Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dragon Age Spin Off
Dragon Age Awakening is a spin off from Dragon Age Origins that takes your character from the early level 20s to the early level 30s. It is perhaps a quarter of the size of Origins, takes 10 to 20 hours to complete and requires an Origins installation. You get two new specialisations and a few extra lines of abilities per character type. You find weapons ranging from tier...
Published on 26 Mar 2010 by Dan

versus
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars FIGHTING MORE BUGS THAN DARKSPAWN
I recently completed yet another run in the Dragon Age universe and I realized that I had never reviewed the expansion by itself. And it certainly deserves its own review, even if for the wrong reasons.

ONLY THE DARKSPAWN HOLD THE STORY TOGETHER
You can either start with a fresh character or import your hero from DAO (for issues with this, please read on)...
Published on 3 Mar 2011 by NeuroSplicer


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars epic story never ended, 4 Jun 2012
By 
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dragon Age Origins: Awakening (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
i play dragon age:origin 3 years ago. this expansion game origin story is continued. graphic, sound and gameplay fantastic. i love dragon age series. absolutely play this game
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great RPG, 8 Mar 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dragon Age Origins: Awakening (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
After first having playes DAII I started to play this one. Like with many sequels the first and original one is much better then the second. I like the storyline, the fact that you don't play in one city but in an entire country with maps and everything. Plenty of cinematics. Played also all the extensions and they are great to, I hoped they had made even more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars No longer buggy, 4 Dec 2011
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dragon Age Origins: Awakening (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Patch 1.04 seems to have fixed the problems experienced by recent reviewers. I've been playing this game, on Windows 7, for some time and haven't experienced any running problems. The Bioware site has some good advice about how to best to instal the patch, incidentally. As for the game itself, not as good as the original: no romance options, not as witty, and the game appears a bit plodding in comparison. But at this price, you can't go argue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Dragon Age Origins:Awakening, 3 Nov 2011
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dragon Age Origins: Awakening (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
A Nice Addition to the Game for more skills like Rune Crafting for your weapon's & Gear.For more information go to the Dragon Age Wiki site.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars A poor encore, 14 Aug 2011
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dragon Age Origins: Awakening (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
I loved the Original even with its bugs..

This lacks the care they spent on creating characters and depth of plot. The games offers no real challenge and the characters are over powereed from the start with unendering personality's. i Was bored long before the end, its lacks any of the charm of the origin-al.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Awakening? More of a stop-gap., 9 Aug 2011
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dragon Age Origins: Awakening (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
An excellent expansion, but it honestly felt more like a separate game using the DA:O engine, since it didn't really add anything to the original game itself, beyond adding a second campaign into which you could transfer your DA:O characters at any point. With the Dragon Age DCs adding new content directly into the original campaign, I had expected the expansion to do the same, but alas, I was sorely disappointed on this score.

That said, Awakening does add a whole new dimension to the game that wasn't quite there before - making the Darkspawn less faceless and pure evil by adding personality and more of a 'goal' post-Blight was a really excellent move. The gameplay is, as you'd expect for DA:O, terrific, but at the same time, it blends nicely between the epic-level play of a high-level character with battles sufficiently challenging that you won't get bored playing through.

Only other downside? Absence of engaging NPCs in your party - with DA:O, Alistair, Wynne, Leliana, Morrigan, Shale, even 'Dog' all added to the ambience in many beautiful ways. Familiar face Oghren continues to party with you, and Wynne makes a small appearance, as does Alistair, but beyond that, it's practically a brand new game, with few references to the relationships explored so heavily in the original game. The new NPCs felt a little stale in comparison, and I can't help feeling that DAO:A was just something to keep us occupied between DA:O and Dragon Age 2.

Still, well worth the purchase all the same (though I probably wouldn't have said so when it was going to set you back £30), but not quite up to the standards of the original.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not an "origins", but a worthy add-on, 12 July 2011
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dragon Age Origins: Awakening (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Bringing thirtysomething hours if you like to explore and play thoroughly this is a worthy add-on and must buy, if you liked origins.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Happy Happy, 23 Oct 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dragon Age Origins: Awakening (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
My husband loves this game and he has all the collection so far. Plays brilliantly and extremely happy with how quick it was sent to us. Just in time for my husbands birthday. GREAT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Endless Options, 1 July 2010
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dragon Age Origins: Awakening (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
I know some people won't agree but I find that this game (and it's predecessor ofcourse) give endless options in the storyline. I have only played 2 different races because the storylines are so complex I don't have to time to play all.

The other top RP/fantasy games (World of Warcraft) just don't compare, through storyline options anyway. Graphics are great and the game controls are excellent, they are a cross between World of Warcraft & Final Fantasy 12 controls, but a lot more options. The npc interaction is amazing also.

Definately recommend purchasing, wish I could still play it atm, but my computer has the dreaded BSoD (Blue Screen of Death) but i know nothing to do with installing this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars best dungeons and dragons for a beginner, 23 May 2010
By 
Anthony Bawden (GWEEK,CORWALL) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dragon Age Origins: Awakening (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
fantastic ,love the story line ,love the ease of game play .when you are a first timer it is good to have a game that eases you into it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dragon Age Origins: Awakening (PC DVD)
Dragon Age Origins: Awakening (PC DVD) by Electronic Arts (Windows Vista / XP)
£1.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews