Customer Reviews


80 Reviews
5 star:
 (54)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A new beginning for ROCK............
....'What is this that stands before me......' This album was the type of sound the youth then and now were/are looking for.The lyrics,Ozzy's distinctive voice,Iommi's heavy guitar work-those brilliant rifts-Geezers great bass playing and Wards'thumping drums. Although the lyrics are simple enough,it is clear that they hold great meaning about this 'system'and the evil...
Published on 3 Feb 2001 by andystantonexstevenage

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Hard Rock sound
Black Sabbath, along with Deep Purple, Uriah Heep and few others, were the pioneers of Hard Rock in the period '70/'75. Then came the Heavy Metal...
These is the first album of Black Sabbath, released in 1970.
The first thing that strikes you immediately is the voice of Ozzy Osbourne, and his obsessions with evil and black magic. The powerful song is "The...
Published on 21 Nov 2009 by cybi-cybi


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A new beginning for ROCK............, 3 Feb 2001
This review is from: Black Sabbath (Audio CD)
....'What is this that stands before me......' This album was the type of sound the youth then and now were/are looking for.The lyrics,Ozzy's distinctive voice,Iommi's heavy guitar work-those brilliant rifts-Geezers great bass playing and Wards'thumping drums. Although the lyrics are simple enough,it is clear that they hold great meaning about this 'system'and the evil within said system and within individuals. This album is a work of genius:in all its glorious aspects. this album will be around forever.A definite must for any collector of hard/heavy rock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not the same as the single cd...A nearly perfect new remaster!, 12 July 2009
This review is from: Black Sabbath (Audio CD)
Ok first off let's not confuse this release with the single cd available as this is a new remaster and what a remaster at that!
I was a tad skeptical about this release and one reason i didn't rush straight out and buy because i wasn't sure if it was just the same as the single cd,but after reading on the black sabbath forum about the unbelievable quality i had to get it asap.
Ok onto the review.
Well Many cds these days are so poorly re-mastered that great dynamic sounding music seems to be becoming a rarity these days with many artist's back catalogues and indeed new music being butchered and ruined so it fills me with enormous happiness to say this deluxe edition is really quite superb,in fact it's one of the best cds ive ever heard.
Everything about this cd is brilliant,one because it was the first and highly influential album from sabbath and two ive never heard it sound better.
From the opening of black sabbath to the final track of disc one warning i was amazed at how dynamic and powerful sounding this is.
The second cd has outtakes and instrumentals from the album which i found to be excellent especially the studio outtake of black sabbath,at the start you hear ozzy say (and i'll leave out certain words lol) "i dont understand it....i can't remember the words"....it really is priceless and in my opinion worthy of purchase on this reason alone.
Seriously though this is a masterclass in remastering and one that all engineers should take note and learn from.
So if you are a fan of heavy metal or sabbath and you are not quite sure whether to get it then don't wonder anymore just go for it.
Comparing this to the single cd version is like comparing gold to dirt,the single cd is louder,harsh sounding and brittle,this deluxe edirion is pure gold,not at all loud very smooth and rich.
Absolutely brilliant and a pleasure to award it 5 stars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heavy Rock Comes Of Age, 21 Aug 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Black Sabbath (Audio CD)
This is a blinding debut from the Godfathers of Metal. From here, they went on to conquer the world with a quartet of metal masterpieces -Paranoid, Master of Reality, Vol 4 and Sabbath Bloody Sabbath - which set the agenda for all aspiring heavy rockers for the next 20 years.
Each song on this album is a classic. My favourite is Behind The Wall Of Sleep, a dreamy, dank tale of drugs and death. The riffs are splendiforous, elegaic and very, very heavy. The lyrics are sparse and taut, with Ozzy's unmistakable whining rising up like a phoenix from the flames. This song is a relatively unknown classic, and one of many anti-heroin songs that the band wrote. Others include the fabulous Hand Of Doom from Paranoid, which prove that they were, in fact, a bunch of quiet and loveable cider drinkers...
If you're into Soundgarden circa 'Superunkown' or Metallica pre 'Load' then get into this. It'll make your ears bleed and you'll love every second of it. I guarantee you'll fall in love with this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic package. Second disc is really interesting, the sound on the original disc? Awesome!, 19 Aug 2009
By 
Joseph Siegler (Garland, TX USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Black Sabbath (Audio CD)
Length:: 5:54 Mins

Check out the video below where I talk about the release. I show you a complete unboxing, showing everything that is inside there, speak to the sound quality, the extras on the second CD, etc, etc... The real review is in the video, not in this text. :)

Minor updates to my review. The book I mention towards the end is not Mark Weiss, he was the photographer, I believe. And the poem from the original release *IS* here, but not the upside down cross. That was my error.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Listen to Black Sabbath, 13 May 2004
This review is from: Black Sabbath (Audio CD)
I first heard Black Sabbath on a rock compilation when I was 14 and have been listening to them for 17 years, in which time this album has not worn thin. Even apart from the whole "they invented heavy metal" thing and the patent influence of this album and what came after on all rock music thereafter, this album stands on its own as a brilliant piece of music from the early 70s. It is the musical equivalent of a Hammer Horror film, but has aged much better!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars WHAT IS THIS THAT STANDS BEFORE ME?....., 1 July 2010
By 
Mr Blackwell (scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Black Sabbath (Audio CD)
Well probably the most over analysed,overated album ever,thats what,this album did not invent Heavy Metal! it had a part no doubt but im sure Blue Cheer and Grand Funk Railroad had a fair input as well.

That its a pretty good album is not in question but some of the hyperbole in previous reviews would have it as the second coming.

Opening with thunder,rain,tolling bell its immediate that this aint no pop disc and hammer house of horror has been set to music, setting their image for years, an image that at times threatened to strangle and inhibit,they often complained,Ozzy's vocals taut and sounding genuinely terrified are perfect for this song and the band each show their prowess.Following on is the albums best track 'The Wizard' with a riff that Blue Oyster Cult stole for 'Cities on Flame....',next up the superb 'Behind The Wall Of Sleep' with its lyrics of drugs and death then closing the original side one was 'N.I.B' with some fantastic bass from Geezer Butler,how disappointing to find out years later it wasnt a Nativity In Black,rather it was named after Ward's Beard!!!

So 4 classic tracks, however for me the rest of the album isnt as impressive,the single 'Evil Women' tries hard but never really takes off whilst the over long coupling of 'Sleeping Village/The Warning' starts off well but becomes rather laboured and boring to my ears while 'Wicked World' is plain average,probably why it was left off the original album.

The quite frankly atrocious production on this disc actually helps rather than hinders the music produced but i cant in all honesty give it 5 stars,its not a 5 star disc,those would come later,4 stars would be a fair assessment.

For those who cant help themselves and have to cast their unhelpful* vote(*although its because they disagree) take a moment and ask yourself this question,how often do you actually listen to this album,be honest with yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The day music came alive., 20 Dec 2008
By 
Mr. R. Mayou "mayou316" (Solihull, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Black Sabbath (Audio CD)
This is it. The first Metal album. The most influential metal album of all time. The debut of the founding fathers. Sabbath were initially inspired by The Beatles to make music but this album began with a simple idea after Iommi came out the cinema. His idea was if people would pay too see a horror movie maybe they would pay to listen to a horror album. He was right and Metal was born. Even the genre name Metal came from the factories they used to work in. As a half-Brummie myself and having always lived around that area I have always been very proud that it all started here and what a start. A stunning album of immense importance, absolute quality. 'What is this that stands before me?' OH LORD YEAH!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterpiece, 7 Mar 2004
By 
Mr. Dm Ward - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Black Sabbath [VINYL] (Vinyl)
This album is quite possibly the first true heavy metal album ever made, and I feel its one of the best.

From start to finish, there is nothing but good songs that create a dark and heavy atmosphere. That is where the heaviness of Black Sabbath comes from, the atmosphere or aura that the album creates for the listener.

The title track remains one of my all time faveourites with an evil, dark sound to it and a fantastic solo to close the track, a true masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars At A Cemetery Near You, 30 Nov 2006
By 
D. J. H. Thorn "davethorn13" (Hull, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Black Sabbath (Audio CD)
Most bands who forge an individual identity take a couple of albums to do so. Black Sabbath had theirs pretty much laid out when they made their first. Let's make music to scare people, they said. It might have had something to do with the obvious fact that several other bands were ahead of them in the heavy blues stakes. Indeed, their blues influences surface on 'The Wizard' and 'The Warning'. But Chuck Berry this is not. Hammer Films might not have consulted them, but this is horror music. Tony Iommi was clearly already a fine guitarist, but the extended solos on 'The Warning' demonstrate that the band's strength was not conventional riffing, but the ability to create that effect of some unspeakable leviathan splitting the earth open and crawling out of it. As Ozzy Osbourne advises on the band's signature tune, 'Turn round quick and start to run'. From the beginning of this album, they bring your nightmares to you. Osbourne is no great singer, but he sure knows how to arrange the flowers in the graveyard. For me, the tracks 'Black Sabbath', 'Behind The Wall Of Sleep' and 'Sleeping Village' are what this band do best and make them unique. The bluesy stuff is okay, but better left to others. Meanwhile, the lyrics are variable to say the least. The title track sets the tone for the band's career, but when, on the bonus track, 'Wicked World', they address serious issues directly, it comes across as hackneyed. With hindsight, this is a landmark album, but is it classic rock? In places, yes, but not entirely. If you like 'Master Of Reality' and 'Paranoid', then come back to it later.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The One That Started It All, 13 May 2012
This review is from: Black Sabbath (Audio CD)
This is an album that ALL should know and need no introduction. The birth of Heavy Metal (still called Heavy Rock at the time). From the first bell toll of the albums title track you know you're listening to something special, even today. Then the Wizard sneaks up and grabs you. You get hit over the head with NIB and you rock along singing to Evil Woman, Don't Play Your Games With Me. Great for a ring tone BTW! The more experimental Behind the wall of sleep, Sleeping village, Warning, and Tomorrows Dream have that deep early charm of discovery of what electric, percussive armament was about to give birth to. If you claim to be any sort of lover of rock or metal this album should be in your collection and top of the playlist if not you're a fraud!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Black Sabbath
Black Sabbath by Black Sabbath (Audio CD - 2014)
Click for more info
In stock on September 30, 2014
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews