Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliantly written
Have so far really enjoyed reading this translation - everything is categorised with detailed background notes for various verses.

Strongly recommended for anyone who wants to learn and understand Islam - and because it's written in modern day English it's readable/understandable by people of all ages.
Published on 27 Jun 2011 by Mr Penguin

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not the best out there
Bought this book after reading many positive reviews about it. However i didnt like the style it was written in, it seems babyish somehow and as a result loses the beauty of the original. No translation is perfect and I know its trying to be in "todays english" but i think there are better ways of doing it eg oxford's abdel haleem The Qur'an (Oxford World's Classics) and...
Published on 4 Dec 2011 by nb


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliantly written, 27 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Have so far really enjoyed reading this translation - everything is categorised with detailed background notes for various verses.

Strongly recommended for anyone who wants to learn and understand Islam - and because it's written in modern day English it's readable/understandable by people of all ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mash'Allah, a beautiful translation!!!, 13 July 2011
This review is from: The Holy Qur'an in Today's English (Kindle Edition)
This translation is the best I have come across as it uses todays English. It is so easy to understand and does not have any classical English (ie Shakespearian) within any part as other versions do.

Excellent footnote with one touch (for reason behind verse/revelation) and also contains Hadith referencing for most footnotes and also has a very detailed introduction into the religion.

Ideal for the curious unbeliever of the religion or the religiously inclined English speaking Muslim.

If you wanna read what millions globally have memorised for over 14 Centuries and see what the verses mean then this is the best version of the translation in the English language out there!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A lively rendering of the Qur'an, 18 July 2014
By 
Christopher J. Napier (Egham, Surrey, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Holy Qur'an in Today's English (Kindle Edition)
I've been reading this English-language version of the meaning of the Qur'an during Ramadan. It's a lively translation, with good, but not excessive, use of colloquialisms - I particularly like it when Emerick uses expressions such as "No way!" to indicate Allah's reproofs and prohibitions. Emerick avoids the archaicisms of some other translations, such as Pickthall and Yusuf Ali (who try to make the Qur'an sound like the King James Version of the Bible). The translation comes with an informative introduction and extensive notes, often explaining the circumstances in which particular verses were revealed or providing additional background information. A useful feature is that chapters are broken up into short passages with the use of informative sub-headings. As with any translator, Emerick has had to make choices in expressing particular arabic words or expressions in English, and he tends to select more "liberal" interpretations in most cases. My favourite translations are still Abdel Haleem for OUP and Khalidi for Penguin, but this version would certainly be a good one to give to young non-Muslims wishing to explore the Qur'an.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not the best out there, 4 Dec 2011
Bought this book after reading many positive reviews about it. However i didnt like the style it was written in, it seems babyish somehow and as a result loses the beauty of the original. No translation is perfect and I know its trying to be in "todays english" but i think there are better ways of doing it eg oxford's abdel haleem The Qur'an (Oxford World's Classics) and even wahiduddin khan(his mistake being saying that Jesus pbuh had his soul taken up which implies he died which is against islamic belief. but for the most part a decent translation)Quran (White Cover). I especially disliked the last footnotes in surah rahman giving a rather vulgar interpretation of heavenly companions, i felt it overstepped the mark by stating his opinion as if it was factual. this was what made me return the book. My advice to anyone wanting to read a translation of the Quran, check it out against other interpretations [...], yusuf ali still my fave.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Would recommend ! :), 30 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 24 Jan 2014
By 
Mr. K. Malik - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very easy read. Will be investing in more copies to give to friends. Everyone should have a copy of this Quran
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Qur'an, 4 May 2013
By 
S. W. Walker "Doormat" (Britain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Holy Qur'an in Today's English (Kindle Edition)
Not fully read, I just like to read all different religion books as I feel it's good to know and understand what others beliefs may be.

Interesting read !!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good quality soft back, 14 April 2013
By 
Y. Khan "Chickpea" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's good. I took a 'look inside' and that helped. My preferred translation is by M. Abdel Haleem, the best in my opinion, but there isn't a large print edition of that, so this is a good alternative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Work in Progress, 15 Jun 2012
This review is from: The Holy Qur'an in Today's English (Kindle Edition)
From the chunk I've read, he seems unsure of what he's translating due to the abnormally high use of parentheses. Either he's adding an interpretation that isn't there or it's a valid paraphrase, but it's difficult to know. It's still better than other English translations, if a bit wooden. I'm still waiting, though...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Holy Qur'an in Today's English
3.17
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews