilliant commentaries on Seinfeld dvds, which would force us to buy this box set. No doubt just a matter of time before the poor fan gets ripped off again though.

The consistency of this series is terrific. As it was with Seinfeld. When one considers Fawlty Towers ran to the equivalent of only one series of CYE, it is impossible not to admire the sustained energy and expert comedy writing of Larry David. Seinfeld had a team of writers, but this, according to credits, appears to be basically a one-person job.

LD has, though, ensured that he is surrounded by an extremely talented group of actors. Jeff and Cheryl's supporting straight roles, Susie Essman's foul-mouthed riffs, JB Smoove's (Leon) scene-stealing routines, the various celebrity comedians and comic actors (Lewis, Ted Danson) all provide wonderful foils for LD. He is the top banana, but what a support cast!

I thought the basic premise of dysfunctional grumpy old man would soon pale. The first couple of series seemed so intense it was hard to see how the show could keep it going. Yet the character still remains likable and, of course, funny even after 7 series. He has mellowed a bit, which you can see if you move between the episodes in the first 3 series and the last.

I am amazed by how much mileage there is in some of these routines: how many different arguments has Larry got into over restaurant bills, tips, and disagreements with shop assistants? Yet LD always seems to be able to find some new twist on the themes!

There must be a whole tradition of American-Jewish writing to which LD is clearly the king and heir - people like Kauffman, Rifkind, Benny, Allen - lots of others which I don't know or can't remember. But I don't think there's a better show going.

Makes me wonder whether John Cleese or Ricky Gervais shouldn't have carried on a lot longer with their great characters. LD proves it can work.

If you haven't got these dvds, what a present for yourself!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Greatest Comedy Series Ever!, 27 May 2011
By 
C. Ellis - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Curb Your Enthusiasm Season 1-7 Complete (HBO) [DVD] (DVD)
I'm only up to Season 3, Episode 8, but I must say this is probably one of the best purchases I have ever made, and is definitely one of my most valued box sets. This show has a unique style and humor to it, and is hands down probably the best comedy in the history of television. Instead of contrived set-ups or one-liner gags, this show sets up comical situations around real-life things that happen every day, setting things up for a huge pay-off later on in the episode. The plotlines are very layered and complex and every time an episode finishes you're left sitting there with a huge grin on your face, realizing something that had been set up at the very start.

Trying to explain a plot line in full would be like trying to list all the components of a NASA Space Shuttle, but what I can tell you is that some situations involve the awkwardness of breaking a lamp at a guests house after being asked to leave, a crazy nanny who has been psychologically traumatized after enduring 15 years working on a Looney Tunes ride that involved the theme tune playing over and over again, as well as Larry tripping up Shaq during a basketball game.

Each episode is just hilarious and so natural. Take my word for it, this is a must buy, and definitely worth a watch, once you get into it you will be totally hooked and realize how clever and how brilliant this show actually is.

The set comes in seven separate DVD cases each containing 2 DVDs (3 for Season One) which are all packaged inside a hard cardboard case. Simple, but great in design.

Overall rating: 10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The greatest tv comedy of all time, 17 Jan. 2012
This review is from: Curb Your Enthusiasm Season 1-7 Complete (HBO) [DVD] (DVD)
For anyone who has seen a few episodes of Curb, and wonders if the standard remains as high, the answer is YES! God, yes!! After Curb, every other tv comedy just lacks something - Curb is funnier, more original, more daring and more memorable than any other sit-com that I know of. Words like genius and legend are overused these days, but Larry David and this show fully deserve it. I began watching during season 3 (the one where he invests in a new restuarant, along with other celebs, including Michael York), and I couldn't believe how great it was. Not only does it pack an intricate story into each episode, it does so while entertaining the hell out of you! To fully appreciate, you really have to watch each one a couple of times. As for season 3, the final moments to the last episode must rank as one of the greatest scenes in comic history. Seasons 1-7 are included here - season 8 has just finished airing in the States. Don't miss this awesome package!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Utterly brilliant, 11 Dec. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Curb Your Enthusiasm Season 1-7 Complete (HBO) [DVD] (DVD)
Simply put, Larry David is a comedy genius. I saw a couple of clips of CYE on the internet and found those extremely funny, so i thought i'd get myself an early christmas present and buy the box set. Wow, it's just brilliant. The number of times iv'e burst out laughing watching this is unbelievable. How Larry David managed to create this on his own is beyond me. I love this how so much. I'm slightly embarrassed that i haven't actually seen an episode of Seinfeld. I must buy the box set. If it's as brilliant as this then I'm in for a treat. This would be a perfect gift for anyone who enjoys stuff like The Office, or Life's Too Short, or anyone with a sense of humour. Brilliant 10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars converted!, 31 Mar. 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Curb Your Enthusiasm Season 1-7 Complete (HBO) [DVD] (DVD)
I had seen snippets of Curb but never got into it, until the Seinfeld reunion caught my eye in season 7, so I leapt in and bought the box set of all 7 series. WOW, I love it, it takes the first 2 seasons to hit its stride but then they are off, I love the swearing and shouting, the ridiculous situations everything and the Seinfeld show within a show is amazing. There are so many stand-out episodes, and people playing clever warped versions of themselves, but really I love Larry David, he is brilliant, a joy to watch! Not for the faint-hearted, I wouldn't sit down and show it to my mum and its best the kids are tucked up in bed when its on, but a must own dvd box-set!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Curb your enthusiasm, 3 Jan. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Curb Your Enthusiasm Season 1-7 Complete (HBO) [DVD] (DVD)
It's been great to get the box set 1-7 just need series 8 This is such a genius series and it's a shame a lot more people don't know about it. I love his humour all the characters gel well together. I would encourage people to give curb a shot and look out for it .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars American humour, 18 Oct. 2011
By 
P. Girardi (Dunoon Argyll) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Curb Your Enthusiasm Season 1-7 Complete (HBO) [DVD] (DVD)
this comedy is so well crafted and so seamless, but has so many strands woven in,you lie in bed trying to work out how it arrived so cleverly at the denouement,as Larry is ground to the dust again. The cast are all team players, and good friends in real life, it seems, and have that american ease of manner and way with words which makes travelling to the American South such a novelty. Set in sunny California with its open outdoor life style and lovely homes, sure takes one away from rainy, grey, Scotland.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious, 7 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Curb Your Enthusiasm Season 1-7 Complete (HBO) [DVD] (DVD)
Larry David produces, from innocent and innocuous daily faux pas a comedy series which tickles the humorous taste buds with an uncanny ability. From the recurring characters who reliably step up to give their classic performances (Ted Danson a particular favourite of mine) to the bizarre people that Larry meets along the way, you are guaranteed to reach for the remote and select "next episode" long into the night, the title music sets the tone, simple, brilliant and above all, fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Uncurb your enthusiasm, 3 Nov. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Curb Your Enthusiasm Season 1-7 Complete (HBO) [DVD] (DVD)
One of the co-Creators of Seinfeld, Larry David takes some of his life experiences and turns them into sketches. Some of them make you laugh out loud, some have you cringing down into your seat, most of them you can identify with. For anyone who enjoys dry humour, and a dry sense of irony, this is your boxset.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars To good to be true! But it really is!!, 18 Feb. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Curb Your Enthusiasm Season 1-7 Complete (HBO) [DVD] (DVD)
I've decided to buy the box, because each time I saw an episode on TV I found it amazing! I've now seen the first two seasons, and I just loved every single episode (yes, every single one!!!). I have no idea if it will become less brilliant (or maybe even go downhill) in the later seasons, but for the moment it's just perfect! A great buy...

Don't expect too much from the extra's: at this point, only the first episode had a commentary track.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Curb Your Enthusiasm Season 1-7 Complete (HBO) [DVD]
£75.52
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews