Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars28
5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
27
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£14.78+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 March 2010
A nice companion to go alongside Legacy's expanded edition of FROM ELVIS IN MEMPHIS released last year, this new edition of the King's 1970 in-concert album ON STAGE actually includes both of Elvis Presley's first two live albums, the other one in the package being his debut in-concert set, ELVIS IN PERSON, released initially as part of the double-album FROM VEGAS TO MEMPHIS/FROM MEMPHIS TO VEGAS in late 1969 before being re-released as an album in its own right in late 1970. Both albums feature material taken from the King's Las Vegas engagements of August 1969 and February 1970, with ELVIS IN PERSON on disc two being slanted in favour of Elvis' early rock and roll material and ON STAGE concentrating on a revised set list during which Elvis was keen to interpret more contemporary songs like Creedence Clearwater Revival's 'Proud Mary' and Neil Diamond's 'Sweet Caroline'.

In a catalogue which was to become strewn with live albums during the 1970s, both ON STAGE and ELVIS IN PERSON capture the King at something of a performance peak, when his command of the International Hotel showroom was fresh and innovative and before it began to teeter on the brink of self-parody. The sense of Elvis enjoying his musical renaissance is palpable throughout ELVIS IN PERSON, where old favourites like 'Blue Suede Shoes' and 'Mystery Train' stand proud alongside dynamic new recordings like an epic and impassioned rendering of 'Suspicious Minds'. Similarly, with the later ON STAGE album, Elvis' enthusiasm for more contemporary tunes shines through with his stupendous rendition of Tony Joe White's 'Polk Salad Annie' and a heartfelt cover of Joe South's 'Walk A Mile In my Shoes'.

A nice selection of bonus tracks have been tacked onto both albums, with those on ELVIS IN PERSON perhaps being of most interest, during which we get to hear Elvis getting his teeth into bluesy numbers like 'Baby, What You Want Me To Do', 'Reconsider Baby' and the song that launched his global breakthrough, 'Heartbreak Hotel'. With regard to the ON STAGE album, a bonus performance of the lovely 'Kentucky Rain' is very pleasing to hear also.

Together with FROM ELVIS IN MEMPHIS, ON STAGE is a benchmark in Elvis Presley's career, showing that at the end of the 1960s he was once again just as important to contemporary popular music as the rock groups and solo performers who had risen in his wake throughout the decade.
11 comment|27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2011
Really great compilation very well presented. I had been looking for a long while for some of the tracks on this album, it exceeded my expectations and I will be collecting others in the legacy series
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2015
This is a cd set that I would give to anyone who I would try to convince that Elvis was the ultimate live performer. The power and the way he sings his own and others songs here is amazing, just try listening to Elvis version of "My Babe" and you will know what I mean. Almost all the songs here are better or just as good as the studio recordings, so even if you have most of these in non live versions you should buy this. The remastering done by Vic Ascinni is another reason to get this, even though you might have the original concerts (this is both my and my good freind's, who is an audiofile, opinion ), so do youself a favor, go get this ;)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2010
This is an outstanding live album from `the King' . I have been collecting alot of Elvis songs for some time and over the last few months his `live' performances. If you buy one live album of Elvis, this one is the best, and shows Elvis at his physical and vocal peak. As well as his popular songs, there are some extraordinary tracks such as his R n' B (disc 1) ` My Babe' (my current favourite), (disc 2) I Got a Woman, Baby, what you want me to do' and Kentucky Rain (disc 1) which is heartbreaking.
As the previous reviewer said, this album is an excellent companion to the Legacy's edition of `From Elvis in Memphis'. It gives you a little idea of how extraordinary Elvis's diverse vocal range was and due to his diverse musical influences in his life. He is the most innovative artist (in my humble opinion) and can improvise any song and make it his own, for example, Runaway and Proud Mary, Long Tall sally (disc 1).
There is a booklet which comes with the double album. which gives a bit of a potted history about his Live performances in Las Vegas and there are some fantastic pictures. When he returned to live performing, he wasn't just the `King of Rock and Roll' , he was also the' King of `Cool'. This is Elvis in his finest, at his raunchiest, at his most rockiest, at his most soulful, most inspirational and sincerest to his audience. When he sang, he did it with his heart and soul and he meant it. His backing musicians and backing singers all `a wonder' to hear. If only, I could be transported back in time, I would loved to have been at an Elvis concert in Las Vegas !
I listen and see alot of current Rock bands live, their lead musicians are not even in the same league as Elvis and somehow, I always have to come back to listen Elvis again, to be reinspire my faith in music. If you are music collector, this is `must have' in you collection. If you don't listen to Elvis much, this album will blow you away and you'd wish had listened to it before. Definitely worth buying !!
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2010
I enjoyed reading the other five star reviews and the content sparked my interest in this album/C.D, once again.I brought the L.P. back in 1978 as I was fascinated by his live 1970s albums and still am - simply as there is no one to touch him as an entertainer and musical force to date.
I simply love the songs that Elvis belts out with his excellent band and back up singers. The album was recorded in 1969 and Elvis is diverse in its choice of songs: covers, originals and contemporary but always sounding vital and moving. For example the great See See Rider is probably the best live version from his live albums. Then he tackles Proud Mary - The Credence Clear Water number with real power. Its great listening to him come alive in concert and take us with him. There is a nice version of yesterday and the Del Shannon number Runaway.
I think lovers of good music will like this C.D. as it is simply great music on all levels and styles.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2012
this cd is worth buying as it is elvis at the very top of his game but, every fan already has the two albums on their shelf and I am not sure the bonus tracks or packaging/sleeve makes it a must have.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2013
I feel that this is one of his better live albums where he treats some of his older material with more respect.On some live recordings they become "throwaway tracks"which I believe diminish the overall quality of the album.If you are an Elvis fan no doubt you will have it in some form but this remastered version has good sound quality
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2016
RCA Legacy Edition was conceived as a project where two of Elvis’ popular albums were grouped together, and released as a box set. In this On Stage, February 1970 set, the two albums are 1) On Stage (Billboard 13/1970 and UK 2/1970)(14 tracks with 4 bonus tracks) and 2) Elvis In Person (1970)(18 tracks with 6 bonus tracks).

After an eight-year absence from live performances, Elvis Presley made his triumphant return to the concert stage in 1969 at The International Hotel in Las Vegas. On the heels of “Suspicious Minds,” ”In The Ghetto,” the ’68 Comeback Special and the acclaimed album From Elvis In Memphis, the year that man landed on the moon was also the year that Elvis reclaimed his standing as the ultimate live performer.

On Stage and Elvis In Person are the classic live albums that capture the shows which forever cemented the long and famous association between the iconic entertainer and the sparkling desert city. This Legacy Edition contains both albums in their entirety, plus nine bonus tracks and a rehearsal take of “The Wonder Of You,” the hit version of which is also featured. These transcendent performances chronicle Elvis’ creative rebirth as a stage performer and showcase The King’s deep connection with his loyal audience.

The accompanied booklet was very well done, with details about how both concerts came about. Elvis said in 1972: “I missed the closeness of a live audience. So just as soon as I got out of the movie contracts I started to do live performances again.” In the booklet, I also learned that Colonel Parker protected his client from any last-minute technical snafus likely to take place in the brand new showroom at the International Hotel, he insisted that someone other than Elvis be the first act to appear. Guess what, Barbra Streisand, fresh from winning an Academy Award for Funny Girl, was selected to officially open the showroom on July 2.

It was also very interesting to learn how Elvis got his band together. His first choice of old band-mates, like Scotty Moore and drummer D.J. Fontana both turned down the offer. Then, Elvis chose James Burton and asked him to find the various members of the new band. James Burton is of course the legendary guitar player, who appeared on numerous hit singles, like that of Ricky Nelson. The final line-up was christened TCB band. Elvis also brought in two backing vocal groups, The Imperials and The Sweet Inspirations, to augment his creative vision. The rest of course is pure history.

In this set, you will be able to hear his rare renditions of Release Me, Sweet Caroline, Runaway, Yesterday, Proud Mary and Let It Be Me…simply priceless. His hit single The Wonder Of You was taken from this live recording.

The audio was very well remastered with no hiss. Elvis’ voice was front in the center. If you should buy these two albums on CDs separately, firstly, the sound would be much more inferior, 2) there is no booklet and bonus tracks.

This RCA Legacy Edition series is very well done. Other legacy editions include Elvis (legacy edition), Elvis Is Back, From Elvis In Memphis (reviewed elsewhere) and Elvis Country, all very well done.

Elvis is our king, with 165 charted singles and 130 charted albums. This Legacy Edition set gave me beautifully remastered music (with bonus tracks) and a great booklet. The above set captured Elvis Live at his best, and is highly recommended.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2010
A must for every Elvis fan - this is how we should all remember him!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2011
please buy this ~ A mature Elvis in terrific form ~ always a fantastic vocalist~ no one else comes close!!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)