Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars74
3.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£3.96+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 May 2010
I've read alot about this album and as a fan of paul weller bought it anyway. A certain music mag said it is his best album so far and knowing the said mag often over do it i took it with a pinch of salt. On first listening the first thing that strikes you is a rawness and more of an old even jam sound. However, having listened to it around 3 times now i think its a good album but definetly not a great album. In fact i think even hardened weller fans would be hard pushed to put any of the songs in paul wellers top 10 songs. Its a very positive and energetic record and the songs are fairly short in most cases which works well. Strangely, mr weller has affected a bit of a pub singer style high note at the end of a line thing which when you start thinking of vic reeves becomes a bit funny and a little annoying. Compared to 22 dreams, this fall someway short and is nowhere near wild wood or stanley road in terms of quality. 22 dreams is wellers best album of late and by far more diverse and much much stronger song by song.
If you're already a fan then you'll either love it or like me be more realistic about it and think it a little disappointing but probably worth buying. Theres still life in the old mod yet but this is good at best.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2010
As a pensioner, there are some numbers I took to straight the way, others, I feel I struggle with, perhaps because it is not my 'scene' so to speak. However, I have always liked Paul Weller and feel he is a very talented musician and writer.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2010
This is awful, sounds like he did it in one session & made it up as he went along, do people rate it highly because its paul weller & surely he can do no wrong, well he must feel that he does not have to try any more because WAKE UP THE NATION should be awake up call for paul weller, this cd does not have ONE stand out track, its one of those cd's that after one listen you have no desire to listen to it again. I'm so disappointed he has released some great music in the past but this offering is just totally bland.
55 comments|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Like most people who have taken the time to review this album I am a 30 odd year man as a Weller fanatic. But, what on earth is this all about. I really, really want to like it but, it is simply awful. I thought 22 dreams was fairly dodgy, but this will stretch even the most ardent of Weller fans. It has some great reviews but I have to say these people must be deaf!
33 comments|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2010
Forget all the hype and people bigging this album up because it's Paul Weller. It's a shocker!!! If it was by any one else it would be overlooked or regarded as a joke. However, for some reason - which I can't explain - people feel that they have to get silly and rave about everything this man releases. In the past Weller has produced some exceptional work. This however, falls miles short. His voice has never sounded so bad and lyrically there is nothing that stands out. Most of the material on this record sounds like it's being sung by Vic Reeves doing his Club Singer impression.
The remix album that comes with the limited edition version of the CD can only be described as a dogs dinner. It takes a bunch of poor Weller material and gives it a Teletubbie / In The Night Garden feel that will only appeal to the under 5's. Perhaps PW is going after a younger audience? This may explain his Kajagoogoo style hairdo. What on earth possesses a man in his 50's to look like that? That said, what kind of a bloke goes around calling himself 'The Modfather'?
55 comments|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2014
my son loved it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2010
Massively overrated, this is one of those albums that people find themselves trying to like because the reviews have been so good. Supposedly experimental, supposedly daring, for me it's the sound of an old man trying to come up with something new and failing. The first three tracks on this are old-school Weller and the rest are a bit well, embarrassing. If you want experimental and daring, try the likes of Flying Lotus or 65daysofstatic.
Oh, and I am (was?) a Paul Weller fan too.
33 comments|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2010
16 short and sweet tunes with the energy of old, what more can I say - buy it!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2010
...so put it at the back of the cupboard. I'm a big Weller fan and have been since the early 80's, but he has made albums which have a few diamond tracks and the rest is dross - Heliocentric, Cost of Loving, Confessions of a Pop Group. It's is as though he's to big to say 'no' to and surrounds himself with yes-men, who don't stand up to him and say "some of these tracks simply don't cut it Paul".
The packaging, the concept of this Hard Back edition is good and the quality is excellent, but overall I would download the 1st 3 tracks and save yourself a few bob.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2010
Difficult to pin-point the exact reason for not being as good as stanley rd. or 22 D. but having listened to it a few times in one day (to/from work on tube) there's something missing from his normal entertaining/exciting music.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)