Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars38
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£7.22+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 October 2011
Very good value indeed. As far as one can tell this is a complete version of all the Ella recordings of the Gershwin compositions.

The quality is surprisingly good considering the age and variety of conditions that must apply to these old master discs or tapes. Becuase of this, tracks are variable in quality, as one would expect but never bad. The refurbishing has been done well.

Thoroughly recommended to any Ella or Gershwin fan, of which there must be many millions.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2010
This record is unbelievable value for money....it is simply, in a word, superb, What a combination, George and Ira Gershwin, Ella Fitzgerald,and the Nelson Riddle Orchestra, The "Songbook" series of recordings that Ella made have gone down in musical history as some of the greatest interpretations of the modern song ever recorded as this particular one is a gem! a must buy for anyone out there who appreciates the best. Thank you Ella for so many years of wonderful memories. Peter and Phyllis Davey.
0Comment|29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2010
Once again a superb release of Ella's songbook collection,she is in a class of her own, like Frank Sinatra & Peggy Lee she makes songs her own with that wonderful ability that she is singing just for you....The Gershwins stand out as possibly along with Cole Porter the greatest composers of popular music for the 20th Century and Ella made these wonderful tunes her own,she glides, swoops & "Scats" (as only she can)through this wonderfully remastered set of CD's,a must for any lover of Swing come Jazz interpratations of some of the greatest songs ever written,I have all 3 sets and recommend you go buy this now,thanks for the Music Ella you are sorely missed....Sweet Dreams..D.S.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2014
Combine the words and music of George and Ira Gershwin with the
supreme voice of Ella and mix this in with the magical arrangement
of Nelson Riddle, in the words of the song "Who could ask for anything
more!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Recorded in 1959, Ella's Gershwin songbook project was particularly ambitious, comprising 55 songs and two instrumental tracks, which originally occupied five vinyl albums between them . Those instrumental tracks are the first two tracks on CD1 and I don't understand their inclusion, since Ella is not featured. However, there is nothing intrinsically wrong with them and the other 55 tracks are excellent.

Among the more famous songs here, you'll find Nice work if you can get it, 'S wonderful, The man I love, Someone to watch over me, They all laughed, Our love is hear to stay, They can't take that away from me, Fascinating rhythm and I got rhythm. The Grammy-award winning But not for me. Plenty of less famous but also excellent songs illustrate why Ella recorded so many Gershwin songs.

This album has stood the test of time well and remains one of Ella's classics.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This 3 CD slim line set presents 57 of the Gershwin's finest compositions sung by the finest of 20th century interpreters of the popular song, Ella Fitzgerald. Now you have another chance thanks to Not Now to decide whether to purchase these classic recordings with Nelson Riddle that date from 1959 and that were produced by Norman Granz. The original recordings were on the Verve label.

This brand new set from Not Now has a total running time of approx 199 minutes and has 2 additional songs "Somebody Loves Me" & "Cheerful Little Earful" plus great sound quality too. I never tire of hearing the Gershwin songbook and I think it is my favourite of all those recorded by Ella Fitzgerald. The orchestrations are excellent and to have such a definitive set now available because of the public domain laws is something quite special. The liner notes are by Michael Heatley and the compilation was produced by Glenn Gretlund. The whole set looks classy and is a great addition to the other Ella Songbooks they have already released.
0Comment|30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2013
Take George and Ira Gershwin's songs, add Ella Fitzgerald's voice, mix with Nelson Riddle's excellent arrangements, and you have a 5-star product. This collection fills a hole in my collection, and no one sings Gershwin better than Ella at the peak of her form. There are about 60 songs on 3 CDs and not a weak one to be found. Outstanding stereo sound adds the spice to the brew, so sit back, listen and enjoy.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2014
I've already got several of the Songbook series and they are all superb. This Songbook recording includes contains lots of items I'd not heard before but Ella Fitzgerald performs them so well that they're already firm favourites. I'll be looking out for more Songbooks soon.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2011
The American musical is the one authentic artform to have emerged out of America, and, Billie Holiday apart, there is no one who is fit to touch the hem of Ella Fitzgerald's skirt. These are the classics as you would like to hear them, uncontaminated by vocal mannerisms, showing off or stretching and pulling the melodies to show off your originality. Her greatness is unchallenged, and you can listen to these recordings from beginning to end and play them again and still be an enchanted as at first hearing. Age cannot weary her, nor custom stale | Her infinite fidelity.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2013
Wonderful songs, Nelson Riddle's wonderful arrangements and above all Ella's wonderful voice and interpretations. Rightly stand as one of the pinnacles of appreciation of Gershwins' talent.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)