Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dead Man's Walk
Having owned the Lonesome Dove book and DVDs with Robert Duvall and Tommy Lee Jones for quite a while and I loved them so much I really wanted to have the rest of the series. Dead Man's Walk is really great and the two leads are so believable as the young Woodrow and Gus made famous by Duvall and Jones. Stirs all the emotions sometimes funny, sometimes very sad. You can't...
Published on 13 July 2009 by June R from Oz

versus
12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars First prequel to Lonesome Dove
Having taken Woodrow Call to his twilight years in Street's of Laredo, McMurtry wrote the novel on which this is based, charting the early years of Gus McCrae and Woodrow Call. It is set in Texas 1842, with the two as rookie Rangers joining the Santa Fe Expedition. This was a non-fictional and ill-fated expedition to reclaim Texas a few years after the Alamo. Their...
Published on 27 Jun 2008 by Mr. Stephen Kennedy


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars First prequel to Lonesome Dove, 27 Jun 2008
By 
Mr. Stephen Kennedy "skenn1701a" (Doha, Qatar) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dead Man's Walk [1996] [DVD] (DVD)
Having taken Woodrow Call to his twilight years in Street's of Laredo, McMurtry wrote the novel on which this is based, charting the early years of Gus McCrae and Woodrow Call. It is set in Texas 1842, with the two as rookie Rangers joining the Santa Fe Expedition. This was a non-fictional and ill-fated expedition to reclaim Texas a few years after the Alamo. Their journey crosses deserts, involves encounters with Comanches, Apaches and Mexicans, and yet another of McMurtry's selection of whores-with-a-heart-of-gold....
This is a story of grueling survival, against the elements, and fellow man, and as such is well portrayed with a great cast and a few hammy cameos (F Murray Abraham as a pirate turned Colonel? Now THAT's smart casting...). However, with all the well observed secondary characters, the movies weak spot is highlighted - David Arquette and Jonny Lee Miller as Gus and Woodrow are just not appealing enough, or given enough material to work with, to really show how they became the wizened old men of Lonesome Dove. Mannerisms are well copied from their predecessors, particularly Arquette's portrayal of Gus, but little internal evolution of their characters is on display, merely the cumulative effect of the often horrific events surrounding them. It's the other characters which you remember, like Keith Carradine's Bigfoot Wallace, Harry Dean Stanton's Shadrach or especially a pre-Battlestar Galactica Edward James Olmos portrayal of Captain Salazar. So in the end, we have a great period Western, with well written secondary characters, but a lot less soul than earlier outings. This means that as exciting as the events purport to be, there is a feeling that this outing drags a little in places, where the original felt justified in an unhurried pace without ever leaving you bored.
Cinematography is crisp, but not as expansive as the material would suggest, and the music is adequate but misses Basil Poulidouris' original poignant themes from the first series.
The DVD is devoid of extras.
Above average for TV Westerns for sure, but not up to Lonesome Dove standards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A four and a half hour walk seems longer, 25 Jan 2006
By 
Amazon Customer (Glendale, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Back in 1989, U.S. television audiences were treated to LONESOME DOVE, perhaps the best miniseries ever made prior to the more recent BAND OF BROTHERS. I consider LONESOME DOVE the best western ever put on film. DEAD MAN'S WALK, aired several years later, is the prequel. STREETS OF LAREDO, which has also appeared on the small screen, is the final installment. All are screen adaptations of a trilogy of books written by Larry McMurtry.
The purpose of DMW, besides being a story in its own right, is to establish the characters of the young Texas Rangers, Augustus "Gus" McCrae and Woodrow Call, here played by David Arquette and Jonny Lee Miller respectively. DMW is set in 1842, and Texas is still an independent Republic. In LD, set some thirty years later, Gus and Woodrow (Robert Duvall and Tommy Lee Jones respectively), drive a cattle herd from Texas to Montana.
DMW does a credible job molding the personalities of young Gus and Woodrow, whether they're beset by Commanches, Apaches, the Mexican Army, starvation, or imprisonment. Even love, for that matter. The viewer can see in them the men they're to become decades later.
Whereas in LD McCrae and Call are the pre-eminent characters, in DMW the two are overshadowed by a large cast of more colorful personae. There are Shadrach (Harry Dean Stanton) and Bigfoot Walker (Keith Carradine), the grizzled mountain men. Then there's Mattie Roberts (Patricia Childress), the stout-hearted harlot nicknamed "Great Western", who accompanies the Texans' various expeditions into the hostile wilderness and, after a bath and fashion makeover, has a poignant self-revelation. F. Murray Abraham plays Caleb Cobb, a pirate turned soldier-of-fortune, who, with green parrot on his shoulder, plots the capture of Santa Fe from the Mexicans. And Lady Lucinda Carey (Haviland Morris), who, with a pet boa constrictor and a Lady Godiva-type ride, teaches Gus and Woodrow something about the nature of "wildness".
DMW also introduces us to Clara (Jennifer Garner) and Maggie (Gretchen Mol), the former a shopkeeper's daughter, and the latter a working girl with a heart of gold. In LD, Clara (played there by Angelica Huston) is a major force in the film and McCrae's life. Maggie, on the other hand, has been dead several years by then, but her son, Newt, is a character perhaps third behind Gus and Woodrow.
Unfortunately, DMW suffers from the comparison inevitably to be made with LD, and I'm sorry to award only three stars. LD moves along sprightly and is never dull. Its prequel makes the four and a half hour run time seem much longer. The characters expend too much effort literally walking their way into and out of tough spots. Both epics are notable for authentic period costuming and are faithful to the original novels. Unlike LD, on the other hand, the soundtrack of DMW is so nondescript that I didn't even notice it.
If you're a LONESOME DOVE fan, DEAD MAN'S WALK needs to be seen for the sake of completeness. But don't expect the sublime experience provided by the former.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dead Man's Walk, 13 July 2009
This review is from: Dead Man's Walk [1996] [DVD] (DVD)
Having owned the Lonesome Dove book and DVDs with Robert Duvall and Tommy Lee Jones for quite a while and I loved them so much I really wanted to have the rest of the series. Dead Man's Walk is really great and the two leads are so believable as the young Woodrow and Gus made famous by Duvall and Jones. Stirs all the emotions sometimes funny, sometimes very sad. You can't go wrong with this one. I now own all of the series right through to Streets of Laredo, the final.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Lightweight prequel., 19 July 2010
By 
Ernie (Kent) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Dead Man's Walk [1996] [DVD] (DVD)
Dead Man's Walk is a somewhat lightweight prequel to the Lonesome Dove series. It charts a failed expedition in which Gus and Woodrow join the Texas rangers to capture the town of Santa Fe for the republic of Texas. Both Jonny Lee Miller and David Arquette are fairly unremarkable as Gus and Woodrow and the story is decidedly average. If you're a fan of westerns or the Lonesome Dove series it's worth a look, otherwise I would give it a miss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good in parts, 22 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Man's Walk [1996] [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this on the strength of its link with Lonesome Dove. With top quality actors like Brian Dennehy, Edward James Olmos and the brilliant Harry Dean Stanton involved Dead Mans Walk was off to a flying start. Add the western backdrop, Texas Rangers and credible 'native Americans' (should the Apache be native Mexican Americans?) and a storyline full of action and this production should have been a sure fire hit. My problem lies with the two young heroes. Jonny Lee Millar - the sensible, natural fighter - looks as formidable as a chocolate éclair. His only claim to fame was shooting a Comanche struggling towards him waist high in a river and despite trying to look mean didn't strike me as someone to cross the road to avoid. His sidekick, David Arquette, was too dopey to hit the floor if he fell out of bed and a very young Jennifer Garner must have been drunk to think him suitable breeding stock. The supporting characters made this DVD a very watchable production and if two strong characters had been given the lead parts it could well have been a minor classic. Good effort but not top quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 2 Aug 2011
By 
R. Upton (New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Love this movie and I have all the Lonesome Dove DVDs and books. If you haven't read or seen Larry McMurtrys work you should start with this. True 'CLASSIC', they are all given pride of place on my bookshelf. Larry McMurtry is as great as Charles Dickens etc...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Western, 14 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Man's Walk [1996] [DVD] (DVD)
I liked everything about this DVD. The photography, storyline etc. The principle actors were excellent. I was particularly impressed with the way in which the actors who portrayed the young Call, and McRae had similar speech patterns and mannerisms to Tommy Lee Jones and Robert Duvall, who played Call and McRae later in life in the Lonesome Dove series the actor who played the youn Gus McRae was particularly good at this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dead Man's Walk, 11 Sep 2013
By 
P. J. (St.Helens Merseyside UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having read the book by Larry McMurtry I was delighted to be able to see how the video matched the book.

I was not disappointed.

Great film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dead man's walk., 18 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Man's Walk [1996] [DVD] (DVD)
I was saving this film for a rainy day when I could sit down undisturbed and indulge myself. No disappointment here. Arrived on time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dead mans walk, 28 Feb 2013
By 
B. G. Peters (Wirral, Merseyside, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Man's Walk [1996] [DVD] (DVD)
If you love the LONESOME DOVE Series you will certainly enjoy this prequal, it tell the story of the forming of the Texas Rangers and starts to tell the stories of the main characters, the follow up movie COMANCHIE MOON is a must as it ties the whole series together
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Larry Mcmurtry's Dead Man's Walk [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
£2.62
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews