Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Feel good Movie for the Family
I quite enjoyed this follow up to the first St Trinians remake from a couple of years back. Although I know the original versions quite well, having being a fan since the 1950s, I would rather not compare them since I prefer to view these modern versions and accept them on merit.

I particularly liked this Blu-Ray version because picture quality and sound are...
Published on 1 Nov 2010 by E. A. Redfearn

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Makes for a good TV movie
I would not have paid to see this in the cinema, but I did enjoy watching it. The expectation based on 'St Trillian's style' is met and is a 'fun' watch.
Published 11 months ago by C. Porter


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Feel good Movie for the Family, 1 Nov 2010
By 
E. A. Redfearn "eredfearn2" (Middlesbrough) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: St Trinians 2: the Legend of Fritton's Gold [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I quite enjoyed this follow up to the first St Trinians remake from a couple of years back. Although I know the original versions quite well, having being a fan since the 1950s, I would rather not compare them since I prefer to view these modern versions and accept them on merit.

I particularly liked this Blu-Ray version because picture quality and sound are both outstanding. And to make it even better, there are numerous extras which will keep fans happy for a few hours or so with interviews galore with the directors, and the major stars of the film such as Tallulah Riley, Sarah Harding, Jodie Whittaker, David Tennant, Colin Firth, and of course, Rupert Everett who is nothing like the character he plays.

The storyline, basic as it is, involves the horrors of St Trinians on a treasure hunt, with David Tennant trying to get there first. There are many laughs on the way with some decent set pieces, one being filmed in what looked like Waterloo Station.

Overall, it is a feel good movie which the family can enjoy together. Do not expect a classic though, just a heart warming, enjoyable movie which looks great on Blu-Ray.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great!, 14 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: St Trinians 2: the Legend of Fritton's Gold [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Brilliant film! Just as good as the first one!Love David Tennant! Great to own it on Blu-ray! Hoping for a third film one day!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars St Trinians 2, 22 Dec 2013
By 
Mrs. V. Seymour "Movie Mad" (Alicante, Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: St Trinians 2: the Legend of Fritton's Gold [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
What can I say just so absolutely outrageous and so funny. I want to be a St Trinian girl - especially with all the groovy gear they wear. Definitely recommend as a fun action packed movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Makes for a good TV movie, 9 Oct 2013
By 
C. Porter (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: St Trinians 2: the Legend of Fritton's Gold [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I would not have paid to see this in the cinema, but I did enjoy watching it. The expectation based on 'St Trillian's style' is met and is a 'fun' watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very funny, 11 Aug 2012
By 
Grumpy. (Dunning, Perth United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: St Trinians 2: the Legend of Fritton's Gold [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
this dvd is brill, so funny,one you can watch over and over, really good,colin firth is good in this,very good value for the money,and blue ray is brill.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "..PERFECT COMEDY SEQUEL..", 28 April 2012
By 
S. Drury "SDX-800" (U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: St Trinians 2: the Legend of Fritton's Gold [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
If you loved the first one then you will love this one too! All your favourite characters are back and getting into as much trouble as possible, the story is certainly very different from the original so its not all the same thing again, it has allot of great humour like the original so you find yourself laughing most of the time! There are of course some great new stars in this too like David Tennant who is very eccentric as usual and very good! The soundtrack again is good and suits the film, certainly worth checking out them naughty girls again!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not big, not clever, but a lot of fun, 13 May 2011
By 
Mr. Stuart Bruce "DonQuibeats" (Cardiff, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: St Trinians 2: the Legend of Fritton's Gold [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
St Trinian's 2 works as a modern update of an Ealing comedy. Yes it won't win any Oscars and it won't challenge you too much but it is a hell of a lot of fun.

Rupert Everett is even better in this film than in the first. David Tennant clearly enjoys hamming it up as the quintessential bad guy (it's all about the eyebrows) and Colin Firth seems to also relish playing an alcoholic. There are some really good performances from some pretty much unknown young actresses as the girls, some of whom might be future comic talent to watch. The only weak performance is from Sarah Harding, who it would seem won't be having a long acting career post-Girls Aloud.

The Blu-ray is absolutely packed with a large amount of 'interviews' (many of which have the girls staying in character, rather than with the actresses behind them), two music videos, bloopers, a couple of deleted and extended scenes, and trailers.

It's fast-paced and brash, it's loud and for the most part it's not clever, but if you know that's what you're expecting, you'll enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Girls Are back, 16 Nov 2010
By 
A. G. Lockhart (Northants, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: St Trinians 2: the Legend of Fritton's Gold [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I have all the St Trinians films on disc, including the early ones with Alistair Sim as Miss Fritton and this is one is funny as ever. It helps that it is Blu-ray because modern technology makes possible visual effects and audio that were beyond film makers fifty years ago when the originals were made in black and white. The momentum sags occasionally and there are moments when suspension of disbelief becomes strained, but that is so in all the St Trinians movies. David Tennant makes a brilliant villain and those twins are a delight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars St Trinians 2, 17 Aug 2010
This review is from: St Trinians 2: the Legend of Fritton's Gold [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Not my 'cup of tea' however my 9 year old grandson and his grandad love it!!! Very funny moments, but still prefer the 1st one myself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars St Trinians 2, 17 July 2010
By 
Kes (Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: St Trinians 2: the Legend of Fritton's Gold [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Good fun, a little over the top at one point - otherwise good fun. Do not think it was as good as the first one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

St Trinians 2: the Legend of Fritton's Gold [Blu-ray]
St Trinians 2: the Legend of Fritton's Gold [Blu-ray] by Barnaby Thompson (Blu-ray - 2010)
£6.12
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews