Customer Reviews


97 Reviews
5 star:
 (72)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Boy by Roald Dahl
Lots of people know Roald Dahl by his fantastic books of Charlie and the chocolate factory or James and the giant peach. If wanted to find information about his early life, this book would be the place to look.
The Boy is sort of an early childhood autobiography. He says this isn’t a biography but really it is. The story is told in time order. For example a...
Published on 20 Nov 2005

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining
I rather enjoyed boy it was entertaining and fun to read about all the pranks roald dahl pulled when he was a boy!
Published 5 months ago by Chloe-leigh Etesami


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Boy by Roald Dahl, 20 Nov 2005
By A Customer
Lots of people know Roald Dahl by his fantastic books of Charlie and the chocolate factory or James and the giant peach. If wanted to find information about his early life, this book would be the place to look.
The Boy is sort of an early childhood autobiography. He says this isn’t a biography but really it is. The story is told in time order. For example a story about Roald’s Dad is told before Roald Dahl being born. If you enjoy short true stories then this is the book to read.
The piece of text is in sections Starting Point, Llandaff Cathedral School, St Peter’s and Repton and Shell. The sections are then put into stories. For example The Great Mouse Plot or the First Day. It also tells us the years it happened like St Peter’s; 1925-1929 (age 9-13). There are a lot of real life photos of Roald Dahl and his family. There are also he own drawing in there. For example there is some of Mrs Prachett. The stories in the book might be real or might be fictionalised. I just don’t know because this book wasn’t written at the time it was happening it was written about memories and these memories might be wrong. This book can tell you what schools were like at the 20s and 30s.
This piece of text has lots of stories so you don’t need to have a lot of time to read a whole story. You also need to be able to read different kinds of stories with cruelty in. You can read these stories to people because they are very entertaining. I don’t think you could make a play out of it like Peter Pan.
I read the text by myself. I told one story to my brothers and they really enjoyed it. I suppose you can only read this book if you know who Roald Dahl is. You don’t have to have read any of his books because it’s only about his childhood and not his career.
This book is really enjoyable and the stories he wrote in this book are brilliant. You find out memories of Roald’s childhood. If I had to write out a book about my childhood, it would never be as good as this book. Firstly because I haven’t even finished my childhood and secondly I haven’t had that many adventures.
The reason this book has been published is…………
1. Roald Dahl is a fabulous author and people will want to know about his childhood.
2. It has great Graphology
3. The audience can actually imagine what Roald Dahl looked like.
4. It has great stories which make you glue to the book.
5. It tells you about his family and friends.
Thanks for reading my first review. I hope I’ve encouraged you to read The Boy. Trust me if you don’t read this book you will miss out. Also if you’ve got a project about Roald Dahl this is the place to look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Author biography for young readers, 10 May 2004
By 
Chrestomanci (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
It’s an accepted fact that most young readers prefer fantasy to biography. If given the choice between the ‘Diary of Anne Frank’ or the latest J K Rowling or Jacqueline Wilson, few children would choose the biography, despite it being an essential addition to their library. However, Roald Dahl’s true-life stories of his childhood are the ideal cross-over, helping the young reader discover that truth can be as fascinating as fiction.
As always, Roald Dahl’s style of writing is highly accessible and great fun to read. Millions of children are familiar with his hilarious fantasy stories (Matilda, Charlie & the Chocolate Factory, The Witches), so are more likely to read this slightly more serious book than they would other biographical material.
‘Going Solo’, Dahl’s sequel to ‘Boy’ is one of the most gripping little books I have ever read. I strongly recommend both books to children of all ages … adults too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the wonderful story of boy, 24 Nov 2005
By A Customer
"boy" by roald dahl is a truely wonderfully written book. the book reads more like a story than a biography but it still gives you an insight into the amazing imagination of roald dahl.i have been a fan of roald dahl since my childhood but this book and its companion biography "going solo" are my two favorite books by this magnificent author. i would highly recommend this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful, funny book, 2 May 2004
Roald Dahl was a big part of my life as a child, as his books sent my imagination out of control! Now i am 18 and i can still sit down with one of his books and be completely absorbed for hours at a time. I read 'Boy, tales of childhood' yesterday and couldn't put it down. I felt as if i was being taken on a journey with Roald Dahl, back to England in the early 20th Century, and to the beautiful sounding Norway. I cringed as he described the pain of the cane, and laughed at the 'Great Mouse Plot' of 1924. Roald Dahl was an extremely mischievous little boy, and this makes the book a thoroughly exciting read.
An interesting aspect of the book is that the characters Dahl describes from his childhood are often similar to the ones he later constructed in his wonderful children's books, showing how childhood had a big impact on his later life.
Roald Dahl was a wonderful writer, i personally see him as genius, he was my childhood hero and this book is a truly amazing read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Serious reading for all ages, 25 April 2009
By 
Emily - London (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
I read this and then my nine year old son read this and we both loved it. Roald Dahl wrote to his mother every week from boarding school and these letters are a source for this autobiography. His father died. His sister died. But Dahl is an English schoolboy capable of making the most sidelong references to his emotions. What he has aimed to do is pick out the most vivid and extreme incidents of his youth that have the ability to carry over time. The time he put a dead mouse in Mrs Pratchett's sweet shop jar and got whipped for it. Wonderful holidays in Norway. Having his adenoids taken out without anaesthetic. The injustice of being whipped at school for something he had not done. His love of photography. He conveys a sense that it is possible to overcome trauma by turning it into a funny story. And he made my son outraged about corporal punishment!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Okay, 28 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boy: Tales of Childhood (Kindle Edition)
I think Ronald Dahl was a right character when he was younger and he gets up to tuns of mischievous things, like putting dead mice in sweet jars. I would really recommend this book to kids who like to listen to mischievous tales. It is a fantastic story and I think it it worth all the money that you pay. Fantastic for a bedtime story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars so enjoyable, 24 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I had bought 'going solo' in a charity shop and so after reading that was keen to read the prequel! The writing is so Roald Dahl - so funny and poignant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Boy, 16 Mar 2012
It was nice story about Roald Dahl's childhood. This story is about a little boy called Roald Dahl who had put a dead mouse in Gobstopper jar to try to scared mrs pratchett. It had a lot of funny thing happen to him. Read the book then you can know the end. its is pretty good to children and adults to read.
-Pak Jye
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars entertaining for both adult and child, 24 Oct 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good read and insight into the early life of Roald Dahl, and public school, with witty comment. Its both disturbing and funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars inspirational, 7 Sep 2010
By 
A. W. Dunn (Exmoor. UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Roald Dahl should be read by every (one) and every child as an inspiration to each and every one of us of what is important in this life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Boy: Tales of Childhood
2.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews