Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 2D Fighting is back with kicking and a show of leg
I've been waiting for BlazBlue for so long now I can't remember! However the wait was well worthwhile. It's probably one of the most fun fighting games I've ever bought. If you know what I mean by "fun". Firstly the controls are very easy to manage and there's not too many choices you have to make before you can get on with things. And once you do you won't look back...
Published on 7 April 2010 by Kleckerei

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars fun too begin with, very 'repetative' after an hour!
I bought this after reading the prity good reviews that were posted. I've got to say I'm alittle confused by why people love this game, dn't get me wrong "each to there own" but to say this is in or above the likes of 'street fighter' or 'tekken' is like comparing a McD's double cheese burger to a fillet steak! The burger 'this game' is a cheap tasty bit of fun which is...
Published on 18 Mar. 2011 by andymcchef84


Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 2D Fighting is back with kicking and a show of leg, 7 April 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: BlazBlue: Calamity Trigger (PS3) (Video Game)
I've been waiting for BlazBlue for so long now I can't remember! However the wait was well worthwhile. It's probably one of the most fun fighting games I've ever bought. If you know what I mean by "fun". Firstly the controls are very easy to manage and there's not too many choices you have to make before you can get on with things. And once you do you won't look back. Like any fighting game you've got to get beyond the button mashing if you want to experience the full range of moves available. I started slowly with the training mode and got an idea of how to link moves together. Ultimately you have some extraordinary effects through the Drives. But I've yet to get an Astral Heat off the ground.

BlazBlue feels quite different from the Tekken and SF games I've played before. I don't know if it's because they're becoming samey-samey (though still good) or if BlazBlue is fresh because it is a new game. I'm no expert of the genre.

It got all the standard modes you'd expect - Arcade, Versus, Training, Online, etc. But it's also go a little gem hidden inside. There's an innocent looking choice called "Story". That's all it says "Story"! But when you select it you're off into a new experience completely. It's deep, intricate and plays exactly like an RPG Adventure game. You learn everything about the stories that brought each of the "really weird" characters to the 13th Hierarchical City (can't remember the full name, but it's quite Japanese). I won't spoil anything, but you also find out what BlazBlue is all about. The commentary is mixed between sugary sweet and dark anger. Very well put together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Slick and Sexy Street Fighter Replacement..., 21 May 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: BlazBlue: Calamity Trigger (PS3) (Video Game)
Now don't get me wrong, I have nothing against the Street Fighter series but it did somewhat pass me by, and by the time its most recent iteration came along I felt a bit 'out of the loop.'

Then I found this...

...a game which proved to be stunning on every conceivable level, from the fluidity of the animation to the stunning anime artworks which litter the narrative of the title.

Now for those who are looking for a long and consistently engaging story you may be slightly disappointment, especially as most of the humorously camp Japanese translation is supported often only by still images and occasionally slightly animated figures. At rare points there are full anime sections, but to give a hint of their rarity, even the opening sequence was a selection of still frames and text. Personally, these didn't phase me and allowed me to appreciate the artwork on its own, although if you're not a fan of anime or Japanese campy fare you may feel slightly underwhelmed.

But this if of course not what the game is about and is in fact the only negative I can pick out. The meat of the game lies in the explosive fighting being displayed on one of the most stunning 2D planes gaming has seen. The 2D visuals are incredible striking and crisp and hold up very well in this age of HD. Being the spiritual successor to the Guilty Gear series a long term fan will see immediate similarities between the protagonists and will be right at home with the combat system.

The fighting is swift, well animated and easy to execute. I've only played the original Guilty Gear on ps1 and the special moves involved ridiculous button combinations. In Blazblue they are all mapped to the right analogue stick making it all too easy to be pulling of spectacular moves. As any fan of the game would tell you however there are hidden depths to the combat system which seem to rise above most of its rivals.

Well I don't want to go on, so if you're a fan of anime, fighting games or indeed games in general, give Calamity Trigger a look, especially on ps3 at this price.

Plus no install - good times.

Enjoy and feel free to comment =D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars easy to get into, very deep to master!, 5 April 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: BlazBlue: Calamity Trigger (PS3) (Video Game)
You can just jump in and enjoy brilliant graphics and well balanced fighting without reading any manuals or watching tutorial video.
It feels like playing in the anime and 'easy special' (right analog stick) enables very colorful combo attacks very easily.

Once you go to network mode and playing with other people online, it is a different league. You get good motivation to be better by watching DVD and learning all the tricks, which was not difficult at all and reveal the depth of the game.

I do recommend this game to both regular fighting game fans as well as RPG fans. Good to look at, great to play!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The anime fighter that became a surprise hit, 12 May 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: BlazBlue: Calamity Trigger (PS3) (Video Game)
I have been interested to play Blazblue for a year now, since hearing positive responses from America, and can safely say it was worth the interest. Blazblue is an anime styled fighting game, that is able to grip beginners and experts to the fighting genre with its simple way of executing special moves (toggling the right analogue stick), to each character having their own strategic, fighting style, most notably the characters Carl Clover and Rachel Alucard.

The characters are all unique in design and personality, with some characters, however, tending to be stereotypically anime, like Taokaka's innocent stupidity or Noel Vermillion's broken self-esteem (probably to appeal to the 'otaku' fanbase,), which some may find childish or irritating, but nonetheless are all likable in their personality quirks and traits. While the game only features a small 12 playable characters, compared to the the mass rosters of Tekken and Soul Calibur, it is, however, able to give more time to develop the characters throughout the game's Arcade and Story mode, which is less apparent in other fighting games.

As with other fighting games Blazblue also has your Arcade, Versus, Training, Online, Gallery mode, but where it shines from others is its Story. You are able to play as all the characters, with some being unlockable, in their own unique stories that intertwine with the other characters' providing a fun, engaging, story telling method, as well as, branching story decisions, giving alternate endings and more replay value.

The soundtrack adds its own depth of beauty to the game's style, with its Japanese, Gothic, Techno, Heavy Metal, Opera feel, that entices the gameplay in its own distinctive way.

Overall, Blazblue is a unique and well played fighting game, with a highly thought out story, and striking soundtrack that should be experienced by PS3 and 360 owners.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Butt Kicking Manga Style, 10 April 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: BlazBlue: Calamity Trigger (PS3) (Video Game)
I logged on with every intention of leaving a helpfull review!
But I must say the previous reviewers are bang on the button. Firstly i must come clean and confess to being totally hopeless at Figting games.
But they are popular in my house and I loved the idea of the manga style graphics, If you love manga you will love the way this game looks! Excellent graphics with a real anime feel to them! My biggest problem with fighting games is i can never suss the special combos and attacks button presses...hurrah they have sussed this by making them available on the right analogue stick (simply genius).
Basicly what im saying is that if you love fighting games with that 2d feel but mixed up with top notch anime. You will love this game!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good game, 2 Dec. 2010
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: BlazBlue: Calamity Trigger (PS3) (Video Game)
I bought this as I haven't got any arcade fighting game for my PS3. It was good fun, especially for friends to play together. However, the story was a little bit lacking, could have been better. Overall, for 10 squid it is worth buying. 4/5 star.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BlazBlue at his Best, 15 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BlazBlue: Calamity Trigger (PS3) (Video Game)
Do you like Tekken? Do you like Mortal Kombat? Then you'll like this too!

Awesome action, awesome 2D animation, great fun with friends playing the local versus and Cheap!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Playing An Anime, 8 Aug. 2010
By 
James Barrett (Bristol, London, England) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: BlazBlue: Calamity Trigger (PS3) (Video Game)
This game is very good as the graphics in hd make you feel as if you are actually playing an anime itself. After playing some of the arcade you gradually unlock pieces of art work that truly amazing, with artists comments below. 10/10 definately for anime fans
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PERFECTT, 20 Sept. 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: BlazBlue: Calamity Trigger (PS3) (Video Game)
This game is so perfect, ive seen friends of mine playing it and ive allways want it, thanks to amazon i got it cheaper that in stores and it was fast to arive at my home, I was so happy =D.
Its a great service and i recommend it to every user =D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars fun too begin with, very 'repetative' after an hour!, 18 Mar. 2011
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: BlazBlue: Calamity Trigger (PS3) (Video Game)
I bought this after reading the prity good reviews that were posted. I've got to say I'm alittle confused by why people love this game, dn't get me wrong "each to there own" but to say this is in or above the likes of 'street fighter' or 'tekken' is like comparing a McD's double cheese burger to a fillet steak! The burger 'this game' is a cheap tasty bit of fun which is ok if ur looking for abit of a adrenalin rush, simple to pull off special moves to cause average damage and some slightly harder to pull off finishers, (ill admit very preaty to look at but still nothing compared to if you remember 'killer instict' on the SNES with its 50+ hit combos!)compared to the fillets which take alittle more time to get your teeth into. final verdict by my opinion is; u should rent this game or buy second hand as after a nights play u'll have fun but probably won't pick it up again the next day even with the story mode, which i have to got to say is soo unempethising it bores me to even think about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

BlazBlue: Calamity Trigger (PS3)
BlazBlue: Calamity Trigger (PS3) by PQube (PlayStation 3)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews