Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Call Me Madam DVD
This is a film of the highly successful Broadway hit, with songs (tunes and lyrics) by Irving Berlin and starring Ethel Merman on stage and screen. The show opened in October 1950 and ran for over 600 performances, so it was an obvious musical show for Hollywood to turn into a movie, made by 20th Century-Fox and released in 1953.

There was an admirable...
Published on 22 Feb 2011 by Dr. H. A. Jones

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars great musical
the musical itself is great and the quality good,the reason I just gave it a 3 rating is because of the sub-titles that are on the film.
It spoilt my viewing somewhat I wasn't aware when I bought it that it was sub-titled.
Published 3 months ago by catherine allan


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Call Me Madam DVD, 22 Feb 2011
By 
Dr. H. A. Jones "Howard Jones" (Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Call Me Madam [DVD] [1953] (DVD)
This is a film of the highly successful Broadway hit, with songs (tunes and lyrics) by Irving Berlin and starring Ethel Merman on stage and screen. The show opened in October 1950 and ran for over 600 performances, so it was an obvious musical show for Hollywood to turn into a movie, made by 20th Century-Fox and released in 1953.

There was an admirable supporting cast in the film as well as the Berlin score. Merman played an American Ambassadress to the country of Lichtenberg and was partnered romantically by George Sanders as a prominent local general. Sanders proved to have quite a pleasing voice as he sang `Marrying for love' and partnering Merman in `The best thing for you'. Donald O'Connor was a press attaché to the ambassadress and was given the chance to sing `You're just in love', again partnered by Merman, and soloing on `What chance have I with love?' His dancing is more of the gymnastic Gene Kelly sort than that of the sophisticated Astaire but thoroughly enjoyable to watch. His romantic partner was the `princess' played by Vera Ellen, whose voice was dubbed by Carole Richards in `It's a lovely day today' that she sang with Donald O'Connor, and the duo danced their way through Robert Alton's wonderful choreography. Billy De Wolfe turned in his usual witty performance on the diplomatic staff at the American embassy.

But the star of the show was of course Ethel Merman, who gave her usual powerful solo renditions of `The hostess with the mostest', `International rag' and `Can you use any money today?' as well as overwhelming her partners in the duets. I'm sure they heard her clearly in Lichtenberg! Oh yes, the plot, such as it was. The tiny country of Lichtenberg was trying to get financial aid from America, but I won't spoil the ending by telling you the result. An enjoyable feast of music and dancing for nearly two hours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ETHEL MERMAN BROADWAYS GREATEST BELTER IN TECHNICOLOR, 28 Sep 2006
By 
The Merm Broadways official Greatest Star! here in her prime in 20th Century-Fox's "Call Me Madam" irving berlins broadway blockbuster

she outshines every other person in this movie (they even let her use Betty Grables dressing bungelow) ok shes loud, she has gigantic screen presence, but she belts out these classic songs with gusto,as sally adams the hostest with the mostest, based on the life of real life socialite perl mester queen of washington society.watch this movie filmed in gowing technicolor, watch this musical and live the dream.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Happy with service and product, 9 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Call Me Madam [DVD] [1953] (DVD)
Happy with service and product. I saw that some customers have marked the dvd low because they could not turn off the subtitles. Do not let this put you off. On the main title page (as in the first one that comes up!) there is a language option and you simply have to click on it and "turn off subtitles", when the DVD is good quality.

I do not see why the dvd should have been rated so low at all just, because some cannot work this out.

Have had very pleasant emails from supplier so I am sure he will answer any questions.

My best advise, learn how to turn off subtitles on your machine
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoy the nostalgia, 27 Jun 2014
This review is from: Call Me Madam [DVD] [1953] (DVD)
This is a personal favourite of mine and it is great to own it again as I did not think it could still be purchased. There are some songs in it that my parents and older friends used to sing and I never knew where they came from until I saw it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Call Me Madame, 15 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Call Me Madam [DVD] [1953] (DVD)
I am a devotee of the musicals of yesteryear and Call Me Madame is a brilliant example of this type of film. Ethel Merman is brilliant with a supporting cast you couldn't afford now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Hostess with the Mostest, 16 Mar 2013
This review is from: Call Me Madam [DVD] [1953] (DVD)
Absolutely brilliant ! If you like the music of Irving Berlin, you must watch this. Ethel Merman perhaps should have taken some acting lessons from her husband, Ernest Borgnine, but she can certainly belt out a number. Merman, as the US ambassador to the mythical country of Lichtenburg, is ably backed by Donald O'Connor, the pushy press-attache. George Sanders, as Constantine, the Lichtenburg general, is his usual suave self, but clearly half-blind if he can fall for such an unattractive figure as Merman. For me the highlight of the movie is the dance sequence in the shop between O'Connor and Vera Ellen. The plot is somewhat banal, but the singing and dancing is what you pay to watch. It is a great pity that Berlin would not allow a biopic to be made on his own life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Great Musical, 12 Jan 2013
By 
Ms. Elise Hey - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Call Me Madam [DVD] [1953] (DVD)
This was another gift for my Dad, who is working on replacing his library of videos (over 300!) with DVD's. He was delighted!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars great musical, 25 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Call Me Madam [DVD] [1953] (DVD)
the musical itself is great and the quality good,the reason I just gave it a 3 rating is because of the sub-titles that are on the film.
It spoilt my viewing somewhat I wasn't aware when I bought it that it was sub-titled.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Favourite Dancer, 11 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Could just watch Daniel O'Donnell again and again and again. What a talented man he was and very much under rated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dont make them anymore, 3 Dec 2011
By 
Mrs. P. J. Usherwood "film buff" (kent,england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Call Me Madam [DVD] [1953] (DVD)
I am a Musical Film Fan, Saw this many year ago on stage on London, and now have the Video to watch whenever I please!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Call Me Madam [DVD] [1953]
Call Me Madam [DVD] [1953] by Walter Lang (DVD)
£11.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews