Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Swim
I only thought I'd review this as I was surprised there had not been any reveiws yet and it deserves one. This is an album of superb, inventive pop music, which seems to carry on where Niobe from his last album Andorra left off. It is catchy but with tons of little sonic surprises that you will catch the more you listen to it. I would struggle to describe it adequately if...
Published on 20 April 2010 by tgreenan

versus
4 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Electronic noodlings...
When does bedroom electronica become so introspective that it becomes irrelevant?
I think this album has the answer.I was disappointed.
Published on 25 Feb. 2011 by The Spyridon


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Swim, 20 April 2010
This review is from: Swim (Audio CD)
I only thought I'd review this as I was surprised there had not been any reveiws yet and it deserves one. This is an album of superb, inventive pop music, which seems to carry on where Niobe from his last album Andorra left off. It is catchy but with tons of little sonic surprises that you will catch the more you listen to it. I would struggle to describe it adequately if I tried, and as such I would simply advise that you look up the songs Leave House, Found Out and Sun. That will give you a fairly good taste of what the album is like, and I predict that you will like it and buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great background music, 10 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Swim (Audio CD)
Bought this cd whilst watching this band as the warm up act for Radiohead. It's really well put together and great album and ideal background cd that has been played so many times already when we are eating on just wanting to chill after a hard days work. Will buy there other albums as well for a bit more variety. Whilst I can't go into detial of which tracks are the best it just works for us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars powerful beats, 2 Nov. 2011
This review is from: Swim (Audio CD)
I must say it was a random purchase, but it turned out to be a really good one. Usually I like to pick things on my own and I don't trust all the selection of products 'I might like' just because someone else is telling me to do so. This time I decided to give it a try. I knew that if something came out from ninjatune label it simply couldn't go wrong! I'm a huge fan of their music, I'm absulotely in love with Fink and Bonobo, for those who know what I'm talking about I must say that Caribou is much more playful, funky, electronic than those guys, less acoustic and melancholic, but still great! The bass line is amazing, it's worth listening on good headphones, when you start discovering some of the hidden sounds. Well composed, postive, electryfying album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Flamin Marvelous, 25 Jan. 2011
By 
Ms. H. Topliss "Dr Morbius" (Burton On Trent, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Swim (Audio CD)
I cannot recommend this enough.

If you love Boards Of Canada - Depeche Mode - I Monster - Aphex Twin - Dubstep... its all of these rolled into one gorgeous album.

All the tracks are long enough to allow you to immerse yourself fully in the music. I first listened to this in my car [after steaming open the parcel] and you know - I never realised how loud my Car Stereo could get!

Best heard loud and in the dark!

Wonderful - buy now or pay later!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Come On In - The Water's Lovely !!, 21 April 2010
By 
The Wolf (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Swim (Audio CD)
Caribou is Canadian composer/musician Daniel Victor Snaith.
'Swim' is his most recent album, having previously released
four other albums under the Caribou and Manitoba banners
since his 2001 debut ('Start Breaking My Heart').

He is a purveyor of gently rhythmic electronic dreams,
although he is also sometimes overtaken momentarily by
the need to create a jolly pop song. 'Bees' on his 2005
album 'The Milk Of Human Kindness' and 'Melody Day' on
'Andorra' (2007) are both fine examples of these lapses.

The nine compositions on 'Swim' create a powerful and
coherent unity whilst retaining plenty of sonic light
and shade to sustain our interest and attention.

Mr Snaith's fragile but friendly falsetto contributes
a distinctive edge to the proceedings. Sometimes bouncing
around happily above and between the dance-friendly beats,
as in opener 'Odessa' (an addictively twitchy number!); or
in others slipping and sliding about like a man negotiating
a passage across thin ice ('Found Out' is an especially
discombobulating - and lovely - example).

The instrumental 'Bowls' is a particularly strong musical idea.
A simple hypnotic pulse is overlaid with rich layers of luminous
synth arpeggios and gamelan-like percussion. The effect is both
exotic and strangely affecting. Canadian temple music at its finest!

'Leave House' combines a jauntily nervous rhythmic and vocal
arrangement with a darker, brooding undertow which generates
considerable emotional tension. We are left uncertain about
the safety of the territory into which Mr Snaith is leading us
and this contrast is the track's greatest strength and arguably
the album's finest moment.

'Lalibella' is a curious miniature. It bursts into bright being
following an almost inaudible introduction, casts its brief spell
and returns from whence it came without as much as a by your leave.

Final track 'Jamelia' features a pleasantly shifty (almost jazzy)
vocal by Luke LaLonde (guitarist and singer with Canadian band
Born Ruffians). He does a good job battling between the waves and
seismic surges which Mr Snaith has conjured from the depths of his
wayward musical imagination. It is a complex and stirring conclusion.

Intelligent electronica of the finest pedigree.

Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars my favorite album ever, 15 Mar. 2015
This review is from: Swim (Audio CD)
I rarely buy albums but Caribou is just an insane artist and this album, I must of listened to it hundreds of times. On the bus, driving, flying you name it. Every song on the album is excellent. If you make one music purchase this year
Let it be this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More Like This Please!, 8 Jun. 2010
By 
Ian Tandy - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Swim (Audio CD)
I have always had a soft spot for electronica dating back to the early 1970's and Tangerine Dream. This is one of the best dance albums I have heard in a very long time. It has a watery theme which lies within the beats and sounds. I cannot describe it better, you just have to listen to it. Composed by a mathmatician it is meticulously recorded. Who says Maths is boring? Ethereal and you cannot resist tapping your foot to the rhythms. What more can you ask for? Seductive vocals too. Lovely!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant for houseparties, 13 Nov. 2010
This review is from: Swim (Audio CD)
The mathematical genius truly stands out in this album. 'odessa' is the stand out track but some serious effort has been put into each of the tracks. Definitely one for some slow burning, rump shaking floor-fillers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars RECOMMENDED, 3 Oct. 2014
This review is from: Swim (Audio CD)
Love this CD. For me this is laid-back lounge electro-pop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sink or swim. Swim every time!, 12 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Swim (Audio CD)
Stunningly good album. A must to listen to and own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Swim
Swim by Caribou (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews