Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 4 great albums from Dinah Washington..., 25 Feb 2010
By 
C. FULLER (Brixham, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Essential (Audio CD)
This new 2 CD compilation from Not Now comprises 4 of Dinah Washington's best albums dating from 1956 to 1959. The albums are The Swingin' Miss "D" which was recorded June 25-6 1956 with Quincy Jones as arranger/conductor for EmArcy Records. This album brought together 2 great talents and the resulting album is a really fast moving collection of 11 songs with the highlight for me being "Perdido" with "Caravan" close by. Next comes, the up tempo Dinah Washington Sings Fats Waller (1957 for EmArcy) with arrangements / conducted by Ernie Wilkins then Dinah Washington Sings Bessie Smith (1958 for EmArcy) with Ernie Wilkins orchestra (arrangements by Robare Edmonson & Ernie Wilkins)a wonderful bluesy album and finishing off with the chart topping What a Diff'rence a Day Makes! which was recorded 19 February 1959-Aug 1959 with Belford Hendricks as arranger/ conductor for Mercury Records. This album was recorded with a small group of musicians Charles Davis - baritone saxophone; Jerome Richardson - flute; Kenny Burrell - guitar; David "Panama" Francis - drums; Milt Hinton - double bass & Joe Zawinul - piano. It was this album that won Dinah the Grammy Award for Best Rhythm & Blues Recording at the Grammy Awards of 1960. It also gave her the hit single "What a Difference a Day Makes". This album comprises ballads and features a vocal chorus and marks a departure from her full on jazz style to a more commercially based production that brought her millions of new fans. The sound is excellent throughout the set and the packaging look classy nicely illustrated and is backed up with informative liner notes by Michael Heatley. The total running time across the 2 CDs is approx 131 minutes.
The bonus of this Not Now 2 CD set is the inclusion of the much rarer and now sought after Songbook albums along with the better known main stream albums on disc 1. As a compilation it is a welcome change and one that will be of great interest to the collector and occasional buyer and will be a "must have" release. Great value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good all round music., 21 Mar 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Essential (Audio CD)
The record takes me back to a time when I listened to this music and whatched the big bands and eara that will never come agagin Iam sorry to say.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The voice for the music, 22 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Essential (Audio CD)
Warm and emotional and relaxing and..well a most enjoyable set of songs beautifully arranged and delivered. Worth every penny and I wish I had discovered this collection years ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another Superb Display By a Great Artist, 16 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Essential (Audio CD)
Not very much more one can say about this lady. For me she is the best, everytime I buy an album of hers' I think there must be a downside to her performance, or there's no way this purchase can live up to the last one I bought.
Guest what! she always surpass my expectation. If like me you like Dinah washington this double CD is just superb with most of her well known classics. A voice like no other, a style so unique,for the price what a bargin!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 14 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Essential (Audio CD)
just gives me chills and lots of thrills to here this smooth ladies voice. Carries me away to another place of real nightclubs, double breasted suits and fedoras.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Greatest, 28 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Essential (Audio CD)
For me I can't get enough of these sounds Billy Holiday Ella Fitzgerald all the jazz Queens so have started with Dinah & shall continue with building my collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great album, 27 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Essential (Audio CD)
love this double album one of her better albums I have brought for a while fantastic must get more ,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars For younger listeners, if you like Amy Winehouse, give this a try., 21 Mar 2014
By 
Mr. R. J. Wyndham (Suffolk, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Essential (Audio CD)
I wasn't that familiar with Dinah's work, but after hearing a track on the radio investigated. I appreciate Lena and Ella etc but found Dinah a bit more edgy. I suspect she was an early influence on Amy. Enjoyed this very much much - and superb value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 9 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Essential (Audio CD)
One of the queens of Jazz and the quality of this CD is first class. Of course it's worth the five star rating...with The fabulous Dinah Washington, you can't go wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 Oct 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Essential (Audio CD)
A great compilation of songs, and a great singer with a beautiful voice. I would strongly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Essential
The Essential by Dinah Washington (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews