Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE KING'S VEGAS PERIOD AT ITS BEST., 26 Mar 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On Stage (Legacy Edition) (Audio CD)
A nice companion to go alongside Legacy's expanded edition of FROM ELVIS IN MEMPHIS released last year, this new edition of the King's 1970 in-concert album ON STAGE actually includes both of Elvis Presley's first two live albums, the other one in the package being his debut in-concert set, ELVIS IN PERSON, released initially as part of the double-album FROM VEGAS TO MEMPHIS/FROM MEMPHIS TO VEGAS in late 1969 before being re-released as an album in its own right in late 1970. Both albums feature material taken from the King's Las Vegas engagements of August 1969 and February 1970, with ELVIS IN PERSON on disc two being slanted in favour of Elvis' early rock and roll material and ON STAGE concentrating on a revised set list during which Elvis was keen to interpret more contemporary songs like Creedence Clearwater Revival's 'Proud Mary' and Neil Diamond's 'Sweet Caroline'.

In a catalogue which was to become strewn with live albums during the 1970s, both ON STAGE and ELVIS IN PERSON capture the King at something of a performance peak, when his command of the International Hotel showroom was fresh and innovative and before it began to teeter on the brink of self-parody. The sense of Elvis enjoying his musical renaissance is palpable throughout ELVIS IN PERSON, where old favourites like 'Blue Suede Shoes' and 'Mystery Train' stand proud alongside dynamic new recordings like an epic and impassioned rendering of 'Suspicious Minds'. Similarly, with the later ON STAGE album, Elvis' enthusiasm for more contemporary tunes shines through with his stupendous rendition of Tony Joe White's 'Polk Salad Annie' and a heartfelt cover of Joe South's 'Walk A Mile In my Shoes'.

A nice selection of bonus tracks have been tacked onto both albums, with those on ELVIS IN PERSON perhaps being of most interest, during which we get to hear Elvis getting his teeth into bluesy numbers like 'Baby, What You Want Me To Do', 'Reconsider Baby' and the song that launched his global breakthrough, 'Heartbreak Hotel'. With regard to the ON STAGE album, a bonus performance of the lovely 'Kentucky Rain' is very pleasing to hear also.

Together with FROM ELVIS IN MEMPHIS, ON STAGE is a benchmark in Elvis Presley's career, showing that at the end of the 1960s he was once again just as important to contemporary popular music as the rock groups and solo performers who had risen in his wake throughout the decade.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incomparable album- from a unique artist, 2 April 2010
By 
M. A. Shah "Maria Shah" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On Stage (Legacy Edition) (Audio CD)
This is an outstanding live album from `the King' . I have been collecting alot of Elvis songs for some time and over the last few months his `live' performances. If you buy one live album of Elvis, this one is the best, and shows Elvis at his physical and vocal peak. As well as his popular songs, there are some extraordinary tracks such as his R n' B (disc 1) ` My Babe' (my current favourite), (disc 2) I Got a Woman, Baby, what you want me to do' and Kentucky Rain (disc 1) which is heartbreaking.
As the previous reviewer said, this album is an excellent companion to the Legacy's edition of `From Elvis in Memphis'. It gives you a little idea of how extraordinary Elvis's diverse vocal range was and due to his diverse musical influences in his life. He is the most innovative artist (in my humble opinion) and can improvise any song and make it his own, for example, Runaway and Proud Mary, Long Tall sally (disc 1).
There is a booklet which comes with the double album. which gives a bit of a potted history about his Live performances in Las Vegas and there are some fantastic pictures. When he returned to live performing, he wasn't just the `King of Rock and Roll' , he was also the' King of `Cool'. This is Elvis in his finest, at his raunchiest, at his most rockiest, at his most soulful, most inspirational and sincerest to his audience. When he sang, he did it with his heart and soul and he meant it. His backing musicians and backing singers all `a wonder' to hear. If only, I could be transported back in time, I would loved to have been at an Elvis concert in Las Vegas !
I listen and see alot of current Rock bands live, their lead musicians are not even in the same league as Elvis and somehow, I always have to come back to listen Elvis again, to be reinspire my faith in music. If you are music collector, this is `must have' in you collection. If you don't listen to Elvis much, this album will blow you away and you'd wish had listened to it before. Definitely worth buying !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is Elvis at his most powerful, 13 Dec 2010
By 
This review is from: On Stage (Legacy Edition) (Audio CD)
I enjoyed reading the other five star reviews and the content sparked my interest in this album/C.D, once again.I brought the L.P. back in 1978 as I was fascinated by his live 1970s albums and still am - simply as there is no one to touch him as an entertainer and musical force to date.
I simply love the songs that Elvis belts out with his excellent band and back up singers. The album was recorded in 1969 and Elvis is diverse in its choice of songs: covers, originals and contemporary but always sounding vital and moving. For example the great See See Rider is probably the best live version from his live albums. Then he tackles Proud Mary - The Credence Clear Water number with real power. Its great listening to him come alive in concert and take us with him. There is a nice version of yesterday and the Del Shannon number Runaway.
I think lovers of good music will like this C.D. as it is simply great music on all levels and styles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Truly Great Live Album, 5 Jun 2010
This review is from: On Stage (Legacy Edition) (Audio CD)
Elvis' "On Stage, February 1970" is in my opinion one of the best live albums of all time. It captures Elvis at his finest and is unique in that it does not include any tracks previously recorded by The King. In that sense it is probably the "purest" live album ever made - it really feels like Elvis is performing these tracks for the first time "live and on the hoof". The sound is fantastic - really in your face (or ears!) - you absolutely feel as though you are there at the show, up close with the man himself.

The song choice is excellent. We get to enjoy Elvis' raw power on "Proud Mary", a punched-up take on "Release Me" and his finest ever rendition of "CC Rider" (which sounds totally different to later versions such as the one on the "Aloha" album). Balance is provided by the delicate beauty of "Let It Be Me" and "Yesterday". The King also attacks contemporary pop classics such as "Runaway" and "Sweet Caroline", blowing the originals out of the water.

My two favourite tracks are "Walk a Mile in My Shoes" (on which Elvis confirms his liberal credentials) and "Polk Salad Annie" (which is punctuated by the sounds of women audibly swooning at El's feet).

This album is an essential purchase for anyone who claims to like music (even "The Wonder of You" is cooly powerful when heard here in its proper context). The release of the Legacy Edition is a good opportunity to add it to your collection. It includes Elvis' first live album "In Person", which was originally released in '69 as half of the double album "From Memphis to Vegas/ Back in Memphis". It is just as good as the "Feb '1970" album, though perhaps less interesting given that it contains familiar songs readily associated with The King. The packaging is excellent and includes some great photos of Elvis in his prime. Also, it's great that the original albums are presented unaltered with the bonus tracks kept separate at the end - for once the record company hasn't messed it up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Elvis Presley On Stage: Legacy Edition, 1 May 2010
By 
Mrs. M. H. Darling (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: On Stage (Legacy Edition) (Audio CD)
A must for every Elvis fan - this is how we should all remember him!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quite Brilliant, 16 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On Stage (Legacy Edition) (Audio CD)
Really great compilation very well presented. I had been looking for a long while for some of the tracks on this album, it exceeded my expectations and I will be collecting others in the legacy series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars magic, 5 April 2011
This review is from: On Stage (Legacy Edition) (Audio CD)
please buy this ~ A mature Elvis in terrific form ~ always a fantastic vocalist~ no one else comes close!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Once in a Lifetime a Legend!, 21 April 2010
By 
This review is from: On Stage (Legacy Edition) (Audio CD)
This is an excellent sounding CD-Set thanks to Vic Anesini and his gifted work! Elvis at the Peak of his Game! This Legacay Edition contains Elvis`s finest Live recordings from 69 - 70. Raw, powerful and very entertaining! You don`t have to be an Elvis Fan to enjoy the sweatest Music this side of Heaven. Go and get it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars worth the money, 10 Feb 2012
This review is from: On Stage (Legacy Edition) (Audio CD)
this cd is worth buying as it is elvis at the very top of his game but, every fan already has the two albums on their shelf and I am not sure the bonus tracks or packaging/sleeve makes it a must have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Blast from The Past, 12 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On Stage (Legacy Edition) (Audio CD)
This is a great double CD showcasing both what went on at the rehearsal and then the live show. Very enlightening and enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

On Stage (Legacy Edition)
On Stage (Legacy Edition) by Elvis Presley (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews