Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic Chris Potter is the pillar of this Motian sax-piano-drums trio
I find this CD from the latest Motian bassless trio really great. Lyrical and beautiful compositions, 9 penned by Motian and one by Irving Berlin. A quieter-than-usual Moran on piano and an always great Motian on drums constitute the foundation of this trio. And its really high pillar is definitely Potter on tenor sax. He goes from ethereal and suspended playing to fierce...
Published on 2 April 2010 by A. Zona

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Underwhelmed
The playing is of a high level but...
First the tracks all sound the same, all at a rather lethargic pace. If you played me one track from the album then I would not, even listening to it a hundred times, be able to tell it from its fellows
Second, the drums may as well not be there. It sounds like a mike set up problem. This is an album of duets between the...
Published 6 months ago by Pen Name


Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic Chris Potter is the pillar of this Motian sax-piano-drums trio, 2 April 2010
By 
A. Zona - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lost In A Dream (Audio CD)
I find this CD from the latest Motian bassless trio really great. Lyrical and beautiful compositions, 9 penned by Motian and one by Irving Berlin. A quieter-than-usual Moran on piano and an always great Motian on drums constitute the foundation of this trio. And its really high pillar is definitely Potter on tenor sax. He goes from ethereal and suspended playing to fierce solos showcasing its great technique, maturity, and sense of harmony. The key goal is never missed by the trio: making truly enjoyable, entertaining and stimulating music. A work to listen to again and again. Recording quality is impeccable as usual from ECM, you wouldn't say it is a live recording till you hear the clapping hands at the end of each track. Just one complaint: "only" 57 minutes of music, I wish there were more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 9 Sep 2013
By 
ACB (swansea) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lost In A Dream (Audio CD)
Paul Motian convened this trio for a week's residency at New York's Village Vanguard for a special project in February 2009 in front of a live audience. This disc was selected from the week's recording. This is a strongly lyrical and emotionally compelling album with the emphasis on balladry as vehicles for the soloing and group playing. The ballad format is often in free form delivered with dramatic impact. There is a mixture of old and new numbers. 'Birdsong', 'Cathedral Song', 'Dream Music' and 'Abacus will be familiar to followers of Motian who keeps an 'adagio' control on proceedings without being obtrusive on his fellow players.

Pianist Jason Moran has a splintered Monkish approach to proceedings that fits in well with Motian's suppleness. He imparts an economic space for Potter, in particular, to take over. If there is a star it is Chris Potter. The piano and drums are subtle to allow him the freedom to take the tenor saxophone to whatever plane he wishes. He is at his formidable best. 'Lost In A Dream' is quite staggering in its strength, emotional conviction and melodic interpretation of Motian's work. His authority is forthright particularly in the upper register. Also his artistry of mastering the ballad 'Cathedral Song' is exquisite.

Irving Berlin's 'Be Careful It's My Heart' is beautifully interpreted with Potter again leading it into a different configuration. 'Ten', 'Dream Music' and 'Abacus' are free-flowing exchanges between the musicians. Much can be said of Paul Motian. Apart from writing nine of the numbers his instrumental contribution is subtle and structured guiding the soloists with his economical understanding of his role and contribution (more forceful on 'Drumbeat' and 'Abacus'). A sublime collection by a trio at the peak of their powers playing with an innate sense of belonging together. Marvellous music that will last numerous hearings and years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Higher Level, 21 Jan 2013
By 
A. Hardy ""Big Al"" (Durham, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lost In A Dream (Audio CD)
It's easy to run out of superlatives when discussing musicians of this calibre, so perhaps it's enough to say that in February 2009 the patrons of The Village Vanguard were treated to a performance by these three men of typical sensitivity and brilliance.
This is no blowing session, there's no soul-groove here~ the music moves through it's sound-world with a mature elegance and majesty. But it is never cerebral, rather at times it is intensely emotional, but emotion expressed with economy and a complete absence of self-indulgence. All but one of the ten pieces are Paul Motian's own compositions, and under his presiding genius both Moran and Potter excel again and again. For me, "Casino" is one particular high point, although there are many. "Blue Midnight" is another, and on "Birdsong" Potter is a revelation.
This is music-making on a higher level. 5 stars is not enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A CLASSIC album., 29 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lost In A Dream (Audio CD)
this is a desert island disc . three consummate jazz musicians dovetailing so eloquently.Motian's tunes are simply beautiful and given the interpretation they deserve.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Jazz played as if during a dream, 1 May 2013
By 
Mr. W. G. Simpson "William" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lost In A Dream (Audio CD)
Melodies are hinted at, then aborted; solos dart about, and display dexterity but never go on too long, and the drums and piano support the excellent sdaxophonist. I sensed Paul Motian here completely achieved what he was trying to do with Bill Frisell and Joe Lovano, in playing jazz as if in an actual dream. There is an ethereal and incomplete quality to the compositions on the first dozen or so hearings, so much seem to be hinted at without needing full development, yet when heard as jazz imagined as experienced during one's sleep, or in hearing how far Mr Motian strays from the beat while keeping it, and the metallic fizz of the cymbals, the music draws you in more and more.
It is quite an absorbing album and genuinely benefits from being played quite loud, due to the great tone of drum kit and saxophone. Mr Moran plays unobtrusively but propulsively. Quietly rewarding this repays many listens, though I think you need to like jazz to really get it.

Dear amazon - I am being asked to buy this album again. Please desist!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Underwhelmed, 27 Dec 2013
This review is from: Lost In A Dream (Audio CD)
The playing is of a high level but...
First the tracks all sound the same, all at a rather lethargic pace. If you played me one track from the album then I would not, even listening to it a hundred times, be able to tell it from its fellows
Second, the drums may as well not be there. It sounds like a mike set up problem. This is an album of duets between the pianist and saxophonist and rather boring at that.
Third this music may be OK as an accompaniment to digesting a good meal but it certainly does not set my world on fire and nor from the audience feedback does it theirs.

In summary would I buy this had I heard it first. No.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lost In A Dream
Lost In A Dream by Paul Motian (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews