Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dark, depressing and depraved (yet actually quite good)
It’s fair to say that ‘Unthinkable’ is NOT a ‘feel-good’ movie. The film deals with what many (Americans?) would say is an ‘unthinkable’ situation, where a trusted American citizen who’s been born and bred to love their country, ‘defects’ to ‘the enemy’ and places nuclear devices around the country...
Published 15 months ago by Albatross

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A great scenario that isn't really plausible
A great scenario that isn't really plausible. No one as an individual ( no matter what marginal support) could get that sort of nuclear material to plant three or four bombs. However, as a study of how government authorities would work, and how human nature evolves in that situation no matter what belief you have, then yeah, this is a good movie. There are a great many...
Published 3 months ago by Sean Miller


‹ Previous | 15 6 714 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Brutally Brilliant, 9 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unthinkable (Amazon Instant Video)
Wow - amazingly brutal and brilliant film. As the title says - Unthinkable to do all this in the film. Mega entretainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An intelligent thought-provoking american film?, 2 Mar. 2012
By 
J. Antony "jskd2953" (london UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Yes I'm happy to report that they still make 'em... Get's a little overwrought and melodramatic towards the end but well written, a solid cast giving believable performances and an interesting ethical dilemna...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An uncompromising movie as i have not seen in a while, 26 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unthinkable (Amazon Instant Video)
A thriller of the likes i have not seen in a long time. The quality of a thriller is mainly measured on how it leads one to draw conclusions and/or moral judgments before the entire plot and facts are presented. This one certainly achieves that.
The movie does not relent on the suspense and tension. It does not let the viewer get away with a moral certainty, breathing space or an exit to walk away morally unscathed.
The movie does not waste time on character motivations, heroic stunts, long teary eyed back stories (a short note on one occasion but relevant and well placed) or personal/family emotional scenes to communicate how dire and vital the situation is. It assumes the viewer knows exactly what is at stake, that he/she already has an opinion about the subject and then presents the situation as plain as simple as it could be.
The acting is very solid, the violence and gore is left off screen but so omnipresent it dispenses with the most graphic images.
Watch it with friends and family (adults of course) and you're sure to ask each other: what you would do? And could you do it?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Unbearable but Good, 19 Dec. 2011
By 
Valerie J. (West Yorks, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Unthinkable [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
UNTHINKABLE (2010) is a psychological thriller about a US citizen, Steven Younger (Michael Sheen) who has converted to the Islam faith and sends a video to the government in which he says he has set three nuclear bombs in various places across the USA. Henry Harold Humphries, aka 'H' (Samuel L Jackson) is brought in to interrogate Younger and ascertain the locations of the bombs. But getting the information from Younger by fair means and foul isn't easy, things don't go according to plan, and time is running out.

Samuel L. Jackson plays this kind of role so well and he excels in this. The movie doesn't just focus on the nuclear bombs but on Human Rights and on the methods of torture used to extract information. Personally, I just kept thinking how many thousands would die if nuclear bombs went off.

Younger isn't going to break (fine performance by Sheen) but then they bring his children on the scene and things change. I never saw the end coming.

Gregor Jordan is the director. He also directed Ned Kelly starring Heath Ledger and Orlando Bloom.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Although I liked thr actors in general and although I love Sam ..., 9 July 2015
By 
S. T. Pearson "Achilles'L&M" (York, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unthinkable (Blu-ray)
Although I liked thr actors in general and although I love Sam Jackson, I only considered the movie as average.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars present, 9 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unthinkable [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
partner said great film had him glued to the tv till film had finished quite violent in parts, worth watching
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 20 April 2014
This review is from: Unthinkable (Blu-ray)
Not what I was expecting. Some parts had me on the edge of my seat and some had me hiding behind a cushion. Really recommended if you like a bit of grit and surprise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dark, but enthralling, 6 July 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unthinkable (Amazon Instant Video)
Brilliant film. Keeps you guessing all the way through without too much need for guns and explosions
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 1 Aug. 2014
This review is from: Unthinkable (Amazon Instant Video)
Great acting from Samuel L Jackson, interesting plot and poses a lot of questions. Really recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Very Good Film, 31 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unthinkable [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
A very good film, so good that I bought this copy for a friend who also enjoyed it as much as I did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 15 6 714 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Unthinkable [DVD] [2010]
Unthinkable [DVD] [2010] by Samuel L Jackson (DVD - 2010)
£3.85
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews