Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kojak Series 3: Who loves ya baby?
Note - This review is specific to the excellent Region 1 Shout Factory release, and NOT the terrible Region 2 Mediumrare effort.

Lt. Theo Kojak - probably one of the coolest telly detectives of them all. Played with infinite charm by Telly Savalas, Kojak is a tough New York policeman who is about as straight as you can get, doing his best to keep the innocent...
Published 23 months ago by Victor

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful series spoiled in places by poor sound quality
Real nostalgia for Kojak fans - the good old days when plots were interesting and actors all looked different from one another!

This is an enjoyable series, with reasonably good picture quality but the sound balance is poor in some episodes where the background noise (typewriters and footsteps in a busy office for example) makes some of the dialogue difficult...
Published on 20 April 2012 by Margaret L


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kojak Series 3: Who loves ya baby?, 17 May 2012
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Note - This review is specific to the excellent Region 1 Shout Factory release, and NOT the terrible Region 2 Mediumrare effort.

Lt. Theo Kojak - probably one of the coolest telly detectives of them all. Played with infinite charm by Telly Savalas, Kojak is a tough New York policeman who is about as straight as you can get, doing his best to keep the innocent citizenry safe. A character with wit and intelligence, a heart, and a no-nonsense approach which allows the rules to be bent if it means bringing a villain to justice. Savalas is perfect in the role, his imposing physical presence filling the screen and his magnetic charm keeping you glued to the set. With his nattily dressed style, deep reassuring voice and well chosen naturalistic sounding `street' dialogue, Kojak is an impressive and believable construct, almost a living being rather than a work of fiction.

The joy of the series for me is that while it has a strong central character in the form of Kojak, it also has a very strong supporting cast, especially Dan Frazer as Kojak's Captain, and Kevin Dobson as Crocker, Kojak's number two. Kojak might have the brain that fits the pieces together, but the detective work shown here relies on a team, all doing the boring stuff of checking files and making endless phonecalls in order to find the clues Kojak needs. It's as much about the team as it is about the main character. That the script writers managed to make mundane policework look so interesting is a testament to their abilities. There is also quite a bit of comic interplay between Kojak and Stavros, played by Savalas' real life brother George, which never feels too jokey or out of place - it comes across as tough men doing a tough job letting off a bit of steam, another credit to writers and performers.

Beautifully remastered and with great sound, these look and sound fantastic. As far as I can tell the episodes are uncut. The quality of the release is superb, far superior to the poor Region 2 effort that we have had for a few years now. The European release had faded colours, interference, colour leaking and blurriness in picture and sound. The American release is taken from a much better source, and the picture and sound are both pin sharp with a real vibrancy to the colours. I will definitely be waiting for Shout Factory to release Series Five rather than buy the European release. I have hopes that this will be soon, as Shout Factory have just released a complete Kojak films set, including the Marcus Nelson Murders inexplicably omitted from Universal's release of series 1 a few years ago, and they look set to release the rest of the Kojak catalogue.

An excellent set, a real gem in my DVD collection. 5 stars, no hesitation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful series spoiled in places by poor sound quality, 20 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kojak - Season 3 [DVD] (DVD)
Real nostalgia for Kojak fans - the good old days when plots were interesting and actors all looked different from one another!

This is an enjoyable series, with reasonably good picture quality but the sound balance is poor in some episodes where the background noise (typewriters and footsteps in a busy office for example) makes some of the dialogue difficult to hear.

So, I turned up the volume and got deafened by the next run of Kojak's police siren!

However, it's enjoyable just the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great buy, 14 Sep 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kojak - Season 3 [DVD] (DVD)
Kojak, how can anyone be disappointed in any of the shows? I love his character and I wish there were more of Kojak and Telly Savalas...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars kojak season 3, 13 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kojak - Season 3 [DVD] (DVD)
This DVD is very disppointing. Love Kojak but at least halfof the episodes were unwatchable as the sound quality was so poor and the dialogue could not be deciphered. Shocking at the price of 35.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great episodes but the quality not great, 26 April 2010
By 
Ken (Cedarhurst, Long Island) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Kojak - Season 3 [DVD] (DVD)
Seasons 2 and 3 are not available in the US but are now availale in Europe (I live on the US side of the pond). These DVDs do not appear to have been remastered so if Film quality is critical, you will be disappointed. The DVDs are very watchable, just don't compare them to other releases of old TV shows that have been remastered. These old Kojak episodes are better than anything new being offered on American TV today, in my opinion anyway. You will need an "all region" DVD player to watch this on an American DVD player.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A master cop at work., 22 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kojak - Season 3 [DVD] (DVD)
If like me you are 40 or 50 something, you will remember this guy as a legend from American cop shows in the 70's. It shines above the so-called cop shows of today. 'Who loves ya, baby?'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kojak - a classic!, 8 Jan 2014
By 
J. Osborne (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kojak - Season 3 [DVD] (DVD)
I only saw some of the episodes when they were first screened way back, so I was delighted to find the series being released on DVD. The sound quality has suffered a little, but not enough to be a problem and each disc does carry a note at the beginning to warn that quality may not be as good as it was originally. Loving the series all over again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 18 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kojak - Season 3 [DVD] (DVD)
I ordered this DVD for my mother who used to watch the programmes on TV many years ago and still enjoys watching them now
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent series!, 27 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kojak - Season 3 [DVD] (DVD)
I remember Kojak in the early seventies and it's as good now as it was then! Wiil buy more box sets in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, 23 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kojak - Season 3 [DVD] (DVD)
bought this as a Christmas present for my hubby was much cheaper than the high street and other internet sites
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb5a1680c)

This product

Kojak - Season 3 [DVD]
Kojak - Season 3 [DVD] by Telly Savalas (DVD - 2010)
17.21
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews