Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bad elf test
I am using bad elf along with the navionics app to navigate around the east coast of UK . It is FANTASTIC it has turned my iPad into a chart plotter for a fraction of the cost. What a bargain.
Published on 25 April 2012 by Tracey

versus
20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Function over form
My Bad Elf GPS arrived today and it does what it says in the product description - works with my 3rd gen iPad, TomTom app, and my iPod Touch. Fast lock - about 30 seconds from cold and much less from warm - and good apparent accuracy. Five stars for function. Can't understand why it's so expensive, there are higher spec'd GPS receivers around for much less, so maybe it's...
Published on 11 April 2012 by Bill M


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bad elf test, 25 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bad Elf GPS Receiver for iPad, iPod & iPhone (Electronics)
I am using bad elf along with the navionics app to navigate around the east coast of UK . It is FANTASTIC it has turned my iPad into a chart plotter for a fraction of the cost. What a bargain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Function over form, 11 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bad Elf GPS Receiver for iPad, iPod & iPhone (Electronics)
My Bad Elf GPS arrived today and it does what it says in the product description - works with my 3rd gen iPad, TomTom app, and my iPod Touch. Fast lock - about 30 seconds from cold and much less from warm - and good apparent accuracy. Five stars for function. Can't understand why it's so expensive, there are higher spec'd GPS receivers around for much less, so maybe it's just an artificially high price for Apple compatibility.

... but ...

It couldn't be any cheaper and nastier in build. It rattles, I'm guessing because there's no thought for a simple bit of packing between the board and the plastic case, and the plastic case is as cheap as cheap plastic comes. The break-off points where the pieces have been removed from their mouldings is very visible and feel rough to the touch. The oversized LED sticks out more than 2mm and the fit on the micro-USB port is poor at best. The lanyard attaches by the Apple connector so even if there was a connector cover (which would be welcome) it would have to be designed around a bit of string sticking out of the side. The ugly white printing on the case, with a cartoon logo and FCC and CE markings, is at least on the back and not visible when in use. One star for form.

Apple pays a great deal of care and attention to their product design. Bad Elf might take a page out of Apple's book. If producing an accessory for use with products from a company famed for its design values then maybe make it a bit more attractive and in keeping with those same values.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant company and 1st class service, 18 Jan 2013
By 
Mr. B. Fidge - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bad Elf GPS Receiver for iPad, iPod & iPhone (Electronics)
I bought this device about 9 months ago prior to doing a charity event climbing Snowdon, Scafell Pike and Ben Nevis. It works great, giving far better accuracy than the standard receiver built in to iphone, particularly when you're out in the wilderness. For some reason the device stopped working recently so I got in touch with Bad Elf and theyve been an absolute joy to deal with. I described the problem and emailed a few screenshots of the Bad Elf app on my iphone to demonstrate the issue. I got a very quick response with a few standard things to try like resetting phone and reinstalling the app. When this didnt solve the problem they instructed us to pop the phone in the post and a replacement will be sent out, and all shipping costs (to and from USA) will be covered.

Very friendly and caring service, I highly recommend these guys
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bad Elf for Navionics, 8 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bad Elf GPS Receiver for iPad, iPod & iPhone (Electronics)
For anyone who needs a GPS facility and does not have this on their I-pad etc then this is the perfect solution - just plug it in and go. I used it with Navionics charts when sailing in Turkey and it turns an I-pad into a chart plotter. The provider was Mendolssohn Pilot Supplies through Amazon and their customer servive for the delivery was first rate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 1 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bad Elf GPS Receiver for iPad, iPod & iPhone (Electronics)
What an excellent piece of kit. 14 mins to acquire first GPS LOCK, less than 10 sec every subsequent time. I'm using it through a lightening connector into the ipad mini and they fit perfectly. Works perfectly with TomTom s/ware and several aviation apps. It's so good I am selling my Garmin aviation GPS!! and will fly with Badelf from now on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bad Elf GPS Receiver - for IPOD/IPAD, 5 Sep 2011
This review is from: Bad Elf GPS Receiver for iPad, iPod & iPhone (Electronics)
An excellent product that acquires the satellite very quickly and stays locked on. Being able to charge the IPOD when the GPS is in use is a real bonus
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT PRODUCT, GREAT SERVICE, 2 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bad Elf GPS Receiver for iPad, iPod & iPhone (Electronics)
The seller sent as promised, on time and as described. I have used this for more almost a year since I bought it and this review is a bit late, but a solid piece of hardware, easy to use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent device., 17 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bad Elf GPS Receiver for iPad, iPod & iPhone (Electronics)
Very small and compact , connects quickly and accurately and has turned my non 3g ipad into a GPS device. Uses a lot of power as it stays on all the time so best connected to a car charger.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great bit of kit, 22 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bad Elf GPS Receiver for iPad, iPod & iPhone (Electronics)
Allows me to switch Internet off and use iPhone as GPS device.

Worthwhile product if you don't have built in GPS in your car or want a handheld device.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Elf GPS, 17 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bad Elf GPS Receiver for iPad, iPod & iPhone (Electronics)
Distance accuracy is not as good as I would like. It is small easy to use and works well with my apple touch. Any one who needs a portable GPS would like this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bad Elf GPS Receiver for iPad, iPod & iPhone
Used & New from: 80.13
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews