Customer Reviews


70 Reviews
5 star:
 (50)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spare battery for my camera
I bought this as a spare battery for my Sony digital camera for my trip to Iceland so that I will not run out of charge while out and about.

This battery is identical to the battery which comes with the camera and works perfectly as you would expect.

However be warned about COUNTERFEIT items.
There are a huge number of counterfeit NP-BN1...
Published on 6 July 2012 by Ian Ranson

versus
11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I was given a fake but simpy in a copy packaging..breach of the UK law!!
For someone who has been buying Sony products for about 15 years now i know all the tricks people try when it comes to selling fakes and making them look real. Firstly the battery was recieved through post few days after order which was great but the product when mached with the orignal factory battery was a copy the battery didnt fit into the camera with ease had to...
Published on 2 Dec 2011 by Mazzio


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spare battery for my camera, 6 July 2012
By 
Ian Ranson "Ian Ranson" (Bolton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony NPBN1 Battery for W/T-series Cyber-shot - 630mAh (Electronics)
I bought this as a spare battery for my Sony digital camera for my trip to Iceland so that I will not run out of charge while out and about.

This battery is identical to the battery which comes with the camera and works perfectly as you would expect.

However be warned about COUNTERFEIT items.
There are a huge number of counterfeit NP-BN1 batteries available on the internet through eBay (I bought one) so be warned. The seller often has good ratings and the batteries tend to cost around 10.
Counterfeit batteries have:
- Dodgy packaging - says it it made from PE when the real one is made from PET (stamp on reverse)
- fake hologram which just says Sony
- shiny silver wrapping not the duller wrapping found on the genuine model

Google "np bn1 counterfeit guide" to find an eBay guide with more.
Do not use a counterfeit battery as it is Lithium-Ion and is potentially dangerous, report it to Sony and return.

Also be wary about buying from third party sellers who are fulfilled by Amazon
- I am NOT saying don't buy from third party sellers here on Amazon but I bought a battery from one seller who was fulfilled by Amazon and was sent a battery which looked genuine but was possibly for the Japanese market and even Sony's anti-counterfeit team couldn't tell if it was genuine or not.

I advise you buy directly from Amazon only, I checked the battery I received with Sony to be 100% sure it was genuine and they confirmed it is GENUINE.
When buying expect to pay at least 20-25 for a genuine model.
Genuine models have black/grey packaging and not the blue one counterfeit models tend to have (as do older versions of the Genuine packaging), the hologram is fairly complex and very clear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommend, 3 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Item was genuine. It was chaper than on Sony official website. Great quality. Highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great spare, 2 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony NPBN1 Battery for W/T-series Cyber-shot - 630mAh (Electronics)
Looks and feels genuine.
Had a cheap one before that would not even fit the camera.
Charges okay, and seems to last as long as original.
Time will tell, and half the price too. So good buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars NP-BN1, 26 July 2011
By 
This review is from: Sony NPBN1 Battery for W/T-series Cyber-shot - 630mAh (Electronics)
Very impressed, product arrived 2 days earlyier than the minimum delivery time, fully charged and in nasty clam-shell packaging. I had my doubts as to whether this was the "real" sony when I saw the price but it does seem to be the real deal, either that or its a very very good replica. At the end of the day its a battery that works for under half the price for what sony is asking for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Camera battery, 5 April 2010
By 
Oznob (Surrey, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Holds a the charge for lots of shots. I bought it as and extra battery for my camera.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars :), 16 Aug 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
it works fine with my camera :)
so now i have a spare for my travel whenever my other battery runs out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bought this as a spare, 1 Feb 2014
By 
Sussman "Sussman" (London CA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony NPBN1 Battery for W/T-series Cyber-shot - 630mAh (Electronics)
Bought this directly from Amazon, it seems to work well enough and holds its charge for the same time as the original that came with the camera. All in all pleased with its performance and the price paid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Long-lasting and indestructible, 8 Jun 2012
By 
Dolphin (Stuck inside a cloud) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Sony NPBN1 Battery for W/T-series Cyber-shot - 630mAh (Electronics)
Bought for my Sony DSCW350B Cyber-shot Digital Camera - Black (14.1 MP, 4x Optical Zoom) 2.7 inch LCD. After over 2 years of regular use, the original battery was holding less charge and anyway it's always a good idea to have a spare. Although there are many suitable-for, generic-branded solutions, I prefer to spend a few extra pennies for an authentic battery, which this clearly is.

As usual with Sony branded items, it is well made and durable. When the package arrived, it looked like a lorry had run over it, but the battery inside was unscathed and it works perfectly. Enough said, I think.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sony battery, 10 Oct 2010
Battery was as ordered. Came in good time. I have used it a number of times as spare.
Fits well into camera carry case. All good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I was given a fake but simpy in a copy packaging..breach of the UK law!!, 2 Dec 2011
This review is from: Sony NPBN1 Battery for W/T-series Cyber-shot - 630mAh (Electronics)
For someone who has been buying Sony products for about 15 years now i know all the tricks people try when it comes to selling fakes and making them look real. Firstly the battery was recieved through post few days after order which was great but the product when mached with the orignal factory battery was a copy the battery didnt fit into the camera with ease had to force enter the labels on the product are copyied off the orignal and this product is not real its a fake!! Donot buy this product because its not the real thing it seemt to be too good to be true and yes it was a fake! Wont buy off this seller again because of this bad pitch of experiance ive had. item was not alot as decribed i will contact amazon regarding this issue further"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews