Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Sanity
Whilst living abroad in Saudi Arabia I found that this cd kept me sane. I was a long way from home,the beautiful Isle of Arran,and very very homesick and lonely. Just listening to this cd got my heart pounding and my feet tapping...well, thumping really. The chap in the flat below us complained about the thumping, I blamed it on my son who was learning to walk with a...
Published on 20 Feb 2003 by Sylvia Mills

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Corries
not really able to review this as it was purchased as part of a Christmas gift which I know has not yet been opened. However the gift is for a fan of the Corries, so I am pretty sure it will be well liked
Published 7 months ago by Mrs. P. Mackenzie


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Sanity, 20 Feb 2003
Whilst living abroad in Saudi Arabia I found that this cd kept me sane. I was a long way from home,the beautiful Isle of Arran,and very very homesick and lonely. Just listening to this cd got my heart pounding and my feet tapping...well, thumping really. The chap in the flat below us complained about the thumping, I blamed it on my son who was learning to walk with a walker and bumping into things. Out of the 4 cds I had this was by far the best, from Dumbartons Drums to my favourite Ettrick Lady,not forgetting the humourous ones The Bricklayers Song which is actually going around the UK through Emails.My sister phoned me up to tell me this story, I told her I had the record. My thanks to the late Roy Williamson and also to Ronnie Browne for keeping a Scots lass...A Flower from Scotland...well more of a weed really..but a SANE ONE
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Flower of Scottish Folk, 10 Mar 2010
By 
Andrew Page (Linslade, Great Britain) - See all my reviews
This is a definitive collection of Scottish folk classics. There are three main types of song here: traditional folk, humorous songs and Jacobite anthems. There are both original songs and classic interpretations. Interestingly, Roy Williamson wrote the unofficial Scottish national anthem featured here, Flower of Scotland. He will undoubtedly live forever thanks to that.

Other highlights include Turn Ye Tae Me, a traditional adaptation from the Gaelic written by John Wilson (1785-1854). It is an absolutely beautiful and haunting love song played with such pure depth of feeling here. There is certainly something classic about it.

My personal favourite is Dark Lochnagar. The melody is a very uplifting and toe-tapping one. The best thing about this song are the fantastic lyrics, adapted from the original of Lord Byron. They evoke a wonderful, nostalgic and epic image of the highlands where he spent his early years. There also seems to be an extra stanza tacked on the end, I presume written by the Corries, espousing Jacobite sympathies, not necessary, but not entirely out of place.

There are several Jacobite anthems on this album. Although I probably would've found myself on the opposite lines from Bonnie Prince Charlie, they evoke the same kind of timeless Romantic feelings as a novel of Scott. As far as the Jacobite songs go, and as much as the finest of human sentiments are celebrated in them, it's worth remembering a line from another of the Corries' anthems, Scotland Will Flourish:

Forget the old battles,
Those days are over.
Hatred corrupts
And friendship refines.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great easy listening Folk music, 5 Mar 2012
By 
Mr. T. S. Stewart (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Compact Collection (MP3 Download)
Having listened to them for years and still have their vynil records after my family took my cd's with them It was very easy for me to replace them usinng mp3 download. They were a multi talented duo who knew how to please their audience. A must buy for the best of scottish folk music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Corries Compact Collection, 26 Nov 2012
By 
L. K. Fraser (Aberdeen Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This cd is a must for all Corries fans, it's great.....i am upgrading my Corries collection from cassette to cd, and i would definitely recommend this one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars corries, 27 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Compact Collection (Audio CD)
what can i say they were great entertainers and good singers into the bargain. i saw them first in the seventies and am still enjoying their songs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars the corries., 22 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Compact Collection (Audio CD)
I purchased this for a friend as a birthday present and going by his comments of the c.d.i rate it 4 star.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Corries, 23 Dec 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Compact Collection (Audio CD)
not really able to review this as it was purchased as part of a Christmas gift which I know has not yet been opened. However the gift is for a fan of the Corries, so I am pretty sure it will be well liked
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Corries cd, 2 July 2013
By 
Myra Pollock (nr Glasgow Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Compact Collection (Audio CD)
Love it, love it, love it!! Loads of classics and great live tracks They are such fun to listen to especially the three funny tracks on this cd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Okay product but not wonderful., 18 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Compact Collection (Audio CD)
Again, this was a present for my husband (that guy gets a lot of stuff!) and he was a it doubtful about it. He loves the group but said he didn't like this version because it seemed to be a live version and didnt sound as good as other versions he has heard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Scottish Gold, 26 Oct 2012
By 
Mrs Clare Whittam (Good olde Englande) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Compact Collection (Audio CD)
I bought the tape version many years ago when taking my (then) young daughters on holiday to Scotland. We played it,as we drove up and down the glens, singing heartily and laughing merrily ( Bucket song and Sunday Driver were firm comic favourites) On future Scottish holidays, we could play songs pertinent to where we were....going over the border (a magical moment) meant Flower of Scotland..signs near Glasgow meant Dumbarton Drums.....then Glencoe and its tragic snow...tape alas got lost in a house move..I was THRILLED when I finally found the same line up of songs, same picture on this CD version having tried many times to find the tape again on the Net. And so, thanks to the wonderful Amazon Prime promise, I ordered it earlier this evening and it will come tomorrow, just in time for my youngest daughter and her fiancé to use on their brave October Scottish road trip. Excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Compact Collection
The Compact Collection by The Corries
Buy MP3 Album5.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews