Customer Reviews


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The rare expansion that is better than the original game
Several months have passed since the last surviving Grey Wardens in Ferelden defeated the Blight, ended the Ferelden civil war and restored peace to the lands. The hero of that war has found a new job as commander of Vigil's Keep, from where he (or she) will rule over the province of Amaranthine and try to replenish the ranks of the Grey Wardens. However, when Vigil's...
Published 21 months ago by A. Whitehead

versus
12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars FIGHTING MORE BUGS THAN DARKSPAWN
I recently completed yet another run in the Dragon Age universe and I realized that I had never reviewed the expansion by itself. And it certainly deserves its own review, even if for the wrong reasons.

ONLY THE DARKSPAWN HOLD THE STORY TOGETHER
You can either start with a fresh character or import your hero from DAO (for issues with this, please read on)...
Published on 3 Mar. 2011 by NeuroSplicer


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars No longer buggy, 4 Dec. 2011
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dragon Age Origins: Awakening (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Patch 1.04 seems to have fixed the problems experienced by recent reviewers. I've been playing this game, on Windows 7, for some time and haven't experienced any running problems. The Bioware site has some good advice about how to best to instal the patch, incidentally. As for the game itself, not as good as the original: no romance options, not as witty, and the game appears a bit plodding in comparison. But at this price, you can't go argue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great RPG, 8 Mar. 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dragon Age Origins: Awakening (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
After first having playes DAII I started to play this one. Like with many sequels the first and original one is much better then the second. I like the storyline, the fact that you don't play in one city but in an entire country with maps and everything. Plenty of cinematics. Played also all the extensions and they are great to, I hoped they had made even more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dragon Age Awakening, 26 April 2010
By 
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dragon Age Origins: Awakening (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Let me start this review with a bit of info for those who consider buying this (after enjoying Dragon Age Origins) consider this game to be a bit of filler before Dragon Age 2.

Right, now that's out of the way where do I begin? Awakening doesn't add anything new to the table that Origins had already given us. In fact, suffice it to say, Awakening takes away things that was in Origins. Gone are the romances (I guess your character's heart belongs to either Alistair, Morrigan, Leliana or Zevran at this point), gone are a lot of your favourite characters from the first game, gone is the chance to openly chat with party members whenever/wherever, gone is the incredibly easy method of acquiring runes (we'll get to that later).

To make a long story short what made the first one so great has been taken away for this add-on, how can they fluff-up an add-on so much? While the story is interesting it has a sloppy pay-off at the end. Probably because of the short game-play time (shorter than what Bioware had mentioned - 12hrs). The new characters we get aren't as engaging and I would blame that on, like I said before, the fact you cannot interact with them whenever you want to. In the end we get a wizard who's a bit cocky, a elf wizard who's a bitch (not like the Morrigan way either, more the you-really-want-to-hit-her-with-your-axe way) and then there's the undead warrior (who was pretty cool in the black armour).

Second is the rune system. Unless you have a character who is skilled at making runes you're going to be spending a lot of time, effort and money in making some half-way decent rune for your weapons and armour. I had spent ages - and a lot of gold - going outside with one of the party members who can make runes, make a few runes, run back inside buy components, run outside, make more runes, run back inside and so on and so on... the rune system in this is RUBBISH. I hate every time consuming bit of it!

OK, to sum everything up. This add-on suffers from too many cut back and additional busy-work crafting systems that you feel less involved than before. That being said, while the story is interesting, the characters are alright with some distinguishing features, this add-on can be considered as simple filler. Hopefully, to pass the little time for a more superior sequel in the future. Either that, or, a better add-on that brings back some decent characters, and better interaction with them, and does away with the rune-making system.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars A poor encore, 14 Aug. 2011
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dragon Age Origins: Awakening (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
I loved the Original even with its bugs..

This lacks the care they spent on creating characters and depth of plot. The games offers no real challenge and the characters are over powereed from the start with unendering personality's. i Was bored long before the end, its lacks any of the charm of the origin-al.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Happy Happy, 23 Oct. 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dragon Age Origins: Awakening (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
My husband loves this game and he has all the collection so far. Plays brilliantly and extremely happy with how quick it was sent to us. Just in time for my husbands birthday. GREAT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not as epic as Origins, but decent., 5 July 2010
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dragon Age Origins: Awakening (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
I must admit, after the very epic Origins it was hard for the expansion pack to follow up on that. However, the original plot did leave enough questions unanswered to allow a decent expansion pack story to be told. Unfortunately Awakening pulls a very generic and arbitrary plot out of its arse and your previous decisions make have almost no impact at all.

While the basic Dragon Age formula works again, it lacks the passion and dedication of the Origins game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars epic story never ended, 4 Jun. 2012
By 
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dragon Age Origins: Awakening (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
i play dragon age:origin 3 years ago. this expansion game origin story is continued. graphic, sound and gameplay fantastic. i love dragon age series. absolutely play this game
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Like it!, 6 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dragon Age Origins: Awakening (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Although it's not as good as orignal Origins, it is still a cool little add on and considering it's incredibly cheap definitely worth buying if you ask me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Dragon Age Origins:Awakening, 3 Nov. 2011
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dragon Age Origins: Awakening (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
A Nice Addition to the Game for more skills like Rune Crafting for your weapon's & Gear.For more information go to the Dragon Age Wiki site.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars You will learn what "bug" means!, 24 Mar. 2011
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dragon Age Origins: Awakening (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Origins was piece of art without saying. And Bioware chose to stain its beauty by this "broken" expansion pack. Altought the story is nice again (which is why I didn't give 1 star), your fight with the bugs will easily win over the fun you get from the game.

In every destination, every place you have some bugs. I won't even start counting them but there was one which I cannot pass without mentioning: what is known on the internet and forums as "The Great Silverite Mine Bug". Before moving to the spoiler part, make this if you are playing the game now: save the game before entering Silverite Mine!!!

-SPOILER-

The bug is that your main character never gets his items back when the mission ends! This is the hugest bug I have ever encountered. You take away all party's items away because of the plot but then FORGET to give back the MAIN character's items, which are, there is no need to say but, all elite, hard earned items. I've read some people even dropped the game because of this and some even dropped the entire Dragon Age series meaning they say they won't buy Dragon Age 2. That bug gave new meanings to the word "bug". And after so much time, they still didn't release a patch.

This bug doesn't happen %100. If your character doesn't wake up with common clothing like the other party members, then know that you are facing the bug and you won't get your items back. You can either return to your load and try over and over until you wake up with common clothing or do the thing I have done: go to Vigil's Keep and drop your main character's gear into your box. And wear some expendable gear and then go to the mine. You will ask "why not enter the mine already naked and taking the gear in my back pack?" Well, the reason is this time your complete back pack can be taken from you!

As Dragon Age Origins have rewritten the history of RPG, Awakening too has rewritten the history of game bugs!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dragon Age Origins: Awakening (PC DVD)
Dragon Age Origins: Awakening (PC DVD) by Electronic Arts (Windows Vista / XP)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews