Customer Reviews


58 Reviews
5 star:
 (52)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Built to last
We have a number of these engines for my son's Thomas Take and Play (or Take Along) set. James comes with his coal tender, which attaches magnetically to the back of James (as do the other engines and rolling stock in the set). The die cast engine is well built, with toddlers and pre-schoolers in mind, and will withstand a fair bit of abuse with minimal chipping. As such,...
Published on 7 Jun. 2011 by R. Varoujian

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Chipped Paint
The toy arrived with a chip to the paint. The paint also looks glossy in some place but matte in others, as if it hasn't been finished correctly. Disappointing as we have lots or trains from this range and never had a problem before.
Published 19 months ago by sian challis


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Built to last, 7 Jun. 2011
By 
R. Varoujian (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Thomas and Friends Take-n-Play James (Toy)
We have a number of these engines for my son's Thomas Take and Play (or Take Along) set. James comes with his coal tender, which attaches magnetically to the back of James (as do the other engines and rolling stock in the set). The die cast engine is well built, with toddlers and pre-schoolers in mind, and will withstand a fair bit of abuse with minimal chipping. As such, they have excellent second hand value. The name of the character is imprinted on the bottom, and the magnets are integral to the toy, making them very safe for little ones. The face is well detailed and the toy gives an accurate representation of the character overall. Great build quality and good detail make this a winner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thomas, 27 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thomas and Friends Take-n-Play James (Toy)
I bought James to go with the Tidmouth Sheds Playset with other engines. My grandchildren are 2 and a half and when they first saw it their eyes lit up so it stays with me when they visit. Money well spent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice little engine!!, 7 Dec. 2013
By 
L. Shah "Lubsha" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thomas and Friends Take-n-Play James (Toy)
Nice detailed copy of the original and well built too and just about proper size for the little hands.. my kids love it. thanks amazon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for Little Hands, 28 Aug. 2014
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Thomas and Friends Take-n-Play James (Toy)
My 18 month old is Thomas crazy!! We came across these take and play toys on a holiday to Centre Parcs looking for something small and quiet to keep.him occupied while we ate out. He loved them so much we are now building up the whole collection! He is rarely without one in his hand and he loves how they stick together with the magnets. I found this the best price online also, can't put a price on their happiness :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice, 7 Mar. 2012
By 
Kerry Davies "kerry_ann7" (Coventry) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Thomas and Friends Take-n-Play James (Toy)
Nice little engine, a good size for my daughter to take out in her bag to play with when we're out and about,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great but big flaw, 21 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thomas and Friends Take-n-Play James (Toy)
This is a great train and my 3y old son loves it a lot. He’s had it a year or so and it’s still in good condition despite all the play.
Major flaw (in my mind) is that it does not fit our wooden train set so isn’t as functional as it could be. Not the end of the world but from now on I’ll be buying the wooden “Thomas” trains which do fit our train set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great little engine, 15 Mar. 2014
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Thomas and Friends Take-n-Play James (Toy)
My little boy lives Thomas and has started to collect the take n play. They are well built and have the names printed on the bottom to help you recognise who they are. It's a lovely size to fit into toddlers coat pockets or even your own to take out and about. I usually have a couple on mine just in case he needs entertaining while out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ... take and play engines James is providing lots of fun for our grandson, 24 Nov. 2014
By 
G. M. Denison (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thomas and Friends Take-n-Play James (Toy)
As with all the take and play engines James is providing lots of fun for our grandson. The paintwork has taken a battering but it is of a good quality and is sturdy. The wheels are well made and run smoothly. It has been added to a large collection of other engines. If your child loves Thomas and friends then this is a good engine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Chipped Paint, 9 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thomas and Friends Take-n-Play James (Toy)
The toy arrived with a chip to the paint. The paint also looks glossy in some place but matte in others, as if it hasn't been finished correctly. Disappointing as we have lots or trains from this range and never had a problem before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars From the original line up and often in trouble, 6 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thomas and Friends Take-n-Play James (Toy)
A tender engine and one of the original characters from the Thomas the tank engine stories and so a must for every collection, along with Gordon, Henry, Edward, Percy, Duck, Toby, Donald and Douglas as well as Thomas of course!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Thomas & Friends Take-n-Play James
£6.53
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews