Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars hair of the dog? fur of the beast
Arguably the best album Nazareth ever produced,this is a band on top form,no longer the wee band from Scotland but a genuine superstar stadium rock band,how ironic that Scotland never caught on.

From the start its clear this is another step forward,Manny Charlton's production pulls forth every ounce of energy,the remaster sound quality superb(as was the...
Published on 7 Sep 2011 by Mr Blackwell

versus
2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars False Advertising
I feel like a clown.
First: - packaged well but crooked.
I bought the vinyl and I was deceived.
The ad says it's a limited edition.
It's a lie.
Not have numbering and is not colored.
Again I was fooled by Amazon.
Because Amazon does not have a channel for these communications.
I can not complain.
I am a collector and fan of the...
Published 9 months ago by Edevar Citton


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars hair of the dog? fur of the beast, 7 Sep 2011
By 
Mr Blackwell (scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Hair of the dog (Audio CD)
Arguably the best album Nazareth ever produced,this is a band on top form,no longer the wee band from Scotland but a genuine superstar stadium rock band,how ironic that Scotland never caught on.

From the start its clear this is another step forward,Manny Charlton's production pulls forth every ounce of energy,the remaster sound quality superb(as was the previous reissue on snapper classics from 2008),like that issue this has superb digi pak and booklet plus 4 bonus studio cuts,this new release adds 5 live tracks from 1975.

Opening with the title track this is stadium rock at its finest,cowbell! give me more cowbell!,voice box,stuttering riff,tear out the throat singing,fantastic stuff,followed by the gargantaun Sabbath riff on 'Miss Misery' while Skynyrd would have been proud of the pickin' on 'Guilty' which just leaves the outstanding Zeppelin influenced 'Changin Times'(spot the zep riff).

Side 2 of the original album would have been hard pushed to emulate that foursome but it did,'Beggars Day' is stadium rock at its best whilst the Skynyrd southern pickin can be heard again on 'Whisky Drinkin Woman' before the epic 'Please Dont Judas Me' brought the original album to a close.This is a magnificent slab of rock and in truth doesnt really need any bonus tracks to enhance it but you get themm any way.

bonus tracks: 4 studio cuts including 3 singles(including Love Hurts) and a b'side,all excellent but wouldnt have fit on the original album without reducing the overall heavy rock persona.Also included are 5 live tracks including a superb version od Frank Zappa's 'Road Ladies'

Mnay fans will have you believe that 1979's 'No Mean City' is the bands heaviest,dont believe a word of it,its a fantastic disc in its own right but it aint heavier than this.If you only buy one Nazareth disc,make it this one(although you really need all of their 70's output from '73 thru '79 to appreciate just how great they were back in the day,the equal of most heavy rock bands of the era.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nazareth At There Best, 31 Mar 2008
By 
AJ "Alan" (Joburg, South Africa) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hair of the Dog (Audio CD)
This album in my opinion is the best album from this great rock band.I have 14 Nazareth cds in my collection and while there all great and different Hair Of The Dog was the bench mark album from them.Every track is fantastic and the album rocks along at a tremendous pace.The remastering gives excellent sound quality and has been very well done.you must play this cd loud and just listen it will blow you away.A must buy for any music lover who likes to here good heavy rock being played by a great band.Highly recommend this album;
There is now a newer 2010 remaster on the Salvo label,sound quality is fantastic,digi sleeve,crank up the volume.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars their greatest moment, 8 Aug 2012
By 
Michael Dobey (colorado springs) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hair of the dog (Audio CD)
nazareth was having quite a run of sucess in the uk. They were getting popular in the u.s. but this one really broke them into superstardom which continued in the u.s. and canada etc for another 6 years after this one. This has the classic songs 'hair of the dog' and 'please don't judas me' and the HUGE HIT SINGLE 'love hurts' top five in the u.s , canada and japan. , this is a heavy rocker and fans were delighted to have this band tear it down. This one was a monster hit and the fact that there is only a few reviews shows how far the uk has sunk. after all the uk got this band first and they had a number of hit singles in the uk before this one. But sadly good music was replaced by half played punk then the even worse techno, how sad, how far can a great country sink musically? Oh well at least back then this one was a real biting hit and it deserved to be. There are around five different versions of this one out there with various bonus tracks. I have several versions and all of nazareths studio work up to the newz. So you could say I am a fan of this band. this one is still my favorite of this band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nazareth's best LP..., 11 Dec 2001
This review is from: Hair of the Dog (Audio CD)
A great CD featuring such tracks as Hair of the Dog, Love Hurts, Beggars Day, Miss Misery, Guilty and more. This album broke Naz in the States, and made them one of the big boys. The CD is very heavy for that era - it's not pop rock, AOR or soft rock (categories Naz themselves fell into in the 80's). It is hard rock/heavy metal, loud n proud. Buy this to hear a real band, who still tour and who still rock as hard as ever. I know cos I saw em March 2001 in Glasgow! Enjoy...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best re-masters!, 14 Mar 2012
By 
Neil Parker "peacetaker" (Reading) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hair of the dog (Audio CD)
A great album to start off with, but there are two key things here. This isn't just a simple "pump up the volume" and apply the old Fleischer Principle, they seem to have nearly captured that 'friction-warmth' that you would have found on a vinyl copy.

In addition to this, is the track listing. There are some excellent bonus tracks taken from single cuts & a live BBC session where the re-master seems to have had quite an enormous effect. You suddenly realise what an excellent synchronicity existed in the band as they prove their quality as a live unit. A quality that seems to be rare indeed, in this day and age.

Peter Agnew, you are sorely missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hair of the dog, 21 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hair of the dog (Audio CD)
Hair of the dog, Nazareth...I bought this when I was 20, it's still actual a modern concept of rock, kicking ass even in 2012!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good!, 15 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hair of the dog (Audio CD)
Hair Of The Dog - great sound. Excellent remastered. NAZARETH - it is in this aldum are incomparable. Many thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hair of the dog by Nazareth, 26 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hair of the dog (Audio CD)
i bought the record years ago which had so many happy memories for us now that i have it on cd i can play it anywhere anytime it is the best album of Nazareth Hair of the dog
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hair of the Dog, 1 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hair Of The Dog (MP3 Download)
I bought this to replace my worn out (signed by the band) vinyl album - it rocks. If you like raucous rock from the 70's this does not disappoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This dog will never be put to sleep., 14 Nov 2005
By 
Paul "pikie1977" (Hull, East Yorkshire. England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hair of the Dog (Audio CD)
What can you say about an album that has acchieved perfection? I could trot out the usual cliches about great vocal deliveries and powerful music. I could tell you about songs of such high quality that it makes most similar bands output seem like a Joe Pasquale sing-a-long. I could even salavate about the high production value of this great album. But what would be the point? All you need to know about this album is that it rocks...and it rocks hard!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hair Of The Dog
Hair Of The Dog by Nazareth
Buy MP3 Album£4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews