Customer Reviews


130 Reviews
5 star:
 (103)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


45 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Compilation of AC/DC Hits
In response to Marc's ridiculous slagging of the music world's greatest rock band, I must point out that this is not an AC/DC album, it is the soundtrack to Iron Man 2. True, it consists only of AC/DC tracks, but this no bad thing. The music is well suited to the fictional character, lifestyle and adventures of Marvel's Tony Stark/Iron Man. As for accusing AC/DC of...
Published on 1 May 2010 by Spin

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Only one track to get excited about...
As others have said, this just rides the gravy train, with the exception of the excellent 'Cold Hearted Man' - not released before by AC/DC in digital format (This track is on the UK 'Powerage' vinyl but was not on the remastered 'Powerage' CD, although there is an enhanced part of the CD which gives access to a streaming version of the song). By the way, if you don't...
Published on 24 April 2010 by El Diablo


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

45 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Compilation of AC/DC Hits, 1 May 2010
This review is from: Iron Man 2 [Deluxe] (Audio CD)
In response to Marc's ridiculous slagging of the music world's greatest rock band, I must point out that this is not an AC/DC album, it is the soundtrack to Iron Man 2. True, it consists only of AC/DC tracks, but this no bad thing. The music is well suited to the fictional character, lifestyle and adventures of Marvel's Tony Stark/Iron Man. As for accusing AC/DC of commercialism, Marc obviously has no idea of who the band are or what they represent in the heavy rock world. Go back to sleep, Marc. And as for the remarks of A. McKenzie, (who unbelievably claims to be an AC/DC fan), that all but two tracks are AC/DC, I can only assume that he/she does not realise that the band had two vocalists and two stages of musical composition in thier career. Either that or he/she is listening to the wrong CD. Some fan, eh? In fact, all negative reviews of this CD have been put forward by those ignorant of the band. So here's the truth:
As for the album itself, it may be seen by some as a "Greatest Hits" album, but in fact the tracks were chosen to fit the screenplay and general mood of the film (For example "war machine", from AC/DC's latest album "Black Ice" was chosen for the character of War Machine, "Highway to Hell", from the album of the same name, was chosen to reflect Stark's descent into alcoholism, etc, etc). The songs on the CD reflect the storyline of the film, not, as some claim, the storyline of the bands career.If AC/DC did in fact release a Greatest Hits CD it would consist of four or five discs, if not their whole album catalogue! But this CD is a perfect disc for both Iron Man fans and anyone new to the genius of Angus and the boys. In fact, even AC/DC fans such as my humble self can enjoy this CD as a quick fix of that rarity called "guitar-based rock". The track listing is representative of both stages in the band's career (although I would have liked to have heard "High Voltage" in the listing, given the nature of Iron Man's power source, and, also, "Big Gun" to reflect War Machine's weapons!Ha!)
The DVD is excellent, providing fans and newcomers alike with a taste of the band live. The included video for the "Iron Man" promo shows a band that, despite their years, can rock harder than any band out there. Their enjoyment of their music is crystal clear and their rapport with their audience is unique. There is no greater rock'n'roll band.
Overall, a little gem of a soundtrack. The music fits the film perfectly (I don't think a rap or pop soundtrack would suit the nature and content of the film!) and, in terms of AC/DC's output, is superior to their previous contribution to Hollywood (i.e the "Maximum Overdrive" soundtrack "Who Made Who?").
This CD will please both the fans of Iron Man and of AC/DC. Suit up and Rock on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great introduction to AC/DC, 19 April 2010
By 
Nick Brett (Wiltshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Iron Man 2 (Audio CD)
As many have said, this is a great introduction to AC/DC for those who have not bought their back catalogue. Long term fans will have already been appeased with the delights of the recently released Black Ice and with luck this might increase sales of that CD too.

It's greatest hits by any other name, branded as the soundtrack to Iron Man II. It's a shame that it was released this way, I would have liked to have seen the band involved in selecting the songs and maybe slinging in the odd extra track. But taking it at face value, the songs are a good selection and will probably contain 80% of the songs any fan would have selected, the remaining 20% being down to personal preferences ( I would have liked to have seen Hells Bells included for instance).

So, if we forget the fact that fans will already have most of these, and forget the commercial aspects and just focus on the product. It is a good selection of songs that reflect just how good AC/DC are and should be recommended listening for those who want to dabble in the loud world of the Aussie rockers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great intro, 29 April 2010
By 
BD "bigdave2020" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Iron Man 2 (Audio CD)
In truth this 'soundtrack' isn't a proper ACDC 'best of' as there are obvious omissions, but if some new fans discover them via this, which maybe generates some future rock and roll heroes then this album is fine by me. Of course the 'purists' amongst us (myself included) would probably prefer that an ACDC 'greatest hits' offering wasn't as a result of a blatant marketing tool to promote a movie, but taken for what it is, and the mutual boost to ACDC this will undoubtedly provide, this album is a great listen for fans old and new.

So ACDC are once again top of the tree. A great 'comeback' album in the form of 'Black Ice', headlining Download this year and at the time of writing, this soundtrack album is number 1 in the British album charts, something which I find myself feeling very proud of. You may ask why, well my answer is that amongst an ever increasing sea of musical mediocrity, tedium and blandness that dominates our airwaves via safe unimaginative radio playlists, ACDC have come along and proved that throughout it all, good strong honest rock and roll will always prevail. We salute you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Iron Man and Metal Muthas, 23 Mar. 2010
By 
Mr. Hugh Harkin "hugh_harkin" (Worldwide) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Iron Man 2 [Deluxe] (Audio CD)
There has never been an AC/DC best of, so this soundtrack is the nearest thing to that. The band have a previous soundtrack, namely for the 'Maximum Overdrive' film. This album will present the band and hard rock music to a whole new audience and in that respect, does not deserve to take a pounding before it has even been released. This 5 star review is intended to balance out the earlier first review posted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


51 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marc, you're nuts, 27 Mar. 2010
By 
R. Girdlestone "Taff" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Iron Man 2 [Deluxe] (Audio CD)
No, the band don't need the cash. And they have just brought us a new studio album and are still working their butts off on a global tour.
Don't you think it might have more to do with the film studio/record company being desperate to milk some cash?
Either way, it's a damn good intro to AC/DC, if you haven't got it all and been around for donkey's years like some of us.
No-one is being forced into buying this.......
I accidentally met Brian, and ended up meeting the band. They are multi-millionaires, but you would never know. They are not just the nicest rock stars I've met, but some of the nicest people too - honest. If you don't own any AC DC, but think you like the odd song you've heard, buy this CD. It'll make you grin, and ultimately late night when your friends come round and the drink flows - you'll be jumpin around the kitchen and striking rock star poses to the best hard rock tunes ever made. What more do ya want? Is Jack Black wrong? No.
Get on and party :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Iron Acca Dacca Man, 11 May 2010
By 
T. Spitzer - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Iron Man 2 [Deluxe] (Audio CD)
I've not seen "Iron Man, or the sequel as yet, but that didn't stop me enjoying this AC/DC inspired soundtrack. What we've got here is an AC/DC greatest hits package, or possibly a best of, which will do very nicely until a proper one comes along at some point in the future (how super bonzo would that be? An A-sides/b-sides CD, talk about throw another dingo on the barbie!). There's a fair mix between the Bon Scott-era, and current incumbent Brian Johnson, and the soundtrack covers the band's career right up to latest album "Black Ice"; 'TNT', 'Thunderstruck', 'Let There Be Rock', 'War Machine', and many more, plus to classic 'Highway To Hell'.
Myself and my son were bouncing away on a trip to the seaside recently to this great album, good for old fans like me, and a great introduction to new fans of AC/DC. As the band say, 'Hell Ain't A Bad Place To Be', Oi! Oi!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome way to get to know the band, 29 May 2010
This review is from: Iron Man 2 [Deluxe] (Audio CD)
I didn't really know much of AC/DC before i got this CD. The only song I sort of knew was Highway to Hell, then while watching the Iron Man 2 trailer, I heard Shoot to Thrill, which I thought was great. But the rest, no clue really...

So I got this CD/DVD set, and it's really awesome. The CD showcases 15 songs from the band, songs from their beginnings all the way to their newest album, so you get a small taste of everything they did. And personally, I thought they all rocked (pun intended), there's some favorites of mine now like Back in Black, Thunderstruck, Razors Edge, War Machine, but to be honest, all 15 really sound great.

The DVD is a real treat too, you get some live clips of several songs on the CD (the clips are not the same versions as the studio sogns on the CD), and a making of the Iron Man 2 Shoot to Thrill trailer. Real cool DVD that shows you what they're made of, really makes me want to see them live some day.

This may not be so much about Iron Man 2, only 2 songs are used in the movie, though Back in Black is also used in the 1st movie, so make that 3 if you want, and 2 others are also used in the trailers. But that's not why you should buy it. The album is really the perfect way to discover what AC/DC is all about. If you are quite new to the band as I was, then I really advise you to get this, say, if you liked any one of their songs you heard in the movie or the trailers for example, then you'll love this. You won't be disappointed, AC/DC rocks hard and are honestly one of my favorite bands now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars take a chance, while you still got the choice, 15 Feb. 2014
By 
gille liath (US of K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Iron Man 2 (Audio CD)
Why isn't there a proper AC/DC Best Of: The Early Years? A band with such single-minded dedication to The Riff that their verdict on Led Zeppelin was 'a bit poofy, mate', they have produced some classics but also a lot of samey mediocrity - they demand to be anthologised. And most of those classics came courtesy of the original singer, Bon Scott; the band never really recovered from his premature death. Not only was he a better singer - not only could he perform with tight jeans and bare chest without appearing entirely ridiculous - but he was a for-real rock'n'roll outlaw (or as the Aussie army put it in chucking him out, 'socially maladjusted'). His lyrics are a Rocker's manifesto: when he sings, 'some run, some fight - but I win, they lose' you know it's not just talk; when he quips 'my Mother hates me', it might just be true. He had issues, clearly, but he was good value.

His replacement, Geordie Brian Johnson, started with the fanfare of Back In Black, but most of his songs don't seem to be about anything particular - though it's hard to tell because you can't understand what he's singing. From him, songs about drinking and shagging are no longer a challenge to The Man - they're just songs about drinking and shagging. And musically, the band edged towards more of a chorus-led soft rock sound.

But for now, this - which include tracks from both eras - will have to do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GLORIOUS COMPILATION, 28 April 2010
By 
HAYLING BOOK & MUSIC VENUE (follow us on Face... (26 Rails Lane Hayling Island) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Iron Man 2 [Deluxe] (Audio CD)
It really doesn't matter whether this is packaged for a soundtrack or as a 'Greatest Hits' album - the bottom line is that it is a thunderous and mighty compilation, showcasing the worlds greatest rockers at their peak. The joy is that songs from the Bon Scott era sit comfortably side by side with the later recordings, offering a delightful career perspective and a wonderful overview of a band, adored the world over. What an intro to anyone new to AC/DC and what a souvenir for those of us who have followed them for decades.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nearly AC/DC's Greatest Hits, 3 Jan. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Iron Man 2 (Audio CD)
This is a good album and features a mix of both the Bon Scott and Brian Johnson era AC/DC hits. There are some excellent, anthemic tunes on here (such as Highway to Hell, Back in Black, Thunderstruck). The only thing lacking are some of the other monster hits by the band: Whole Lotta Rosie, You Shook Me All Night Long, etc. This said, it's a great introduction to the band and the closest we've got to a greatest hits.

The CD is a favourite one for the CD player in the car - it's excellent driving music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Iron Man 2
Iron Man 2 by AC/DC (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews