Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly Entertaining Read
This is a thoroughly entertaining read.

From the first page we get an insight into the way ROG thinks. The honesty throughout is a shining example as to what turns a biography into an autobiography and a story into an enthralling journey.

ROG is gracious in defeat, forthcoming in acknowledging his failures, yet always positive in his outlook, readily...
Published on 15 Aug 2009 by A. Byrne

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Wish I had read sooner
Always had an opinion about ROG, never favourable, so it was good that you get to understand more about the man, the competitor
Published 13 months ago by Gavb


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly Entertaining Read, 15 Aug 2009
By 
A. Byrne "Irish Reviewer" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a thoroughly entertaining read.

From the first page we get an insight into the way ROG thinks. The honesty throughout is a shining example as to what turns a biography into an autobiography and a story into an enthralling journey.

ROG is gracious in defeat, forthcoming in acknowledging his failures, yet always positive in his outlook, readily seeking the next development steps in his game and personal life.

ROG is undoubtedly spirited. However one wonders about the wisdom of his choice of language in describing Sebastien Chabal, the French International. I hope Chabal doesn't read the book !!

Overall, ROG takes us on an excellently paced journey through his key games for Ireland and Munster. He seamlessly weaves between unfolding the developments in the Six Nations, Heineken Cup and Magner's League, easily keeping the reader's attention with an almost suspense-like approach to match description.

Notwithstanding that he admits to occasionally making the mistake of speaking too freely to the Press, ROG values his privacy off the pitch. He expresses an unease at being asked to sign autographs, perhaps indicating the ordinary man behind the extraordinary talent.

The last word on ROG has to be down to the statistics on his achievements that comprise the four appendices. Awesome !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A rare insight into the mind of a modern great, 30 Dec 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Ronan O'Gara is something of a rugby enigma, a player of superb quality who has become synonymous with the Heinekken Cup and yet also the victim of unjust criticism and doomed never to receive the recognition he is due.

This autobiography is a great opportunity for a true rugby fan, whether a Munster or Ireland supporter, a Neutral or a grudging admirer, the book offers a chance to really get an insight into this great players life. I say life, because the work bucks the trend of recent sporting biographies to focus purely on the players career and instead provides a warts and all account of life as a professional player. The work is refreshingly honest and Ronan is quick point out his mistakes and regrets as his is to highlight his greatest moments.

For a career that has spanned so long a period there are dozens of choice moments and periods to read on, from his on-field rivalry with David Humphries, to the Munster saga that underpins his professional career, the World Cup in 2007 and more.

The work only gets 4 stars as I felt it has been written a little prematurely, Ronan still has several playing years left and one would hope plenty more stories to tell, and the suspicion is that with Ronan being so private an individual he won't write them down for a second volume. That aside this is a fantastic read and is a must have for fans of rugby.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ronan's Story, 9 May 2009
By 
A. C. Grant - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this book for my dad to read as he is a massive Gaelic football supporter, but he raved on about it so much that I had to read it myself and I was most impressed with his frankness and honesty and you really felt like you knew more about what made Ronan the person he is today. A very good read, especially for keen gaelic football / rugby followers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a good read, 2 Jan 2010
By 
B. P. Redmond "Bazza" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Ive always admired ROG and was looking forward to this book. its a good read if the style is a little basic. better editing would have helped. In saying that it takes you through the detail of ROGs career in all the detail one would like and holds only a little back.
its worth the money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyed the read, 11 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An interesting book about a man who has obviously made the very most of his talents.
Any young player would learn from reading about the application needed to get to the top in sport.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Honest and simple, 28 Dec 2013
By 
Katie McEnery - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Few tears leaked out just twenty pages in. It is a warm feeling book with no messing around. Simply written and informative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Wish I had read sooner, 23 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ronan O'Gara: My Autobiography (Kindle Edition)
Always had an opinion about ROG, never favourable, so it was good that you get to understand more about the man, the competitor
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Ronan O'Gara: My Autobiography Ronan O'Gara, 22 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As a rugby player in Ireland I thought i would give this book a go. Not a bad read but helped you gain an insight into Ronan's life and helped shape your opinion on him as a player. Decent read but not amazing.7/10 rating
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars xx, 8 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Turned up fast, looks like the picture, could i ask for more from a product that does this no, very happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic read!, 18 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this for my husband who is an avid sports fan (both rugby, soccer and GAA) and he truely enjoyed this refreshingly honest account of Ronan O'Garas life/career so far - an must for any Sports fan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ronan O'Gara: My Autobiography
3.95
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews