Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "...You've Got The Lovin' I Like..."
Like most people I was introduced to Scotland's finest rock band by way of their kick-ass 7" single "Bad Bad Boy" when it first hit the UK airwaves in July 1973 (it capitalized on their 3rd album released in March of that year - the blisteringly good "Razamanaz"). "Loud 'N' Proud" was their follow up LP and like its predecessor, it had plenty of Seventies rock swagger to...
Published on 9 Mar 2010 by Mark Barry

versus
6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best Nazareth album, but still pretty good.
Produced by Deep Purple's Roger Glover and released on the back of thier breakthrough album Razamanaz, Loud 'N' Proud had a lot to live up to. it didn't quite live up to expectations, but taken on it's own merits it is still a very good album.
The album can't quite decide what direction it wanted to take. Go Down Fighting and Free...
Published on 25 Jan 2006 by Paul


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "...You've Got The Lovin' I Like...", 9 Mar 2010
By 
Mark Barry "Mark Barry" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Loud'n'proud (Audio CD)
Like most people I was introduced to Scotland's finest rock band by way of their kick-ass 7" single "Bad Bad Boy" when it first hit the UK airwaves in July 1973 (it capitalized on their 3rd album released in March of that year - the blisteringly good "Razamanaz"). "Loud 'N' Proud" was their follow up LP and like its predecessor, it had plenty of Seventies rock swagger to recommend it.

Here's the details - released in February 2010, this UK CD on Salvo Records SALVOCD033 breaks down as follows (51:09 minutes):

Tracks 1 to 8 are the album "Loud 'N' Proud" released November 1973 in the UK on Mooncrest Records CREST 4 and March 1974 on A&M Records SP-3609 in the USA. As with "Razamanaz", it featured the same band line-up (Dan McCafferty on Lead Vocals, Manny Charlton on Guitars & Vocals, Pete Agnew on Bass & Vocals and Darrell Sweet on Drums & Vocals) with ROGER GLOVER of DEEP PURPLE fame producing the album to great effect.

Tracks 9 to 12 are "Turn On Your Receiver", "Too Bad Too Sad", "Razamanaz" and "Bad Bad Boy" - BBC SESSIONS recorded live-in-the-studio for The BOB HARRIS Show on the UK's Radio 1 - first broadcast 13 August 1973.

Each of these Salvo issues comes in a tri-gatefold card sleeve with the 'Loud, Proud & Remastered' logo on the front cover. When folded out, you get a repro of the original UK LP artwork and live shots from the period (the disc is in the right flap, the booklet in the left). The 16-page colour booklet is superb, liner notes by band expert JOEL McIVER, pictures of rare European picture sleeves, a USA A&M white-label promo of "This Flight Tonight", centred by a black and white snap of the band looking suitably liquored up on the steps of a snazzy jet - all of it very nicely done.

But the really big news for the fans (as it is on the other Salvo CDs) is the fantastic new SOUND. TIM TURAN at Turan Audio has remastered the original tapes and a truly fabulous job has been done - loud, clear, and ballsy - without ever being overbearing.

As a follow-up album, "Loud 'N' Proud" had a lot to live up to - and the general consensus is that it only 'kind-of' delivered. It was a rushed effort. Three of its songs were cover versions - "Teenage Nervous Breakdown" by Little Feat, "This Flight Tonight" by Joni Mitchell (lyrics above and a hit single) and "The Ballad Of Hollis Brown" by Bob Dylan. That left only 5 originals dashed off in only 1 week in the studio. Yet "Turn On Your Receiver" and the funky guitar workout of "Freewheeler" were cracking great rock tracks and still are. The speedy "Not Faking It" is typically catchy rocking Nazareth fare, while the slow "Child In The Sun" stretched the band out across is its bluesy length. Overall - it was good album rather than a great one.

The BBC stuff is fantastic though - rough and rocking, but still 'so' tight - the band were clearly on fire and had truly found their boogie stride. They make for genuinely superb extra tracks.

A great reissue then of a good rock album. And it's cheap too. Recommended.

PS: This is the 3rd title in Salvo's UK reissue of Nazareth's back catalogue - "Nazareth and Exercises" (their first and second albums on 1CD) is their first, "Razamanaz" is their second - each is reviewed separately.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awesome hard rocker from true masters., 16 Feb 2013
By 
Michael Dobey (colorado springs) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Loud'n'proud (Audio CD)
Nazareth made some of the best hard rock /metal of the 1970's. This waa one of their better ones too, it has great songs on it like 'teenage nervous breakdown' which is cover from the late lowell george's "little feat' band. It also has the classic 'go down fighting' , the grinding 'ballad of hollis brown' and other great songs. It is a powerful cd filled with melody and trademark nazareth hooks and vocal stylings. It's like good scotch wiskey too, it just gets better with age!. There are several versions of this on cd with various bonus tracks. I have them aLl!. That's how high I place nazareth as a priority in my hard rock collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deserves more respect than it gets!!, 15 Aug 2011
By 
Mr Blackwell (scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Loud'n'proud (Audio CD)
I must admit i have a soft spot for this album,often ignored when discussing Nazareths best 70's discs,it really is worth reinvestigating,like the other Salvo remasters this has a superb digipak/booklet,to my ears the sound quality is superior to my other copy,the 30th anniversary issue on Eagle,this reissue really scores high with the addition of 4 BBC in session cuts.

The original album got off to a flyer with the superb 'Go Down Fighting','Not Fakin It','Turn On Your Reciever' and a classy cover of 'Teenage Nervous Breakdown,possibly the finest opening to any Nazareth disc,whilst the excellent 'Freewheeler' and hit single 'This Flight Tonight' kept the party going,only the last two tracks 'Child in the Sun' and the strange cover of Dylans '.....Hollis Brown' bringing the pace down.
'
Bonus tracks 4 more BBC sessions from '73, 'Turn On Your Receiver','Too Bad Too Sad','Razamanaz' and 'Bad Bad Boy',all showing how far the band had come,heavier in the flesh than on disc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No faking, 22 Nov 2011
By 
D. J. H. Thorn "davethorn13" (Hull, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Loud'n'proud (Audio CD)
What else do you want from a rock band? None of the five original songs were hits and there are three covers, but this is a blazing album of largely fast, pounding, straight-ahead hard rock. The first four tracks are breathtaking, especially 'Not Faking It', which has more energy than anything else recorded in this genre and era, apart from maybe Status Quo's 'Paper Plane'. 'Turn On Your Receiver' is also a highlight; it suggests how The Beatles, or at least Paul McCartney, might have sounded had they/him gone down the hard rock route.

None of the covers sound much like the originals; 'Teenage Nervous Breakdown' is the closest, but far more manic than Little Feat's version. 'Hollis Brown', which comes from an early Dylan album, is virtually unrecognisable, drenched in fuzz bass and a primeval beat which suggests that Nazareth eventually forgot where the song came from. Nothing needs to be said about the wonderful hit, 'This Flight Tonight'.

'Child In The Sun' is the only slow track. It's OK, but out of keeping with the overall feel of the album. 'Loud 'N' Proud' is an example of what a solid unit can achieve when the members play for each other. This is highlighted by Manny Charlton's occasional soloing: it isn't his best point. With four good BBC session tracks augmenting the album, this is a superb disc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic 70's Rock Album, 3 Dec 2010
This review is from: Loud 'N' Proud (MP3 Download)
This is a classic early 70's rock album by arguably Scotlands foremost rock band of the era. This Flight Tonight is possibly the best known track but other rockers such as Not Fakin' It and Go Down Fightin' make this - the band's 4th album one of their best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good rock will never die, 26 Nov 2010
By 
T. Braddick (Herts, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Loud'n'proud (Audio CD)
I bought Razamanaz when I was a teenager but never got around to buying this album. I spotted an advert in a music magazine and thought it was time to buy it and I'm very glad I did. There are a couple of tracks I'm not so keen on, but tracks like 'This Flight Tonight' are of a very high standard of rock music that would not be out of place in current radio play.

The addition of four bonus tracks from a BBC session (all of which are brilliantly executed) plus crystal clear sound (don't be deterred if your PC doesn't make the samples sound good - the CD sound is excellent) and a great gatefold sleeve with booklet all make this an excellent addition to your rock collection. Manny Charlton is a criminally underated guitarist. Great quality and value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an album that deserves a lot more credit, 27 Aug 2009
By 
S. M. Paskey (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Loud N' Proud (Audio CD)
the best Nazareth by far and a lot more polished and interesting than some of their other LPs, LnP could almost one of the best albums of all time if only they had dropped the overlong dirge of Hollis Brown and instead added 2 more tracks with the quality of the rest of the album that said the remaining tracks are outstanding both lyricly and musicly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 1-2 Punch, 1 May 2009
By 
Nazafan (Edmonton, CAN) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Loud N' Proud (Audio CD)
In the class of Alice Cooper's School's Out & Billion Dollar Babies, and Deep Purple's In Rock & Fireball, few other bands have put together a 1-2 punch the equal of Nazareth's Razamanaz & Loud N Proud! Absolutely recommended! Get this album!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Loud n Proud Nazareth, 15 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Loud 'N' Proud (MP3 Download)
Loud N Proud, Good to Honest Rock n Roll and they don't make it like this anymore more's the shame
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I had this album on vinyl, Still got it in fact! Bonus Tracks on C.D.pretty good too., 20 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Loud'n'proud (Audio CD)
I originally bought the single "This Flight Tonight" when it was first released, I loved every track on the album also.
Now THAT'S Rock, and you can dance to it! For something to slow the tempo down, try the moody "Child In The Sun",
and an exceptional version of Dylan's "The Ballad Of Hollis Brown" is mind-blowing - Play Loud, as the title says it all!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Loud 'N' Proud
Loud 'N' Proud by Nazareth
Buy MP3 Album4.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews