Customer Reviews


249 Reviews
5 star:
 (141)
4 star:
 (46)
3 star:
 (29)
2 star:
 (13)
1 star:
 (20)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lone Survivor , a lesson to all !
Having read a few books now about our own special forces this is the first time I have read about the US navy seals. I was ready for some overbearing national pride which we associate with our cousins across the pond and to be fair there is some of that here , but in an exceptional story of hardship and bravery you can take nothing away from the dedication of the men in...
Published 24 days ago by Intrados

versus
41 of 46 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Tale of lost heroes (3.5 stars)
Very hard review this, as I am from the UK and my perspective may differ from those of you in the US.

This is the story of Marcus Luttrell, a US SEAL, his training and his insertion with three others into a Taliban infested area of Afghanistan to track an al-Qaeda leader. The mission goes wrong and his team members a killed in a fierce fire-fight and Luttrell...
Published on 7 Feb 2009 by Nick Brett


‹ Previous | 1 225 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

41 of 46 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Tale of lost heroes (3.5 stars), 7 Feb 2009
By 
Nick Brett (Wiltshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Very hard review this, as I am from the UK and my perspective may differ from those of you in the US.

This is the story of Marcus Luttrell, a US SEAL, his training and his insertion with three others into a Taliban infested area of Afghanistan to track an al-Qaeda leader. The mission goes wrong and his team members a killed in a fierce fire-fight and Luttrell only survives because he is given shelter by an Afghan Pashtun tribe who take their oath of hospitality very seriously indeed.

SEALs are elite soldiers and have an astonishing level of ability and patriotism. Generally to the right of the political spectrum, they appear to despise the `liberal lefties' who stop them from doing their job and they see themselves very much as a breed apart. Initially this was a little hard to take, but then when the author guides us through his training, you start to understand where he is coming from, and then astonishing level of brotherhood these guys have for each-other.

This book starts with the author's Texan background and how he was almost `groomed' to become a SEAL, we then go through his training and then the detail of the fateful mission.

Surprisingly emotional as well as action packed as Luttrell's team go down with astonishing bravery and the tragic attempted rescue mission. While the author is MIA, the growing vigil at his family's home, highlights the local and Special Forces community and the deep sense of pride and patriotism they share.

3.5 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointed, 8 Jun 2014
While waiting to see the movie I thought I'd buy the book while on holiday.....Oh dear, where to start.
I do not appreciate being told that all Muslims are bad people or that America or more specifically Texas is where all the toughest, craziest men on the planet are born and bread like wild animals. Who the hell does this guy think he is?!
Then there was so much about how SEAL's don't seek any need to big them selves up followed by how they are all God's amongst men. The first few chapters ruined this potentially great story for me. Too much gung ho BS. He even has the nerve to state that their training is the toughest in the world and that only the British SAS have something that comes close. Seriously man, are you so deluded that you missed the class about integrity and oh yeah what's that thing called again???? Reality!
It doesn't matter how much the action picked up later in the book for me, I got to the stage where I thought this guy was a typical prick and the SEAL's wonder why they have this image.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 28 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Boastful arrogance, 1 Jun 2014
By 
I. Taylor (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The first ¾ of the book is about how the author got into the SEALs. It is all gung-ho, rah-rah, U-S-A-Numbah-One stuff that gets VERY tedious VERY quickly. The author clearly believes he is God's gift to the world and is at great pains to claim that people like him are supermen, with the SEALs being the best-trained, toughest and hardest special forces in the entire universe - since time began. Strange then how they got busted by a 10 year-old goat herd and then wiped out by untrained hill tribesmen within a few hours of the mission! I have absolutely no doubt that the SEALs are great soldiers and elite warriors, but so are 1st SFOD-D, SAS, SBS, Australian SAS, NZ SAS, Sayeret Matkal, Spetsnaz, Kommando Spezialkräfte etc etc etc. Sadly, the author’s main message (and reason for the book) is to repeat ad nauseam just how America is Number 1 and that SEALS are big and strong and unbeatable but that only SEALS can know this because everyone else in the world are oxygen-thieving pansies. It really is that bad. He also engages in some bizarre rant arguing that the rules of war should not apply to people like him and that liberals are the root of all evil and that without them the mighty SEALs would be totally invincible. Luttrell's style is quite alienating and I think he's done the SEALs a great disservice because seriously, people with a brain will laugh at this sort of silliness. I can not imagine for one second any other SF person from any other country other than the USA writing in this style. It is terrible! For a much more humbler account of becoming a SEAL, without all the nauseating arrogance, check out Chad Williams' "SEAL of God". The last bit of Luttrell's book, ironically, shows how the SEALs are, well, normal people capable of making mistakes and are all too human – that’s why they LOST the battle! The “lone survivor” only survived because he was rescued by some Afghans, which kind of makes a mockery of the “I’m the biggest hog on the farm” Texan BS that the author makes as the central theme of the book. Disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lone Survivor , a lesson to all !, 1 Dec 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having read a few books now about our own special forces this is the first time I have read about the US navy seals. I was ready for some overbearing national pride which we associate with our cousins across the pond and to be fair there is some of that here , but in an exceptional story of hardship and bravery you can take nothing away from the dedication of the men in this book ! If there was ever a story of fighting against overwhelming odds and isolation this takes some beating and the fact you must remind yourself this is not a work of fiction leaves you in total admiration of those Navy seals and what they endure not only in training but out in the field. I was completely humbled at the end and my views altered forever. A gripping and emotional journey !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good read, brave men and relatives......God bless, 1 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lone Survivor: The Incredible True Story of Navy SEALs Under Siege (Kindle Edition)
A good read but reminds us the price our freedom comes at served by brave men and relatives. God bless all the men and women of the armed services and to those decent people who keep their caring human morals when others have lost theirs in a war ravaged world
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Waste of life, 15 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great book, even if some of it is contentious. Needed to know about some of the other missions the team took part in so that we could get a feel for how they operated as a unit. Did they take unnecessary risks, was Intel not up to scratch in those early days, did they think the Afghans were incapable of organized fighting, did Seals really think that they were unbeatable and lots more? To most of us, why did they not run like hell (at least to a defendable position) when they had half a chance. Personally, I did not take to the film as watching allied soldiers being slaughtered meant I would only watch it once (never enough for such films).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hooyah!!!, 2 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really Enjoyed This Book, Those Seals Are Some Seriously Tough Guys.

This Is A Must Read, He Is One Very Lucky Man To survive what He Went Through.

The Movie Is Very Good, But Not Quite True To the Real story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Amazing Story !, 1 Sep 2014
By 
Bruce Miller "hyper2u" (Louisville, Kentucky and San Diego, California) - See all my reviews
This is an amazing story and one wonders if the correct decisions were made when the mission was compromised ? Would the ending have been different ? I was surprised that there was a lone survivor, and the circumstances that facilitated his survival were astounding. This was a very good book that tells a story which required telling. How many other stories are there out there that are un told ? There was bravery on the battlefield, but also bravery in writing the book. I wish that the ending could have been different
and that they had all survived !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good read but....., 7 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lone Survivor: The Incredible True Story of Navy SEALs Under Siege (Kindle Edition)
Well I liked the flow of the novel and it is quite informative on the level of mental and physical tenacity that a special forces operative needs to achieve.

However I found the cliched punch lines and the repeated oath to allegiance to greater American patriotism a bit obnoxious and distracting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 50 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lone Survivor by Marcus Luttrell, 18 Dec 2007
By 
Declan Foley "thefightinirish" (thefightinirish) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Having read quite a few of these types of books l was initially dissapointed if only because the writer is always coming out with 'god bless america' and 'liberty and freedom' and 'because i love my country' type comments -and i mean to the point where i nearly had to put the book down... but when the story opens up a bit he lays off that for a while and the book is actually quite a good read -initially he explains what it took for him to first become a seal and then he pretty much goes straight in to the action. Funnily enough the book finishes as it started with comments like ' because i am a united states navy seal' i mean c'mon i think we got that by the end of the book and hilariously it ends with the statement ' god help the enemy and god bless texas!!!! I would say however that he seems to be a nice guy who went through a bad time in those mountains so if you can put up with the 'over american - god bless us type comments - you may actually enjoy the book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 225 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews