Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An enjoyable game
I remember I was playing it a few years ago, and I enjoyed it. So, why not again? It is still very funny to play it a little time from while to while, and Need for Speed Underground is a very fine simple game to play. You drive a car, you are changing it or improving it and continue. I don't like the drifts though... There are different types of races you have to...
Published on 27 Mar. 2011 by Adrian Smeria

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Great game, One of the best Need for speeds out there.
I like the old underground games because they are pure racing unlike the new Need For Speed you have today, I only give it a 3 star rating because I can't get Most Wanted working/
Published 22 months ago by John Pryers


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An enjoyable game, 27 Mar. 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Need for Speed: Collectors Series - Includes Underground 1, 2 and Most Wanted (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
I remember I was playing it a few years ago, and I enjoyed it. So, why not again? It is still very funny to play it a little time from while to while, and Need for Speed Underground is a very fine simple game to play. You drive a car, you are changing it or improving it and continue. I don't like the drifts though... There are different types of races you have to accomplish to jump to the "next level", and the races for drifts are also "mandatory"...

The ressources required are almost 0 compared to the specifications of today hardware. I'm playing it on a Windows 7 64 bits machine, there are some glitches (it happened only once), I installed also a gamepad, usb gamepad, and everything is nice. The game is about car races and not about to learn menus, so it is very easy to get to the action.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good games, but a slight bug (SOLVED), 20 Dec. 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Need for Speed: Collectors Series - Includes Underground 1, 2 and Most Wanted (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
I had these games on the PS2 and loved them.

This is exactly the same as the PS2 abart from different cars in underground 2.

Only thing is when i install most wanted, after underground 1 & 2, the disc gives me an otion to uninstall it or play it but i don't have it installed on my computer!!!! When i chose to uninstall it it uninstalled underground!!!!
I can't have both games on the same computer as 1 of them has to be uninstalled.

I recieved a comment on how to solve the issue and not it works.

Good games but installation not as smooth as hoped.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works on Windows 8.1!, 12 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Need for Speed: Collectors Series - Includes Underground 1, 2 and Most Wanted (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
I had my doubts as to whether these games would run okay, if at all on my Windows 8.1 laptop as they only state compatibility from Windows 98-XP however after a quick and easy install (About 10 minutes per game to fully install) I was happy to see that the games start up and run brilliantly and very quickly!
I was a massive fan of these games growing up and they remain my favorite NFS titles to date. Despite not being as powerful on graphics or indeed physics compared to some of today's offerings like Forza and the current NFS titles, if you played these games on a PS2 or an Xbox you will be pleasantly surprised when running these games at their highest settings at just how much more pretty and detailed they look on PC. You get a much clearer image too as the frame rates are much higher than they are on the console versions and loading times are drastically reduced often none existent.*
If however you are new to these games you do have to remember that they are now rather dated, (with Underground 1 now at 11 years old), and do not have the graphical prowess of today's racers. They are however still more than pleasant to the eye and are extremely fun to just pick up and play and feel more arcade-like than racing sims.
Unlike the car games of today, these three games do have one important element that I believe has since sadly disappeared from car games and that is the sheer level of customization, particularly in Underground 2, that you can do to your car. There is so much you can do to personalize your cars. With a large selection of weird, wacky and wonderful bumpers, spoilers, mirrors etc on offer, and also with chassis neons, hydraulics, entertainment systems for the boot, different types of door hinges and more, you can easily spend a good hour or two just customizing your car collection which gives you a chilled break away from simply racing around the streets until the game is over and adds more total play time. It's this aspect, this level of detail in car games that has never really reoccurred to this degree since these games were released which is a massive shame because making your cars unique is such a crucial part of the car scene. It's not just about how fast you car'll go round a circuit.
It's this level of customization that gives you plenty to unlock as you play through the games, which makes playing the game much more desirable and fun as you'll want to keep winning to unlock new parts and keep making your car look more and more unique and personal. The games feel very much based on The Fast And The Furious series, particularly the first 2, with similar music, car selection in all three games (with most wanted adding some more powerful sports and super cars) and the same sort/ type of car modifications. Even the intro/ start up scene in Underground 1 very much mimics 2 Fast 2 Furious' opening scene (the 2 were actually released in the same year) and if you like the films you will most certainly like the games and vice versa.
The races in Underground 1 can become a little repetitive feeling. There is no free roam and the circuit and sprint races are mostly based in a little city and quickly all start to look the same as they all intertwine with each other and vary little. You'll also find yourself racing the exact same circuit you previously raced quite a lot or simply doing it in reverse. Other modes such as drag and drift also only have a small selection of tracks but this is not to say that they are not fun. Darting in and out of lanes and trying to time gear changes perfectly to get the edge on your opponents in drag mode is rather satisfying when executed correctly where as drift mode can feel a bit unrealistic and far-fetched at times but also quite exhilarating when drifting at speed and near to the walls, which cause you to lose points should you crash into them.
The repetitiveness of Underground 1 is heavily seen to in Underground 2 with the game now open world, they have also made sure that there is much more track variation, with some however still feeling repetitive at times. New game modes Street X and URL are a welcome addition. Street X is very much based on your cars agility and your ability to perform perfect lines through twisty tracks with URL attempting to give you an actual off-the-streets race track experience. While this does work to some degree, the URL races feel a little out of place in the game and don't feel all that at home based on the game's type of driving physics. They are none the less fun to play but again are rather repetitive after a bit. Overall the game feels like a true sequel all round with almost identical physics the game mainly improves on car selection, customization depth, graphics and track selections, plus it's now open world.
Most Wanted changes things up quite a lot with the obvious change being that the game is based in the day time. Most Wanted is certainly the strongest of the three in terms of story-line, which is a little shallow in the previous 2, and in the racing aspect itself. With a much larger open world and the introduction of free roaming police A.I the game feels much more dynamic and modern and has much more to offer and a longer play time while still following the same sort of path as it's predecessor. It does however suffer in the customization department with many of the over the top modifications now gone. It is graphically more powerful and the cars feel a bit more grown up and drive more realistically but without straying too far from the previous games. The black list gives you a constant narrative based goal to become the most notorious street racer which does make it stronger in terms of playability when compared to the Underground series which always tended to sort of feel like you were just racing until the game is finished and everything is unlocked. Which also brings to light that Most Wanted can still be played after the game is finished as you can still drive round annoying, and consequently being chased by, the police. Chases vary in length and have different levels of intensity. You'll be chased by faster, smarter and stronger police vehicles the more your wanted level increases which can be decreased by things like changing your cars appearance. Getting caught can often bring heavy consequences with the chance of losing your car for good so evasion is key and it works to make the chases more exciting almost nerve-racking at times.
To sum up, the games don't meet today's standard graphically. But for their sheer entertainment value, customization and ease to play you can have just as much fun, in my opinion much more fun, playing through these games than you will playing through many of today's racing games. I haven't played any other of my car games since buying these and probably won't for quite some time and for £6 which works out at £2 a game you really can't grumble! The nostalgia value is also pretty awesome :)
* My Laptop is an Acer V5-552 which has an AMD A10 Quad-Core 2.5Ghz Processor and 6GB of RAM and 512MB graphics memory. This is very much overkill for these games as technology has far progressed since their release. My review is based on my personal laptop and may not run as well as I have said it does on less powerful systems although most relatively modern laptops now should be more than capable of running these games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's the underground and most wanted games, of course it's good., 9 Feb. 2012
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Need for Speed: Collectors Series - Includes Underground 1, 2 and Most Wanted (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
I'm a huge fan of the Underground series, as well as Most Wanted. They seem to capture the essence of speed that the newer need for speed games have all missed out on. (I blame black box for this, they really loused up. Mind you, Criterion didn't do much better).

So, you can imagine how pleased I was to find you can buy all 3 of these games for less than £10 in one box. I bought it in a heartbeat.
Now, most people who will be looking at this will have already played these games, so I'll keep the review of the gameplay itself short.

If you haven't played these before, you're missing out. That's about all I can say really.

However, a problem arose when I bought it, and it seems I'm not the only one who had this problem.
Some of you may well find, that if you buy this set, and go to install Underground 1, it won't install Most Wanted, and vice versa.

Of course, one way around this would be to play through one of them, uninstall the game, and install the other one. This is not necessary.
What you will need to do, is after you've installed the game, find out where it is installed, and simply rename the folder.
In my case, I installed Most Wanted first, as it was my favourite back in the day. What I did, was change the folder name from "Need for speed Most Wanted" and deleted the "Most Wanted" part. For reasons I cannot fathom, this solved the problem, and all I had to do afterwards was change the folder name back to it's original name.

This box set offers the fun of the old games, for not a big system requirement. If you played this game before, and are looking to play it again. Here is your answer.
If you haven't played this before, (I can't imagine many won't have) and are looking for a cheap racing game that's entertaining. Why get just one? Get three.

Happily recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Revisited, 6 Jan. 2011
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Need for Speed: Collectors Series - Includes Underground 1, 2 and Most Wanted (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
I just wanted to revisit some of the amazing drive games and this trilogy does just that.
Not a patch on todays sims but very good non the less
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good purchase, 2 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Need for Speed: Collectors Series - Includes Underground 1, 2 and Most Wanted (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Always liked need for speed. Wanted to go back to the roots with full customization for cars, not like this weak stuff they got going on now. Still you should never go back and play an old game because it just ruins the memory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent even though old, 27 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Need for Speed: Collectors Series - Includes Underground 1, 2 and Most Wanted (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
even though the games are old, they are still amazing and it is a great price to pay for the three best Need for Speeds
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A bargain really., 1 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Need for Speed: Collectors Series - Includes Underground 1, 2 and Most Wanted (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
I don't normally give 5 stars, but 3 good racers as one pack for this price? I really bought the game for Most wanted which is an excellent city racer with very authentic cops chasing you about. The second Underground because of the many customisation options - Even get a pin up girl for your pimped out car eventually. I wish it didn't always play at night though and the 1st underground just because!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars NFS Collectors Series, 23 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Need for Speed: Collectors Series - Includes Underground 1, 2 and Most Wanted (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
I remember playing these games on my old Nintendo Game Cube. After seeing them in a pack for less than £10, I had to buy them.

All 3 are excellent games, although NFS Underground 2 is still my favourite.

They do crash occasionally, but hey, they're cheap and cheerful, so you can't really complain!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, LOVE IT, 1 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Need for Speed: Collectors Series - Includes Underground 1, 2 and Most Wanted (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
The best 3 Need for speed games in one epic box, this is a definite MUST BUY for Need for speed fans!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Need for Speed: Collectors Series - Includes Underground 1, 2  and Most Wanted (PC DVD)
Used & New from: £39.95
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews