Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful compilation of fantastic music - a MUST buy
This set contains the full score written by Rosza for "Ben Hur" including additional takes and music finally not included in the film released. Also contains an excellent booklet with complete recording dates, explanation of the score in parallel with the film and an introduction from Charlton Heston. Also lots of photos inside!

This is Rosza at his best where...
Published on 24 Aug 2010 by Oyarsa

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Do NOT Download MP3 Version
Do NOT download the MP3 version. Amazon just ripped me off. I thought I was going to download the longest version at 88 Tracks and I ended-up getting ripped off with he Mono version with only 14 Tracks and that version was the old version that originally came out on LP when the film was originally released. Amazon have some answering to do.
Published 2 months ago by Darren Fuge


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful compilation of fantastic music - a MUST buy, 24 Aug 2010
By 
Oyarsa (Madrid, ES) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Ben Hur (Audio CD)
This set contains the full score written by Rosza for "Ben Hur" including additional takes and music finally not included in the film released. Also contains an excellent booklet with complete recording dates, explanation of the score in parallel with the film and an introduction from Charlton Heston. Also lots of photos inside!

This is Rosza at his best where just with the music you can feel the increasing tension (e.g. The Galley) or the tenderness (e.g. Love Theme).

If you like films music you won't regret buying this one. It's a MUST!

EDIT jun/2011: Just to let know that the music is directed by Rosza himself since this is a restoration from the original recording sessions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WHAT IS YOUR NAME..FORTY ONE?, 17 Feb 2011
This review is from: Ben Hur (Audio CD)
In my teens I started to collect soundtracks when other kids were collecting The Beatles, The Rolling Stones, and even Jimi Hendrix. By my early twenties I had eighteen soundtracks (all vinyl of course) and one of my proudest possessions was Ben-Hur by Hungarian composer Miklos Roza (1907-1995) a Volume One and Two, purchased separately, I followed that up with El Cid, King Of Kings, Quo Vadis, and Sodom And Gommorrah, I just fell in love with his 'epic' soundtracks, but for me Ben-Hur stood high above the rest.

I recently received this double cd containing every morsel of music contained in the movie, intakes, outakes, alternate takes, you name it - its there from the trumpet introduction (30 secs.), Anno Domini, Overture, Valley of The Lepers. I do not have the album in front of me but I'm sure I counted over 50 tracks.

The album also contains a booklet with some photos which I had never seen before and a written introduction By Charton Heston..Mr. Epic himself. If you are famililar with the movie the compositions range from romantic, excitement, rage and eventually sadness. It would be hard to nominate the best track on this fine album...Parade Of Charioteers, Ramming Speed, Love Theme and Valley Of The Lepers come to mind.
Miklos Roza is considered one of the founding fathers of film music, with 3 Oscars and 16 nominations at last count, not to mention various other awards. It is not hard to see why this fine composer is held in such high esteem. I would rank him No.1 in my top 5 film composers which include Maurice Jarre, Ennio Morricone, John Williams, Lalo Schifrin. So There you have it, the Double cd of the Ben-Hur soundtrack is available at the moment.....come to think of it...it should be made a crime to allow such a great work to languish on the shelves .....Brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ben Hur, 27 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ben Hur (Audio CD)
Probably one of the best if not the greatest music written for a movie which awarded Miklos Rozsa an academy award. The packaging is excellent and the CDs contain all the music written for "Ben Hur" along with the outtakes. It is a must for any music and movie fan.
On the inside there is a book with pictures from behind the scenes with a forward written by Charlton Heston as well as going through the music, piece by piece for full interpretation.
I recently got it with the "Ben Hur" Blu Ray ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ben Hur Soundtrack 2CD, 16 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ben Hur (Audio CD)
One of the greatest soundtracks ever written for what must be one of the greatest and spectacular films ever produced. 50+ years on this film is still entertaining helped greatly by Miklos Rozsa's majestic score.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Miklos Rozsa at his best, 6 Nov 2010
By 
A. Mahmoud "Alpha-II" (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ben Hur (Audio CD)
One of the best soundtracks ever made. The remastering is well done and the package is work of art. If you enjoy this soundtrack, you should try El Cid [2 CD Set] - which is even better in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Do NOT Download MP3 Version, 11 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ben Hur (Audio CD)
Do NOT download the MP3 version. Amazon just ripped me off. I thought I was going to download the longest version at 88 Tracks and I ended-up getting ripped off with he Mono version with only 14 Tracks and that version was the old version that originally came out on LP when the film was originally released. Amazon have some answering to do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Golden Music for All Time - Tobias Churton writes, 15 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ben Hur (Audio CD)
I remember a long quest on my pushbike through the junk shops of old Birmingham in the early 1970s in search of the MGM soundtrack to Ben Hur. In fact, the 'Silver Screen Soundtrack Series' edition I finally obtained from a junk shop was not a true soundtrack, but a recording made in Rome, conducted (the cover said said) by Carlo Savina for union reasons. Great as that and the subsequent volume 2 recording made (in Germany, recorded around the time I was born) undoubtedly were, anyone who has seen the film will recognise that the actual music on the soundtrack has a distinct quality which, in spite of more complex arrangements undertaken by Dr Rozsa for the official releases, was somehow lost in the recording booths of Rome and (I think) Nuremburg where 'Erich Kloss' allegedly conducted the 'Frankenland State symphony Orchestra' (if memory serves). Miklos Rosza gave the movie his very best shot, and that is saying a great deal for Rozsa is the Master of the Art. Nobody this side of heaven could have written a better score and this incredible Sony collection of the original soundtrack recordings (including outtakes), made for the most part in Hollywood, has been lovingly produced by a team who have been touched by genius and admiration to excel themselves in sonic fidelity throughout the 2-disc set. A benchmark in loving care that puts you, the listener, in with the orchestra at those amazing sessions. I cannot recommend this collection, with its marvellous book and built-to-last packaging, enough. I treasure it. I first saw the movie at the Empress, Sutton Coldfield in the summer of 1970. 44 years does seem a day too long to wait! Now let's have the original treatment on the whole score of El Cid!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Why is this a must have?, 14 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ben Hur (Audio CD)
To know how film scores should sound you need the composer to conduct. This CD is exactly what this has.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome soundtrack, 14 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ben Hur (Audio CD)
If you enjoy film soundtracks then this is a must for your collection.
Miklos Rosa is really at his very best when you hear the tracks on this CD.
Play them very loud for best effect!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best, 8 Jan 2014
By 
Desmond Durham "movie hound" (Trinidad, W.I) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ben Hur (Audio CD)
In the long history of movie music I consider this one of the best scores ever written by one of the most illustrious composers, Miklos Roza. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ben Hur
Ben Hur by Miklos Rozsa (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews