Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Who's complaining....??
Well, what prompted me to write a review of this 2 CD collection was the totally miserable lack of stars that other reviewers had given it!! (One and three stars - who are these people?? Val Doonican fans?). Its The Who for goodness sake! And a 2 CD package at this price containing a disc of blistering live material....give me a break! Ok, you might argue about the...
Published on 7 Mar 2010 by C. H. Turnbull

versus
62 of 66 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Caution re live material
There are many Best of the Who compilations available and the back catalogue speaks for itself. The attraction of this package is the accompanying album of live tracks. Much of the classic era live material it contains was put out on a double CD entitled View From A Backstage Pass, which is a subscription incentive offered by The Who.com website. The material was supposed...
Published on 11 Feb 2010 by a music fan


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

62 of 66 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Caution re live material, 11 Feb 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits & More (Audio CD)
There are many Best of the Who compilations available and the back catalogue speaks for itself. The attraction of this package is the accompanying album of live tracks. Much of the classic era live material it contains was put out on a double CD entitled View From A Backstage Pass, which is a subscription incentive offered by The Who.com website. The material was supposed to be otherwise unavailable and exclusive to website subscribers, but here much of it is tacked on to a greatest hits package as a bonus disc. A few other tracks have been included so the dodgy marketing of the Who's back catalogue enters a new phase. Previous greatest hits compilations have included bonus tracks to make the fans buy the bulk of the material repeatedly to get the new stuff. Now those who have paid to subscribe to the band's website on the promise of some exclusive material are taking their turn to be ripped off having to buy a chunk of that 'exclusive' material again in order to get a few later live tracks.

The Who's greatest hits deserves 5 stars but the cynical marketing operation that milks the fans with monotonous regularity stinks on ice. There have been many more compilation albums of this band than there were original albums

In conclusion. If you've not got any of the greatest hits on disc already and/or are not a subscriber to the band's website then this package is attractive. Otherwise caveat emptor...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Confused!??!!!?, 11 Feb 2010
By 
Graham Bell (Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Greatest Hits & More (Audio CD)
Greatest HIts??? Hmmmm. I've been a who collector for 22 years and this compilation has me some what confused. Where's Join Together? Let's See Action? The Seeker? 5.15? Anyway Anyhow Anywhere? And when was Eminence Front a 'hit'? It's a one of very few weak Who songs and it wasn't even released as a single in the UK.

Come on guys, you've released so many Best Ofs, and just in the last 8 years there's been The Ultimate Collection in 2002, the 'Now & Then' best of in 2004 (and re-released again in 2007) and now yet ANOTHER greatest hits compilation?

The live tracks are definitely the saving grace of this release however, a worthy addition to any fan, as some are previously unreleased - they really show how AMAZING The Who are.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Who's complaining....??, 7 Mar 2010
This review is from: Greatest Hits & More (Audio CD)
Well, what prompted me to write a review of this 2 CD collection was the totally miserable lack of stars that other reviewers had given it!! (One and three stars - who are these people?? Val Doonican fans?). Its The Who for goodness sake! And a 2 CD package at this price containing a disc of blistering live material....give me a break! Ok, you might argue about the marketing ploy adopted but you can't argue with the music. The second disc of this package is worth twice the price alone. I sympathise with those that have signed up previously for this 'exclusive' material but its great that its out there for all to get and at a bargain price. Two and a half hours of The Mighty Who for under nine quid? Who's complaining.....?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars MORE OF THE SAME - BUT STILL WORTH THE MONEY!, 24 April 2010
By 
R. Stansfield "Yorkatt" (York, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits & More (Audio CD)
As a dedicated 'WHO' fan for the last God knows how many years I purchased this knowing full well that I already have at least four of five versions of their 'Greatest Hits' on CD. But when I put CD2 on, which has unreleased live performances on it, I got a really pleasant suprise. EXCELLENT and, at this price, WELL worth the money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lots more than just the old hits, 10 Feb 2010
By 
Mr. J. P. Secretan "John Secretan" (Walton on Thames. Surrey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits & More (Audio CD)
You could easily dismiss this release as just another case of the Who cashing in again by re-releasing a greatest hits album for the umpteenth time, but the saving grace is the second disc which has an excellent selection of live tracks recorded over the years from an early rendition of My Generation recorded for the BBC in 1965 right up until 2007. The fabulous performance by Roger Daltrey and Pete Townshend of the most recent song, Man In A Purple Dress (from the band`s last album to date Endless Wire)is worth the price of admission alone. There are also particularly good performances of Pinball Wizard,I`m Free and Squeeze Box from the legendary Swansea 1976 gig. The studio CD has most of the key tracks released by the band in chronological order starting with the groups first single recorded in 1964 I Can`t Explain right up to It`s Not Enough (from the aforementioned Endless Wire album.
Two slight moans, the booklet contains a glaring error. It wrongly states that the fiddle playing on Baba O`Reilly was by Dave Swarbrick but anyone with any knowledgr of The Who knows it was by Dave Arbus, from East of Eden. Also the printing of the dates and locations of the live tracks is so small that you need a telescope to read them. Apart from thes two minor things this is an excellent release from one of the best groups ever but make sure you buy the 2 disc, not the single disc version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good set., 21 July 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits & More (Audio CD)
I don't have much on c.d. by The Who so thought it's about time I should at least have a decent complilation. The appeal of this was the inclusion of the second disc, being a live one. Not disappointed, as there are some nice versions included here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Briiiiliant, 26 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Who- The Greatest Hits & More (MP3 Download)
Great value for money. A must for any music collection. Live tracks are a great bonus and show how good they were live.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Who, 25 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits & More (Audio CD)
Great Songs for blasting out on those days sat in the Garden (if we ever get a sunny day lol)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Who Better than Ever, 15 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Who- The Greatest Hits & More (MP3 Download)
The Who have been making superb music for over 50 years. No other group can boast this achievement. Todays kids still enjoy their music and it has stood the test of time. It is amazing how many Who tracks are featured in films, adverts and television, a testament to their popularity. Long may they continue. Seen them live recently and even though two members short they can still produce a magnificent performance and the o2 was packed. Will be missed when they finally retire !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great download Album, 2 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Who- The Greatest Hits & More (MP3 Download)
Always liked the who`s singles over the years, as I am in my 50`s have heard them over and over, but you still sing along.
But never thought that happy jack was there`s. So a very nice surprise to hear that after 40 + years. The live stage tracks for me are a mixed bag, some just put on without an update tickle, and you can hear that the track is mono (which I don`t mind as I heard them that way) some tracks I think sound better mono and I`m not saying that about this ablum, just saying that some live track sound mono that`s all. One down side is I didn`t like pinball wizard live set, don`t know why just didn`t. I think that's the thing about tracks you like one or the other ie: studio or gig track.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews