Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Best.Game.Series.Ever.
Wow. Where to start? This game has a rich storey line, memorable characters and great game play.

You customise the main characters appearance (even down to the gender) which is a feature more games should have as it helps make them more immersive.

All of your decisions and your actual character carry through to Mass a Effect 2 and 3 which is a great...
Published 16 months ago by Dean

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Average start but a good step
while not as good as ME2 its a good point which to start the whole thing, the storyline is good but quite short, the character customization is limited in choices especially when it comes to making a female character. the graphics are pretty much upto specs with the other mass effect titles because it uses the same engine but music is a bit 80's and early 90's in style...
Published on 15 Feb. 2013 by Jason Prudhoe


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Average start but a good step, 15 Feb. 2013
By 
Jason Prudhoe (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mass Effect - EA Value Games (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
while not as good as ME2 its a good point which to start the whole thing, the storyline is good but quite short, the character customization is limited in choices especially when it comes to making a female character. the graphics are pretty much upto specs with the other mass effect titles because it uses the same engine but music is a bit 80's and early 90's in style with a sort of midi feel to it, an odd choice but somehow it fits.

without spoiling the game as much as possible i liked Garrus Vakarian then most other companion characters, probably because i can relate to him the most while the game is challenging especially later on. besides that you have a number of side adventures to do some good, however, as others have put it, it is like a repetition and a rehash of set pieces and familiar corridors and rooms but the one thing i didnt like was the final planet and its background noise, it is irritating.

the game has two bugs; the first is a mouse related issue that can cause trouble as mentioned on other forums when i checked, but for me the issue it causes is locking out of the game even though it responds and the only key i can press is 'tilde' to bring up the console and move the mouse about, it happens randomly after interacting with the galaxy map or journal. the last obvious bug in the game is the elevator bug on a planet called Noveria, so anyone wants to buy the game keep an eye out on the elevators there and quick save before you step on any elevators there, otherwise the rest is fine.

an extra point of interest that bioware have done is importing characters from ME1 to ME2 and then to ME3, so you setup your ME1 character well enough on a second play through, you gain large bonuses in ME2 and believe me, it will save you so much trouble when it comes to resources, credits and reputation if you get it right. also some minor actions you do in ME1 will have effects in 2 and 3 alike, directly or indirectly which makes for an interesting playthrough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars THE EFFECT OF MASSIVE GREED, 2 Mar. 2010
By 
NeuroSplicer (Freeside, in geosynchronous orbit) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Mass Effect - EA Value Games (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
OK, we have been down this road before...

UNDISPUTED FACT:
The PERPETUAL WEEKLY RE-ACTIVATIONS was nothing but a PR stunt. Supposedly, EA "listened to its customers and had them removed". First of all, even from a practical point, it would be impossible to achieve this just days before the game's release (disks already printed, sealed and shipped to the retailers). More importantly, RE-ACTIVATIONS have not been waived altogether: they are still required following every patch and update - including the automatic ones.
To a cynical eye this PR stunt was a feeble attempt in order to make their "limited installations" issue more palatable.

UNDISPUTED FACT:
MASS EFFECT has LIMITED INSTALLATIONS. In fact, it has been labeled "Rent-a-Game" since we only get 3 installations - more only on a case-per-case basis, decided by EA...customer services. Well, we can thank BIOSHOCK for introducing and opening THAT can of worms - but hasn't anyone at BIOWARE heard how hard BIOSHOCK's PC sales were hit by that disastrous decision? At what ridiculously lengths the 2K GAMES customer community office had to go to either suppress or spin reviews and blogs pointing out the obvious inconveniencing (not to mention security risks) of their own customers?
And, let me guess: exactly like BIOSHOCK, there will be an IRREMOVABLE FOLDERS placed in our systems' Root that will effectively revoke our Administrator rights to our own PCs!

In the end it boils down to this: who actually will be owning my copy? Are we to pay £35 only to...RENT this from its publisher - and be pestered with the worry of whether our system will crash and loose another install? And what makes this even harder to understand: will such extreme measures actually prevent piracy? Well, they did not work for BIOSHOCK, why should they start working now?

So, one has to ask: what is next in store for customers that make the mistake of buying such a product? Chinese water torture? The Iron Maiden? Orwellian rat-masks? Guantanamo?

NO THANKS! No game is worthy of such harassment!
I canceled my PreOrder today. I would advise any serious PC gamer to do the same.

=================================================================================

UPDATE: I bought my copy of MASS EFFECT for a pittance, only some months following its release, when I found it in a clearance bin. That is the inevitable fate of DRM-ruined games. Keep in mind that this is a Limited Activation Rent-a-Game: if the price matches the product, I 'd say go for it.

After all, there are not many Space RPG/Shooters around!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best.Game.Series.Ever., 23 Nov. 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mass Effect - EA Value Games (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Wow. Where to start? This game has a rich storey line, memorable characters and great game play.

You customise the main characters appearance (even down to the gender) which is a feature more games should have as it helps make them more immersive.

All of your decisions and your actual character carry through to Mass a Effect 2 and 3 which is a great game mechanic and means that everybody has a slightly different experience.

Although the graphics are starting to show their age I highly recommend buying this game as it will ensure you get the most out of the Mass Effect trilogy.

Bad points - graphics are starting to show their age. Controls aren't as intuitive as on later games. Unable to romance Tali (you can in the sequels though so it's not a complete loss).

Good points - everything. Rich storey lines, fantastic characters, free choice, huge environment to explore, the ability to carry your character over to the sequels (which are as good as this game but with better graphics and controls). Just wow. Very immersion. Many addictive. Such awesome. wow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good start to an unusual trilogy, 12 Dec. 2013
By 
AJR "cynical" (Melbourne, Australia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mass Effect - EA Value Games (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
The Mass Effect trilogy of games are a little more closely related than most game trilogies. Crysis, for example, is a series where you do see the main characters following through the series, but there's no connection between the games. In Mass Effect your actions in the first game can affect your outcome in the third game - you export your characters after finished the first game, and import it into the second, and then from the second into the third. Makes it much more involving, and allows more replay.

One tip, though - the first game appears not to work with video adapters that have 2GB or more of RAM. If you want to play it, make sure you do so on a machine with a video adapter with 1GB or 1.5GB of RAM. That's not too hard - it's not a game that hits the video too hard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lots of game for the money, but grinding in places, 16 May 2010
By 
Chris "chrisgb" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mass Effect - EA Value Games (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
At the budget price, you'll get a good few hours out of this, but it's kinda same-ey and grind-ey in places despite having a galaxy to scoot around in. The missions are a little on the bland side - go here, shoot these guys, talk to a few people, and so on - I'd have been annoyed to play this at full price. You also have to micro-manage your squad (pick all of their weapons, armour, equipment and upgrades), and depending on your mission choices, will see about half of them wiped out within the first 3 of the "critical" storyline missions anyway.

Contrary to opinion, this is a good, but well-short of "fantastic" looking game. It's also extremely difficult to tweak until it's patched via GFWL, and betrays its 2007 console origins by not having very many graphical options to fiddle with anyway. In all, for under a tenner, it's not bad, but you can also get Fallout3 on budget these days, which is a whole other ballgame.

Having managed to finish the whole thing at the weekend, I can make some other points.

1. While it's possible to "blitz" the plot by ignoring the secondary, optional missions, this will still take you around 15-20 hours, but the pacing of the main storyline feels absolutely glacial - tiny bits of exposition over a very long time indeed, and yes, it can get boring.
2. Elevators are everywhere in Mass Effect, and you'll spend up to 40 seconds at a time in them twiddling your thumbs. Very irritating, although they're clearly being used as "loading zones" for upcoming sections.
3. Driving the Mako APC around on the planets sounds like great fun, but it's twitchy and hard to control, and most of the environments are pretty bland and un-interesting anyway - there is nowhere to go except the proscribed route, and thus, nothing else to do.

4. Having complained about the pacing, the final couple of hours of gameplay suddenly pick things up and lot of interesting, dramatic stuff happens - but IMHO, it's only just barely worth trudging through the other 15 or 16 hours to see it. It does, however, get bonus points for having a surprising array of possible outcomes right at the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great value at last! A good game., 16 July 2010
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mass Effect - EA Value Games (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
I had been looking forward to this game for some time during it's developement. However, the DRM put me off so the devoloper and publisher lost out on a full price sale.

However, for under £[] I am very happy with the game. The story is good, the graphics are good (especially for when it was developed) and the sound is okay. It is not especially taxing and almost any half decent PC can run it on full or near full/max options.

There are some games that install Securom with little or no warning, but for the money I saved buying this title budget, I was happy to do a little research on how to deal with Securom. It *is* possible to remove Securom without completly formatting your HD and reinstalling your OS.

Back on topic and summary: at this price, under a [], don't be put off by DRM. Buy the game, do your research and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Only bad thing about this is the box, 27 April 2010
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mass Effect - EA Value Games (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Ok I have played this game before when first came out so I already knew what I was getting (though had played it on the 360). It looked great has lovely storyline with nicely driven narrative side missions are a little blanded but flying through the galaxy is cool. I have to say with my new pc this game looked amazing (i7 920 OCZ DDR3 12gb 2000mhz xfx black edition 5970). I had no DRM issues hope people will enjoy this great game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, but not without its drawbacks..., 31 Aug. 2011
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mass Effect - EA Value Games (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
This is truly an amazing game, set in a vibrant sci-fi universe. The story is great and the characters are almost lifelike! There are however a few drawbacks... The game has crashed on me a few times and there are no where near as many save points as there should be resulting in playing sections of the game again. Overall an incredibly good game!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't buy this version., 17 Aug. 2011
By 
I. Moal - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mass Effect - EA Value Games (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Really, just don't buy this version. The disc is 'damaged' straight out the box, and the files won't unpack. Had I looked at the forums, or read the other reviews for this particular version of the game, I wouldn't have bought it. I've gone through multiple sessions with EA support over the last 10 days, and it still hasn't been resolved. If I'm lucky, I might be able to get a downloadable version. I'm not holding my breath though. Go buy the other version of this game. Its barely more expensive and you'll save yourself a lot of hassle if you get a dodgy copy like I did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A cheap edition, 8 Aug. 2012
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mass Effect - EA Value Games (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
In the box there wasn't even a manual, so it's up to you following the tutorial and read hidden helps to master the controls of the game. I had a bit of a hard time to run it with Windows 7. I had to "run as administrator" in "compatibility mode: Windows XP SP3" the executable file once installed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mass Effect - EA Value Games (PC DVD)
Mass Effect - EA Value Games (PC DVD) by Electronic Arts (Windows 2000 / 98 / Me / Vista / XP)
£6.48
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews