Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Prog masterpiece, 13 Feb. 2009
By 
This review is from: The Difference Machine (Audio CD)
Imagine a lineup of Banks, Squire and Bruford with Howe and Hackett sharing lead, playing stuff from around the Yes Album / Nursery Cryme era. Add something approximating to Anderson (but more interesting) with guest spots from Wakeman and Mel Collins in his Camel days (the previous album was even more Camel-ish), then add a hint of Porcupine Tree / Radiohead and that's the sort of sound you can expect from this great album. I picked up on BBT after they appeared on some freebie sampler with a music mag. That one track aroused my interest and I wasn't disappointed when I invested in this recording. Every track is either a huge masterpiece or a short interlude type mini-masterpiece. Also and unusually, it gets better and better as the album progresses. The final two tracks are absolutely magnificent. I has permanent status at position CD1 in my car multi-changer and even my younger daughter (18) thinks it's "lovely" - praise indeed ! If you enjoyed the prog heydays of the 70's but have been a bit disappointed by more recent stuff by those bands or newer bands of that ilk, try this album - you'll not be disappointed. Five stars.
Charlie Bass
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not only new prog by Roberto 16-03-09 Roma -Italia, 16 Mar. 2009
This review is from: The Difference Machine (Audio CD)
With this cd I think that B.B.T. add a different pearl to their musical path.There are always elements of their delicate and traditional prog,but this time, musical solution is more articolate , powerful and the presence of wind-instruments sometime gives a touch of jazz to sound of composition .In the band play also members of Spock's Beard, but is all cd that seems me more mature .Thanks to Mr.Greg Spawton and all performers that play The Difference Machine as a very ,very good prog work!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Guests from Marillion and Spocks Beard add weight to a modern prog masterpiece, 6 April 2008
This review is from: The Difference Machine (Audio CD)
I'd recommend this to anyone who loved 70s prog bands like Gensesis, Yes and Pink Floyd. The sound is retro without being dated, and forgive me for saying is much better than the latest material we have had from the bands of the prog heavy weights appearing as guests.

The album has a set of main songs divided by shorter instrumentals. The songs revolve around a typical prog concept - but don't let that put you off. This is great stuff and works equally well on a personal level. Check out the bands web site for audio samples and some free downloads.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another excellent album again., 19 May 2010
By 
Peter Czislowski (Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Difference Machine (2010 Reissue) (Audio CD)
A different album from BBT. It is my favourite after Underfall Yard. Go to their web site if you want more information on what the "progressive" community had to say about this album. the praise is well deserved. an excellent album on all accounts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars English Prog at it's best, 11 Mar. 2013
By 
M. Wreford-bush (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Difference Machine (2010 Reissue) (Audio CD)
I came across BBT on a sampler cd from Prog magazine(and if your reading this review you should be reading that mag) with a track from The Underfall Yard and having been listening to Prog/Progressive Rock for nigh on 45 years I believe that these guys are the true inheritors of English Progressive music. And I do mean English. No slight meant to music from other parts of the UK but not a Uillean pipe, bodrun or ethereal celtic chant in sight.
I would describe the music as understated and poignant but not miserable. The use of brass and strings brings out an Englishness not present in most other current Prog acts.
Excellent production and musicianship throughout. I cannot recommend this too highly to any lover of good music.
And by the way, buy this from BBT themselves through "new and used from £5" rather than pay Amazons headline price. The service is very good with a turn around of 3-4 daysv, and you are also buying direct from the artists themselves. I have done sp several times with no complaints and quick delivery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 3 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Difference Machine (2010 Reissue) (Audio CD)
Excelent band! Excelent music!
Fantastic sound, Great musicians!
To listen over and over again, allways has something new! Very good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars How did we all miss this???, 9 Feb. 2013
By 
L. D. Sheldon "Siegfried Walsung" (Oxford, Oxfordshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Difference Machine (2010 Reissue) (Audio CD)
I had this theory, that as the music biz had set bands up to fill a niche, that any musician worth their salt, either went Classical (staid / boring) or Jazz (challenging, but with the US locked into retreads of Coltrane, Davis et al, and Europe strangled by the doom and gloom of ECM). So, BBT are one of a number of "underground" prog bands where musicianship is called for. Their sound is like XTC if they had ever chosen to grow up. BBG are pretty smooth, no jarring rhythms or hysterical vocals, just excellent track, one after another. As with all good and lasting music, you have to be prepared to take time to get into it. You can start pretty much anywhere in their catalogue. Really great music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 23 Feb. 2015
By 
Mogens Jensen "snegom" (Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Difference Machine (2010 Reissue) (Audio CD)
cool and quickley
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Difference Machine (2010 Reissue)
The Difference Machine (2010 Reissue) by Big Big Train (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews