Customer Reviews


86 Reviews
5 star:
 (59)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must see piece of musical history
It is almost inaccurate to call this DVD a single movie. 'Moonwalker' is more like a collection a mini-movies and watching it is a journey. You can never be sure what will come up next.

The dvd begins with fabulous performances of 'Man in the Mirror' from Michael, filmed live in two different locations and teamed with a picture montage of famous do-gooders...
Published on 18 Aug 2008 by E. J. Malbon

versus
12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars warning this version is cut
there is a scene missing from 01:06:12 were you should see the bad guy bite the top off the needle and spit it out saying the words"i just wana get everyone high". its not their anymore.the older dvd release had this scene in it completely.sucks bad.probably other cuts to it just ant noticed yet.picture is better than dvd and nice to see it in widescreen at last.sound is...
Published on 16 Jun 2010 by Jason


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must see piece of musical history, 18 Aug 2008
By 
E. J. Malbon - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It is almost inaccurate to call this DVD a single movie. 'Moonwalker' is more like a collection a mini-movies and watching it is a journey. You can never be sure what will come up next.

The dvd begins with fabulous performances of 'Man in the Mirror' from Michael, filmed live in two different locations and teamed with a picture montage of famous do-gooders. From here we are treated to clips from Michael's career and a re-enactment of the 'Bad' video by children.
My favourite part of the movie comes up next though, where various claymation fans pursue Michael through Hollywood studios and he transforms into a rabbit. 'Speed demon' kicks in and later Michael and the rabbit have a dance duel.
The award winning and fascinating music video for 'Leave me alone' begins after this where Michael lashes out at some of the bad press he received at the time.
What I would consider the movie to be then begins, which gets away with stretching the viewers imagination somewhat, where we witness Michael's efforts to defeat an evil drug dealer by several sci-fi means.
The highlight of this part of the film has to be the 'Smooth Criminal' music video though. It is incredibly engaging and well put together - arguably Michael's finest 10 minutes to date.
The movie ends with a performance of The Beatles 'Come Together' from Jackson, which is a joy.

This is a DVD to be viewed with an open mind. The story lines are neither believable or complex, but they are incredibly innocent and charming. It is an adventure through the mind of a genius and anybody who enjoys Jacksons music, particulary from the Bad era, will enjoy this. If nothing else, let your children watch it. I guarantee they will love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


57 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb!, 30 April 2006
A movie that starts out with the "Man in the Mirror" music video which was captured on stage of two Michael performances, it then changes to a montage of video clips of Michael's amazing career with fantastic footage from the Jackson 5 days and Motown 25.

Next comes a parody of his 'Bad' video by children who perform 'Badder', and then Michael is chased by fans in a fantasy sequence. Two more videos are shown which includes 'Leave Me Alone' and the fantastic claymation mini-movie of 'Speed Demon'.

The movie now begins in which Michael plays a hero with magical powers. In it he is chased by drug dealer Mr. Big (Joe Pesci) and saves three children while turning into the super car and the Jackson robot.

Also included is the spectacular 20 minute piece of music film which is unquestionably the best video of all time 'Smooth Criminal' and finishes with Michael live on stage to perform 'Come Together'

AMAZING, and fan will love this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Imaginative and Entertaining Retrospective/Noir Musical, 13 Aug 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If I were to take a trip back to my childhood, the aptly-named "Moonwalker", the brainchild of Michael Jackson, would be one of the prominent stops. Even back when I wasn't necessarily an MJ fan (I am now), this movie captured my imagination. Rather than a whole, cohesive movie, it's a collection of mini-films, for the most part well-woven together. The first part is a performance of "Man in the Mirror". The second is a retrospective on Michael Jackson's career, with clips from his music videos and performances from his early career to his "Bad" days (which is the era when the movie was made, and it shows). The third is a re-enactment of the "Bad" video by a younger counterpart of the cast. The fourth part is a mini-movie which features Michael Jackson escaping from maniacal fans and press by racing a motorcycle as a rabbit-man and eventually doing a dance duel with him (you really need to see it to believe it). The fifth is a video for "Leave Me Alone", and the sixth and final part is a noir/sci-fi film where Michael and three young kids on the streets who have befriended him try to escape a drug lord (Joe Pesci) who wants Michael's head after the latter discovers his plans to get all kids addicted to drugs.

"Moonwalker" never made it to theatres in the US (it did, however, in Europe and South America), but that didn't stop the VHS release to be sold in over 800,000 copies within a year of the movie's release. It is a truly engrossing trip through the imagination of the legendary musician/entertainer. While many musicians have tried their hands at filmmaking and only succeeded at showing that they have no talent at it, Michael Jackson surprises. Not only does he show that he has as much feel for staging and visual storytelling as he has for music, he manages to make this movie his own, weaving into both the collage and story some truly imaginative moments.

Take the second part of the movie, where we sort of hit the "present". The "Bad" video is reenacted by younger actors, in a truly hilarious but nonetheless competent spectacle. After that, Michael Jackson emerges onto the 'streets' of Hollywood and is hounded by an assortment of stark-raving-mad, claymated fans and press. An attempt by a humoured Michael to escape his chasers ensues, but as he finds out, trying to hide out in Hollywood studios (especially when you're Michael Jackson) is about as easy as hiding the punch at a banquet.

But his way out of this situation is possibly my favourite part of the movie. Disguising himself as a leather-clad rabbit man, he manages to escape the studios on a bicycle, which transforms into a motorcycle. At this point "Speed Demon" kicks in as the rabbit-man drives at breakneck speed down the highway, ocean and sky. And still the relentless fans and media are hot on Michael's tail, his disguise not fooling them. This all makes up a truly stunning piece of claymation, both excellently-paced and delicious to behold. Driving out into the desert, Michael takes off his disguise only to have the rabbit disguise reanimate itself, and the two do the best dance duel I've ever seen. It's especially stunning to see the claymated rabbit dance like MJ, and Will Vinton and co (who were responsible for the claymation segment, while Michael himself is live-action) truly deserve an applause for this as well as Michael.

Following is the video for "Leave Me Alone", a truly imaginative, satirical portrait of the mass hysteria the media attribute to Michael. Michael humorously visualises this as an amusement park constructed on top of him, while a miniature version of him goes through a has-to-be-seen-to-be-believed tour, frequented by lots of dogs in suits. This video may feel like a filler but its imagination and vision more than make up for it.

This is when the 'movie' itself begins. My favourite part is when Michael steps into a 30s-style club and "Smooth Criminal" kicks in, resulting in a truly artistic music-video sequence, climaxing in the middle, when the music dies and the club-goers chant, for almost a minute, before the music kicks back in. I won't spoil the rest of the movie for you, but these are my favourite parts.

If you are a Michael Jackson fan then this belongs in your collection for sure. Whether or not you are a fan, if you want to see a really imaginative, creative journey through Michael Jackons's musical mindscape, I can also recommend this. One thing is for sure; the tag couldn't be more correct. This truly IS a movie like no other.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it, 20 Aug 2009
By 
I remember really loving this when I was younger and after buying it I realise why. It is a brilliant collection of short films by MJ himself, with clips of some of the best songs he has written. Smooth Criminal is the full length version and is just amazing, but the final song Come Toether is jaw dropping. Not only could I watch this DVD over and over, but my children are huge fans too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great film, 22 Jun 2009
By 
T. Merry "MJJ" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Michael has always had a love for movies and film and with this film, he shows this. it is a good movie that shows what a good actor michael is (as well as writer-he wrote the storybook that this is based on, dancer and singer!)
if you're a michael jackson fan-get it, even if its not you're type of film, it is still worth collecting!
a must have for Michael Jackson fans!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MJ in Hi-definition experience!, 20 April 2011
This film is a masterpiece in the form of film with video clips inserted into the context of the story so exquisite.
Already had the same dvd and now blu-ray is even better.
I live in Brazil and the order arrived very quickly and well packaged, and still a great price.
Buy now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars STILL THE BEST, 28 Jun 2010
By 
Mr. R. Johnson "SHEYLEH 17" (LONDON. UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Still mising Michael so it is great to see Moonwalker on Blu Ray. My godson watched it with me and loved every minute of it. The last effects are great and so is the music score. This is one of Michael Jacksons best movie, with everything to make this a great film for all the family. A must for all Michael Jackson fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quite excellent not-movie, 21 Mar 2010
By 
Rambleast Reviews (Truth Or Consequences, New Mexico) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Moonwalker is a bizarrely structured effort- the first 35 minutes include videos for "Speed Demon", "Bad" (more on that later), "Man In The Mirror" and a montage of pre-Bad material from as early as Jackson's youth, flimsily connected by a skit seeing him run around a movie lot chased by horrifying puppets. Its always pleased me to see just how much he's enjoying himself in this film. After the video for "Leave Me Alone" (Dogs in suits! Dancing skeleton!) the movie proper starts and for the remainder of its 90-odd-minute runtime there are but two videos- Jackson's finest hour can be witnesses in the lavish production for "Smooth Criminal", a triumph of choreography, design and of course songwriting. The disc ends with a live video for "Come Together", a perhaps-too-funky cover of the Beatles song that wouldn't be released on CD for 8 years. The film portion of the piece (in essence extended bookends for "Smooth Criminal") stars Joe Pesci and pulls no punches in casting him as a genuinely fearsome guy- he smacks young Katie about the head a good few times and boasts "I want every kid in the world to take drugs because of me!": Jackson's messages were strong and sincere but never subtle. The production design of the entire segment is marvelous, from the empty, soaked streets to the two sharp suits sported by Michael, the guns wielded by Pesci's unlimited black-clad troops (they have digital ammo counters!) and Pesci's own skyward-bound ponytail. Bruce Broughton's orchestral score is perfectly fitting too, particularly in the early scenes of unimaginable happiness that depict Jackson and his young buddies palling about the countryside with their large hound, minutes before discovering the spiders Pesci has filled with drugs to send out to hook the populace. Honestly, this is one of the best movie plots ever!

The DVD has a great picture, proving that the transfer for HIStory Volume I really was just a fluke- this looks outstanding and I'm kinda wishing I'd held out for this summer's Blu-Ray. Sadly, no extras are included, and a complete video for "Dirty Diana" would have been appreciated. Still, you can't go wrong with this selection of lesser-seen videos (I've only ever seen "Speed Demon" on TV once) and it's a good showcase for Jackson's cliched but hugely fun imagination.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!, 6 Sep 2009
By 
H. Carneiro - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
It was a good moment to review the amazing work of MJ. This is a master piece of him that anyone must buy... The full movie of Moonwalker and other videos will drive us to the imagination of this great person that MJ was.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smooooooooooth......Awesome!, 15 Aug 2009
Ok, first I have to say that I didn't really know what to expect from this DVD since neither the Amazon description nor the video case gave a lot of information on the content. So thank you to the reviewers who helped me decide to buy this!

Chronologically:

I was disappointed by the montage beginning of this video, wondering if that's what the entire DVD would be. Personally, I don't much like performance clips stuck together. The presentation of 'Man in the Mirror' is not my taste, I'd rather see Michael singing the entire song from beginning to end - head to toe in one concert, without the interference of so many audience shots. That said, it's a great song.

Then came the compilation of Michael over the decades. I'd seen most of it before but it was still good. Except for the glitter effect "enhancements", which were distracting and unnecessary in my opinion.

Then...

Wow...some talented kids - the 'Badder' video is at times funny and enjoyable throughout! And, all the better if you have seen 'Bad' first.

'Speed Demon' is a lot of fun. It is so nice to see Michael smiling and having fun with it too. A lot of wonderful head shots in this one.

It is great to see him speak out creatively in his own defence and confront the rediculous tabloid headlines that so many people still believe in 'Leave Me Alone'.

Then comes his absolute masterpiece, a work of pure genius! I had never seen the entire 'Smooth Criminal' video, only the short version. That alone makes the DVD worth having! The cast, crew and special effects, it must have cost a fortune to produce...I thought as I was watching it. But it's Michael Jackson's performance that has you riveted to your seat...or inching closer to the screen in awe of this supremely talented man.

Then as he leaves the kids behind, including Sean Lennon, it glides smoothly into a stage performance of Lennon and McCartney's 'Come Together'.

Even during the credits he's giving you more.

All in all a fab video!

Rest in Peace Michael Joseph Jackson, you are sorely missed...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xadaceeac)

This product

Moonwalker [DVD] [1988]
Moonwalker [DVD] [1988] by Jerry Kramer (DVD - 2011)
3.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews