Customer Reviews


56 Reviews
5 star:
 (42)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deservedly years ahead of it's time.....
From the cover work to the final musical element, DIAMOND LIFE almost managed to avoid every signature trap of the "oh so cliched" 1980's it was born during. There are signs of wear, but for a 26 year old work, this remains remarkable.
Much misunderstood, still millions came to honour with their purchase, the little known songstress with the strange dusky voice who...
Published on 10 April 2010 by Blackmale

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not Digital Remix Version
Very disappointing service from Amazon. This is the second time I have now returned this CD. Under the product details it is described as Audio CD 13 Nov 2000 i.e. a digital remix. On both occasions I have been sent the original 1984 version. No offence to the original which is good but there's a lot more detail, space and a much bigger soundstage on the remix...
Published 23 months ago by Raymond


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deservedly years ahead of it's time....., 10 April 2010
By 
Blackmale (Newcastle upon Tyne, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diamond Life (Audio CD)
From the cover work to the final musical element, DIAMOND LIFE almost managed to avoid every signature trap of the "oh so cliched" 1980's it was born during. There are signs of wear, but for a 26 year old work, this remains remarkable.
Much misunderstood, still millions came to honour with their purchase, the little known songstress with the strange dusky voice who in a single stroke smashed the ball clean out of the stadium.
Never eclipsed in her own careers - and no that's not a typo - Sade has twisted and turned through the genre, but simply set the bar too high at the first attempt. DIAMOND LIFE will be remembered long after she herself has been forgotten. It was a great album then, it remains so now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous, 28 Aug 2011
This review is from: Diamond Life (Audio CD)
Had this on vinyl in the 80's and forgotten just how good the album is. Fantastic and hasn't dated over the years. Every track brilliant!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Liquid Elegance, 27 Nov 2003
By 
Gary F. Taylor "GFT" (Biloxi, MS USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Diamond Life (Audio CD)
There has never been a singer quite like Sade Adu. Although she is of Nigerian origin, and her voice is clearly that of a woman of color, she is equally influenced by her English upbringing; the resulting combination of African heat and British coolness, particularly when combined with her band's elegant mixture of American and European jazz idioms and African rythmns, is as original today as when it first appeared. Superficially cool and seemingly detached, everything about the band simmers with an underlying passion.
While Adu and her band have done many memorable recordings since they debuted, DIAMOND LIFE remains their single finest recording: it is pure liquid elegance every step of the way. Opening with "Smooth Operator," which makes particularly good use of Stuart Matthewman on sax, the entire collection flows effortlessly from cut to cut--some dark, some slightly dissonate, some slightly upbeat, and every one of them memorable in the most haunting way imaginable.
Like "Smooth Operator," both "Your Love Is King" and "Hang on to Your Love" actually broke into the charts as singles--a truly amazing feat for a jazz-oriented club band in the ultra-synthetic 1980s. But in truth, be it "Cherry Pie," "When Am I Gonna Make A Living," or "Sally," there isn't a bad cut on the entire CD. Everything shimmers with a sultry yet subtle beauty, pulling you into an atmosphere in which you seem to feel the pulse of a midnight lounge, the atmosphere of the club scene fromw which Sade emerged.
As a band, Sade is sexy, cool, smart, delicately shaded, and brilliantly shaped, and the aptly titled DIAMOND LIFE is perhaps one of the best debut recordings made over the past fifty years. Mix yourself a drink, turn the lights down low, drop this on the stereo--and dream of smoke, the clink of cocktail glasses, and the murmur of voices gone suddenly silent when the band begins to play. Strongly recommended.
GFT, Amazon Reviewer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not just for Eighties Dinner Parties, 27 Jan 2005
By 
not_a_real_folkie "not_a_real_folkie" (Farnham, Surrey, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Diamond Life (Audio CD)
Sade suffered from the same lazy pigeon-holing that plagued Dire Straits' "Brothers in Arms" and countless other albums over the years. The cliche was that you put Dire on to demonstrate your new, shiny compact disc player, and you put Sade's "Diamond Life" on to show your dinner-party guests how sophisticated, yet contemporary you were.
Playing this remastered CD just over 20 years on from the album's first release, the quality of the band's playing and the soul in the vocals comes as quite a surprise. None of these tracks are bad. Some are exceptional. "Hang on to your love" ploughs a muscular groove that is marvellously tight. "Smooth Operator" either celebrates or lampoons the yuppie male of the eighties, concluding ultimately ambiguously. "Your love is King" is allegedly about something very intimate, but I couldn't possibly comment... judge for yourself! The other tracks never really let up in terms of sheer class.
The remaster is good in terms of quality, although the original CD certainly wasn't awful. The only minor complaint - and true of so many remastered CDs - why no extra B-side-type tracks, such as the excellent "Spirit" that I remember from the "Smooth Operator" single?
Sade's next album ("Promise") was resolutely uncommercial, and pushed the soulful vibe even further. Meanwhile, however, forget the smoothie dinner-party jibes, this has got more soul than a coachload of today's chart hopefuls.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Timeless...Diamond Life...Loverboy, 20 April 2006
This review is from: Diamond Life (Audio CD)
I have been listening to Sade's music since I was 12, and after 13 years, I still love it. Diamond Life is groovy, nostalgic and this is music you'd want to unwind to and to get in the mood for a slow session. Hits such as Smooth Operator, Hang On To Your Love, Your Love Is King are as timeless as Sade is. There are also some new ones that are growing onto me such as Cherry Pie and Frankie's First Affair. Sally reminds me a bit of Jezebel - not in the beat, but in the story of the song. This album is worth more than 5 stars, but I was a bit disappointed with the product that I received from Amazon because the lyrics were not included - and I felt that the product deserved 4 stars because of this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not Digital Remix Version, 7 Jan 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diamond Life (Audio CD)
Very disappointing service from Amazon. This is the second time I have now returned this CD. Under the product details it is described as Audio CD 13 Nov 2000 i.e. a digital remix. On both occasions I have been sent the original 1984 version. No offence to the original which is good but there's a lot more detail, space and a much bigger soundstage on the remix.

I've now given up because what's the point unless Amazon can convince me that they've sorted out the bin locations in their warehouse!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars got this on vinyl, 31 Mar 2013
By 
A. J. Harknett (london,england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
have this on cd already but was interested to see what a modern 180 gram pressing would sound like so gave it a try. Sound is great on vinyl and dynamics is better than cd very quite noise floor on my copy very happy with this transfer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 28 Nov 2011
This review is from: Diamond Life (Audio CD)
sade's best and will never be topped, a great album , worth every penny, i like to listen when with the wife or alone to help me sleep ............tops !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Diamond Life in Blu-spec format, 13 Sep 2011
This review is from: Diamond Life (Audio CD)
After I had seen Sade perform live last May, I decided that my original Diamond Life CD from the eighties needed an update. I stumbled upon this Blu-spec version that was released in limited quantities in Japan. It claimed to have superior sound quality due to the use of a similar manufacturing process to Blu-ray discs. Furthermore, a Blu-spec CD can be played on all CD players.

Since I don't own the remastered version of the album as released in 2000, I can only compare it to my eighties CD and I have to say the sound on this Blu-spec release is much better and far more detailed. Something that I have always found very annoying about the eighties CD is that the opening track (Smooth Operator) clearly has a lower volume than the rest of the tracks. There are no such flaws on this Blu-spec CD.

The only downside is that this Blu-spec version is not easy to obtain and mostly for a high price (I paid about 80 dollars for a new, sealed copy). Either way, I don't mind paying for quality and I am very happy with this purchase. The only thing that would have made this CD even more perfect is the inclusion of some bonus tracks. There are several tracks that were recorded and released in conjunction with the album, such as Should I Love You, Spirit and the alternate 12-inch version of Smooth Operator that segues into the instrumental track Red Eye. All of these tracks can easily hold their own among the nine tracks on the original album but still they have yet to appear on a re-release of this classic album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wow blu spec sound quality is incredible, 20 Nov 2010
By 
John Hannant "trev-manu" (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Diamond Life (Audio CD)
classic sade album given the blu spec treatment your in for a very pleaseant surprise .if blu ray films does it for you over standard dvd then this is an audiofiles dream.if you already own the original or any remaster they might have done please dont let that put you off buying this blu spec in short buy this and sell off the old copys we have hit a different league i was a bit cautious after hearing some bad digital remasters from other various artists but this blu spec is the one dont just take my word for it go ahead and treat yourself enjoy sade in your living room whenever you please got to go can here her calling thanks for reading just buy it and look for other titles there is some bob dylan and other artists out there too on blu spec happy listening
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Diamond Life
Diamond Life by Sade
Buy MP3 Album£3.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews