Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vintage hi-nrg pop!
I am so pleased this classic hi-nrg/pop album from 1984 is finally getting a proper released on CD. This great little album was my introduction to the lovely and talented Ms Dean, the undisputed queen of UK hi-nrg. During the 1980's Hazell dominated both the pop and club charts with her infectious dance tracks. Hazell was one of the very first artists to successfully work...
Published on 4 Mar 2010 by Neil B

versus
12 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Why put MP3's on a commercial CD?
First of all we have to be thankful,that there are labels, which bring back such long-time rare 80ies gems, adding wonderful bonus tracks and re-package them so neatly. So why only a one-star review?

It's the fact they partly used MP3's as a source. "Searchin' [12" Version]", Whatever I Do (Wherever I Go) [12" Mix] and No Fool (For Love) [12" Version] are...
Published on 27 Mar 2010 by extendedSearch


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vintage hi-nrg pop!, 4 Mar 2010
By 
Neil B ""HINRG BOY"" (Bury, Lancashire, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Heart First (Audio CD)
I am so pleased this classic hi-nrg/pop album from 1984 is finally getting a proper released on CD. This great little album was my introduction to the lovely and talented Ms Dean, the undisputed queen of UK hi-nrg. During the 1980's Hazell dominated both the pop and club charts with her infectious dance tracks. Hazell was one of the very first artists to successfully work with SAW production team.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRREAT !, 3 April 2010
By 
Jesse CRAIGNOU "Jesse" (NOISY-LE-GRAND, France) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Heart First (Audio CD)
First lady of Hi-NRG is back after all these years
and still sounds as good, if not better than, as ever !
Before she became the Hi-NRG diva, she was a vocalist for Elaine Paige's
sadly lost first ever album Sitting Pretty, still awaiting reissue.

I got the first (rare) edition of this CD (one of the first digital masters of its time)
years ago in Switzerland and never stopped playing it...

Heart First is also the album that saw the coming out of Stock Aitken & Waterman.
This reissue is great music and great value !

A must for all Hi-NRG and dance music lovers and fans
that should find its way into any music collection and discotheque.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Once again, 21 Jan 2011
This review is from: Heart First (Audio CD)
I love this album and when I heard the thoughtful reprise of 'Back in my arms' it brought a tear to my eye. Great songwriting and production. In particular 'Heart first', 'No fool (for love)' and 'Break the rules'.
Fab.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous!! this edition includes a x20 page booklet!, 6 Nov 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heart First (Audio CD)
Purchased the CD from Amazon and it arrived yesterday. The quality is excellent, considering these tracks were produced 26+ years ago! I love the x20 page thick glossy booklet, which is full of colour photos, original albums/singles artwork; artist biography, artist discography and contains a 2010 write up from Hazell Dean!

I've had all x3 versions of this CD's release and this version is the best!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a great re-issue of a classic album!, 25 Mar 2010
By 
Mr. Nathan Armstrong - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Heart First (Audio CD)
hazell's frist album on cd has been rare and hard to get hold of for years..so a welcome re-issue is very welcome!

the album opens with "back in my arms (once again) which i must admit sounds a bit "tinny" its a great pop/hi-energy track that was released as a single but only reached no.41 in the uk...it deserved to do a lot better 9/10

"searchin" was a huge club album before reaching the charts...which it stormed and gave hazell her first huge hit..still a classic 10/10

"break the rules" is another strong catchy track 10/10

"whatever i do" was the 2nd single and again stormed into the charts and still a firm favourite..another classic 10/10

"you're too good to be true" is okay as an album track but nothing amazing 8/10

"heart first" should have been a single...it has all the ingredients ...a catchy track, great vocals and i think would have been a huge hit 10/10

"no fool (for love)" another single that just failed to make the top 40! a great track that should have done a lot better 9/10

"harmony" is a ballad which shows of hazell is more than a one trick pony..but not a standout 8/10

"devil in you" is another hi-energy stomper...it could have been a hit at the time..but now sounds a bit dated 9/10

"everything i need" is another ballad to close the original album..its nice enough 8/10

the bonus tracks!!!

"stay in my life" is another ballad..almost musical theatre or showtime...nice enough 9/10

"searchin 12" mix" what more can i say the full on classic 10/10

"young boy in the city" was released as a b-side but with its lyrics it became a huge gay anthem at the time 10/10

"back in my arms 12" mix" previously unreleased and a great version 10/10

"take me home" is nice enough but a bit forgettable 8/10

"no fool (for love) 12" mix" another great remix that has been unavailable 10/10

hazell followed up this album with a stock aitken waterman album which is strong and maybe will be rereleased!!! after that hazell released an stunning album of abba covers, she still tours and is a great act to see!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a superb reissue, 15 Jun 2012
By 
downkiddie "downkiddie" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heart First (Audio CD)
This is a really rather good album. An early Stock/Aitken/Waterman production, it has their hallmarks but not necessarily the "Hit Factory" sound they'd developed by the late 80s. A forerunner of this though is the insanely catchy "Back In My Arms", it really is a mystery why this was never a hit.

The big hits are here of course, "Searchin'" and "Whatever I Do", but it's some of the less well known tracks that really are the star turns. "Break The Rules" sounds like some of the pop-rock tracks Cher was doing at the end of the 80s, whilst "Heart First" and "Harmony" have a soulful quality which brings to mind late 80s Tina Turner.

There are several 12" versions as bonus tracks together with some rare bonus tracks, some of which are a little forgettable. All in all however it's a really super package. It's just a shame the single-only tracks "Evergreen" and "Jealous Love" are not on here, though they can be found on the "Greatest Hits" album.

Hazell sounds really beautiful throughout, her vocal abilities being far beyond some of the SAW acts, their production reflects this. A must have!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just a great dance pop music album, 3 Mar 2013
This review is from: Heart First (Audio CD)
Special! Powerful! Musical! Lyrical! Wonderful! Positive! Effective! Contagious! Catchy! Dynamic! Demographic! Stereotastic! Fantastic! Happy! Memorable! Pounding! Nostalgic! Technostalgic! Auralgazmic! WONDERFULL!!
Well, Amazon did say no less than 20 words!
Hazell dean is always well worth it to me xo
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Heart First is awesome!, 23 April 2012
By 
Jan (Cape Town, SOuth Africa) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Heart First (Audio CD)
Great to have this in remastered format with the extensive booklet! This album really shows how versatile as an artist Hazell is. A great album that has stood the test of time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the great hazell dean, 15 Mar 2010
By 
T. Bowles "darcydr" (bexhill, u.k) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heart First (Audio CD)
Heart First the great HAZELL DEAN..with HEART FIRST, this is not a great hits collection, but a cd thats been far to long in coming (again), its HAZELL at her best i think lots of great tracks and many,,many hits. the two very dated and weak tracks are TAKE ME HOME, YOUNG BOY IN THE CITY, the just dont seem to fit on this cd, and are very out dated, but its still HAZELL,so if you are a fan or just thinking about this cd, do go for it now, 11 tracks, then 7 bonus tracks, what more could you ask' from the UK'S best female hi-nrg singer, i have said befor that i have seen hazell at what was the best disco club at the time in brighton many times and she was always on top form and such a nice person. this is a great cd to have, put it on and turn it up and get back to the great days of some of the best music around........go for it.......................enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Why put MP3's on a commercial CD?, 27 Mar 2010
This review is from: Heart First (Audio CD)
First of all we have to be thankful,that there are labels, which bring back such long-time rare 80ies gems, adding wonderful bonus tracks and re-package them so neatly. So why only a one-star review?

It's the fact they partly used MP3's as a source. "Searchin' [12" Version]", Whatever I Do (Wherever I Go) [12" Mix] and No Fool (For Love) [12" Version] are definitely sourced from lossy origins. You can see that clearly, if you look at the tracks in spectral view in an audio editor application.

I think I better get my old vinyls, record and clean them by myself. Sure, they won't be perfect, but I know, they won't be lossy crap.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa6b55864)

This product

Heart First
Heart First by Hazell Dean (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews