Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Personal Demons
!!!WARNING!MAY CONTAIN SPOILERS!!!

Alex(Nicholas Shaw) and Kate(Zoe Richards) are enjoying a lazy night in, a takeaway followed by a dvd. It's close to midnight and there's a knocking at the door. Alex answers it and his friend David(Giles Alderson) rushes in, informing him that his girlfriend Sarah has been cheating on him. Alex and Kate let David stay over...
Published on 18 Aug 2010 by Mr. Jonathon T. Beckett

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Leave your brain behind when watching
Warning: SPOILERS. I was impressed enough by some reviews to chance this, and at first it did seem to have something going for it; you have a man who shows up at a friend's flat claiming to have broken up with his partner, but as he stays the night it seems there is a lot more to it than that - he seems to be pursued by something supernatural. The character David is...
Published on 15 Jan 2011 by Chinatown Blue


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Personal Demons, 18 Aug 2010
By 
Mr. Jonathon T. Beckett "vampire lover" (Dracula's Crypt) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Torment [DVD] (DVD)
!!!WARNING!MAY CONTAIN SPOILERS!!!

Alex(Nicholas Shaw) and Kate(Zoe Richards) are enjoying a lazy night in, a takeaway followed by a dvd. It's close to midnight and there's a knocking at the door. Alex answers it and his friend David(Giles Alderson) rushes in, informing him that his girlfriend Sarah has been cheating on him. Alex and Kate let David stay over but soon start to regret that decision as David is not alone. He has brought something into the house with him....
I agree with the reviewer who describes the film as scary, as this little Brit horror really has something about it that gets under the skin. It's a real case of 'less is more' as half glimpsed horrors in the dark prove just as hair raising as full on blood and gore. What is so great about this film is that it is so open ended. Even the ending is ambiguous raising as many questions as answers. I like to think of it as a supernatural horror, but that could just be my personal preferences taking over, as it could just as easily be a case of David's inner demons. Whilst not totally original in its premise, 'The Torment' otherwise known as 'The Possession Of David O'Reilly' shows tremendous promise for great things to come from director Andrew Cull. I especially loved one scene when David has a second encounter with the neighbour from upstairs, Anna(Fransesca Fowler). That little sequence of chills is almost worth the admission price on its own.
A really enjoyable low budget chiller. 5 out of 5 despite the lack of extras on the dvd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Leave your brain behind when watching, 15 Jan 2011
By 
Chinatown Blue "cthulhoid" (S-O-T, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Torment [DVD] (DVD)
Warning: SPOILERS. I was impressed enough by some reviews to chance this, and at first it did seem to have something going for it; you have a man who shows up at a friend's flat claiming to have broken up with his partner, but as he stays the night it seems there is a lot more to it than that - he seems to be pursued by something supernatural. The character David is played very well; you find yourself infected by his nervousness, and tension grows as he spends the night in terror of some barely seen opponent. But then any and all credibility went out of the window when his friends suddenly turn into completely gullible dimwits. Nobody asks why he has tipped salt on their kitchen floor, and how far his girlfriend could have got on her 'few days away' if, as he claims, she left her bag behind. His old college chum falls instantly in with his 'demons coming to get us' routine on the basis of a lot of running about and screaming in blacked-out rooms, never once stopping to wonder - could my old pal by any chance be a paranoid delusional case? The woman of the couple does finally develop misgivings, but only after more than two days of being under seige in the place by nothing at all, and experiencing nothing that could not be accounted for by Mister Fruitcake's own tampering (including the laboriously set-up webcams monitoring the place, which are triggered by something but at first record nothing - webcams, of course, having motion sensors which start them recording the microsecond something goes past, rather than kicking in a few seconds later after what set them off can have got out of sight). Nobody checks any of the other footage, for instance to see who it was who unplugged the phone. Nobody even takes the basic precaution during the hours of daylight of finding and keeping handy torches, candles, or other reliable light sources in case the lights go out again. In fact, nobody even goes out during the day. Which would appear the wisest thing to do under these circumstances. It finally struck me, in the utterly predictable last 15 minutes, that the only people who would find this rubbish remotely credible and worthwhile were those who have taken so many 'recreational' drugs their brains are permanently addled and their paranoia on permanent red alert. There are some good scare scenes, but without internal consistency and credibility of the characters that is no more than the cinematic equivalent of suddenly jumping out and shouting boo at people in a shopping mall; startling, but senseless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Shows promise, but could do a lot better, 16 Aug 2010
By 
P. Lee (CARDIFF, CARDIFF United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Torment [DVD] (DVD)
I came across this by accident in a local supermarket, and as such wasn't expecting too much from this at all. It all seemed to start well. There was a palpable sense of dread, of something terrible about to happen, this was largely created by the cinematography; the camera would pan to a shadowy corridoor, or up the stairs, and linger there silently, as if waiting for something. And then the early scenes of the demons were pretty good too; you don't get to see much at all, a bulbous eye, a bit of blood and a whole lot of shadow, which is obviously a good thing for a film with a miniscule budget. The plot, however, needed a lot more focus: the makers couldn't seem to decide which way it was going: perhaps they were trying to disorientate the viewer as much as the protagonists, but this is probably giving them too much credit. They perhaps thought the ending was clever but in fact it just ends up confusing everybody. There are also a lot of unanswered questions - is Sarah dead? Were the newspaper articles of terrible deaths premonitions? Did Anna the pregnant tenant really suffer the terrible fate we saw happen to her? If it didn't, where did she go? Why salt?
So, to conclude, initially promising, but ultimately disappointing. I will add though, that the makers could well be ones to watch out for in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chilling!, 17 Aug 2010
This review is from: The Torment [DVD] (DVD)
This is a super chilling story. The portrait of a man descending into madness, or is what he sees, what's chasing him real? If you like supernatural films, check this out. Scary!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars tormented, 2 July 2014
This review is from: The Torment [DVD] (DVD)
Not to bad,has some jumpy moments but not much else
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars not bad, 6 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Torment [DVD] (DVD)
Not bad film, makes you jump now and then. If you like horror films you might enjoy this one.At the end of it i thought that it was a bit samey like a lot of horror films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Unexplainable events that remain so. That's the point!, 27 Nov 2011
This review is from: The Torment [DVD] (DVD)
Looking at the reviews here, and elsewhere, it seems that the likelihood of your enjoying this film will depend largely on your tolerance for horror films that end without an explanation of the preceding events. To me, not only is that the films strong point, I'd go as far as to say it is THE point.

My only gripe is that there was just a little too much of the actors shrieking and darting around looking terrified (shades of 'Blair Witch').

I'm disappointed that a couple of the reviews here contain un-signposted spoilers; presumably those reviewers think that if they don't like a film it's surprises aren't worth preserving for others. That said, this really isn't a plot-driven film so don't let it put you off checking this one out if you're a horror fan in the mood for something a little left-field.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Scary little number..., 9 Sep 2010
By 
Mr. J. Ryden (In your mind, in the part you've forgotten about.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Torment [DVD] (DVD)
I can see that the reviews so far are divided; suffice it to say i'll strike the middle-road. I only caught this via Virgin Media's films on demand service (the wife's choice, I hasten to add). When I first read the synopsis I though, great, here's a low(er)-budget rip-off of Paranormal Activity (which I thought an abysmal film anyway). It's fair to say my expectations were low from the off.

I won't waste words and your reading time by needlessly outlining the plot. What I will say (as another reviewer said) is that the film does get under your skin. In the first 15mins I couldn't work out where the film was heading; then night falls and then you begin to share David's creepy visions. From there the film is pretty relentless (David's hysterical screaming is almost a constant); hand-held camera, the use of darkness (though not to the detriment of the film) and a one-location film make for a very claustrophobic experience - the pregnant neighbour scene thoroughly got to me.

While others were disatisfied with the ending, I thought it tied-up the film nicely and makes the viewer re-evaluate what you thought was real or not. The film stayed with me for days after; in fact, it prompted me to write my first review.

Lastly - and in fairness - if I were allowed 0.5 stars I would give the film 3.5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genuinely scary, 3 Feb 2011
By 
Benjamin Overd (Somerset, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Torment [DVD] (DVD)
Very few films I've seen actually properly scare me but I can honestly say that this is the first. A couple's distressed friend asks to stay with them after the break up of his three year relationship but with him come either a)terrifying visions or b)terrifying demons. Whichever one it is its still genuinely scary. The suspense builds which gets the heart racing. A MUST HAVE for horror lovers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What The Hell!!!!!!!, 14 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Torment [DVD] (DVD)
This film has two halves, the first half nothing happens of any interest whatsoever and the second makes absolutely no sense. As far as I can tell they get chased around by a monster with some sort of glove puppet that it uses to pleasure itself with, and then one of them goes mad and stabs the others. It is probably the most ridiculous horror film I have ever seen. Rather than waste the 82 minutes of my life on this film again I would rather have violent diarrhea.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Torment [DVD]
The Torment [DVD] by Steve Isles (DVD - 2010)
1.45
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews